Well Installation Board fact sheet
Missouri Geological Survey Director: Joe Gillman, RG
PUB2447

Well Contractor Prenotification Requirements

According to Missouri Well Construction Rule 10 CSR 23-1.050(3)(C)11, a person who was previously or is currently permitted with the state and is approved to waive the apprenticeship requirement must prenotify any work performed that is regulated by the Missouri Well Construction Rules. The prenotification requirement will be effective for the first full year from the permit issue date. The permittee must notify the Missouri Geological Survey Well Installation Section of work to be performed at least 24 hours prior to start of regulated work, including:

  • Heat Pump Installation
  • Monitoring Well Installation
  • Water Well Installation
  • Plugging
  • Pump Installation
  • Reconstruction
  • Test Hole Installation

Heat Pump Contractor Prenotification Requirement

Contractors grouting vertical heat pumps using 5-foot plugs must prenotify the Well Installation Section 48 hours prior to beginning construction of the system.

Probationary Period

If a permittee has been placed on probation, a prenotification requirement may be included as a condition of the permittee’s permit to resolve a violation.

How to Prenotify

This process requires a prenotification form. 

Prenotification forms may be submitted online using the Well Installation interactive form.

Well installation Prenotification form - Interactive

Alternately, a PDF may be completed and submitted via email, fax or postal mail. When reporting please include, at a minimum, the following: Owner name, address, GPS location, type of work to be performed, and date work will begin. This form may be submitted by fax, email, or mail.

Prenotification Form MO 780-2167

Emergency Situations

If, due to an emergency, the contractor cannot submit prenotification prior to performing work, the contractor must report the work the next business day with an explanation of the emergency.


Nothing in this document may be used to implement any enforcement action or levy any penalty unless promulgated by rule under chapter 536 or authorized by statute.