Aerial photo of Bagnell Dam

Hydropower uses the natural energy of moving water, in rivers to spin turbines that generate electricity. Pumped storage, another type of hydropower technology, can store energy generated by other power sources for later use. Hydropower emits no air pollution and is renewable energy. 

Below is a list of hydroelectric power plants located in Missouri as reported by the U.S. Energy Information Administration through Form EIA-860 data.

Missouri Hydroelectric Power Plants
Plant Name Utility Name County Technology
Niangua Sho-Me Power Electric Coop Camden Conventional Hydroelectric
Osage Dam Union Electric Co - (MO) Miller Conventional Hydroelectric
Stockton Hydro USCE-Kansas City District Cedar  Conventional Hydroelectric
Table Rock USCE-Little Rock District Taney Conventional Hydroelectric
Clarence Cannon USCE-St Louis District  Ralls Conventional Hydroelectric
Ozark Beach Empire District Electric Co. Taney Conventional Hydroelectric
Taum Sauk  Union Electric Co - (MO)  Reynolds   Hydroelectric Pumped Storage
Clarence Cannon USCE-St Louis District Ralls Hydroelectric Pumped Storage
Harry Truman USCE-Kansas City District Benton Hydroelectric Pumped Storage

Additional Information