The various hazardous waste fees are collected by the department from businesses that manage hazardous waste. These funds are used to fund the department's hazardous waste management operations. These activities include conducting hazardous waste permitting activities, site investigation and cleanup activities, preventing leaks from underground storage tanks, emergency responses to hazardous substance spills, paying other state agencies for services and performing other duties detailed in the Missouri Revised Statutes, sections 260.350 to 260.575260.500 to 260.550, and 319.100  to 319.139, RSMo.

Current Hazardous Waste Fees
Fee Name Paid By Fee Amount For More Information
Lead-Acid Battery Fee Person selling lead-acid batteries at retail or offering lead-acid batteries for retail sale $0.50 for each lead-acid battery sold

260.262.1(4)

DOR - Lead-Acid Battery Fee

Hazardous Waste Generator Registration Fee

(Initial and Annual Renewal)

Hazardous waste generators

  • Large Quantity Generator - $500
  • Small Quantity Generator - $150
  • Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator - $150

10 CSR 25-12.010(1)(E)1.A-C

Hazardous Waste Generator Registration

Underground Storage Tank Registration Fee

Underground storage tank owner

$75 per tank per five-year period

10 CSR 26-2.022(8)

Underground Storage Tank Registration

In-state Waste Fee

Hazardous waste generators

  • $200 for the first ton of hazardous waste registered with the department.
  • $6.10 per each additional ton, or portion thereof, not to exceed $57,000 per generator site per year.

10 CSR 25-12.010(1)(A)

Out-of-State Waste Fee

Hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility

$2 per ton, or portion thereof, for all hazardous waste received from outside the state.

10 CSR 25-12.010(1)(F)

Land Disposal Fee

Hazardous waste generators

  • $29.50 per ton, or portion thereof, for all hazardous waste discharged, deposited, dumped or placed into or on the soil as a final action.
  • No fee assessed when less than 10 tons are disposed

10 CSR 25-12.010(1)(B)

Off-site Transportation Fee

Hazardous waste generators

$2 per ton on all hazardous waste transported off site

260.475.1

Hazardous Waste Landfill Tax

Hazardous waste generators

2% of fees and charges charged to generator for disposal at a hazardous waste landfill

260.390.2

Transporter Fee

Hazardous waste transporters

  • $200 annual application fee plus an annual use fee based on tonnage, mileage or a combination of (formula in regulations).
  • Total fees not to exceed $25,000 per transporter per year.

10 CSR 25-12.010(2)(C)

High-Level Radioactive Waste Fee - Truck

Generator, owner, or company contracting for transportation

  • $1,800 per truck transporting through or within Missouri
  • Additional surcharge of $25 per mile for every mile over 200 miles traveled within Missouri

260.392.2(1)

Shipping Radioactive Materials

High-Level Radioactive Waste Fee - Rail

Generator, owner, or company contracting for transportation

  • $1,300 for the first cask
  • $125 for each additional cask for each rail shipment through or within Missouri

260.392.2(2)

Shipping Radioactive Materials

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Fee

Generator, owner, or company contracting for transportation

$125 for each truck or train transporting through or within Missouri

260.392.2(3)

Shipping Radioactive Materials

Hazardous Waste Permit Application Fee Hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility Non-refundable, $1,000 application fee. This fee is applied towards the permit fees for the first year of the new permit.

10 CSR 25-12.010(3)(B)

Hazardous Waste-Related Permits

Hazardous Waste Permit Fee

Hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility

$1,000 per year the permit is to be in effect

10 CSR 25-12.010(3)(C)

Hazardous Waste-Related Permits

Make a Payment - HW Permit Fees

Engineering and Geological Review Costs

Hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility

Commission determines department’s “reasonable costs”

10 CSR 25-12.010(3)(D)

Make a Payment - HW Permit Engineering Review Reimbursement

Corrective Action Oversight Costs

Hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility

Commission determines department’s “reasonable costs”

10 CSR 25-12.010(4)

Make a Payment - Corrective Action Review

Commercial Facility inspection Fee

Commercial hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facility

Based on volume of hazardous waste (metric ton) received from off-site:

  • 0 to 2,499 kkg - $9,800
  • 2,500 to 9,999 kkg - $10,800
  • +10,000 kkg - $12,000

10 CSR 25-12.020(2)

Voluntary Remediation Application Fee

Property owner

$200

260.567.1

Brownfields/ Voluntary Cleanup

Voluntary Remediation Oversight Costs

Property owner

Lesser of actual costs or $100 per hour. 

260.569.1

Voluntary Remediation Monitoring Costs

Property owner

$15,000

10 CSR 25-15.010(7)(A)3.