Solid Waste Advisory Board fact sheet
Division of Environmental Quality Director: Kyra Moore


260.345 RSMo

Number of Members


Number of Members Appointed by the Governor


Number of Members Appointed by the Director


Is Senate Confirmation Required


Membership Composition

The advisory board is composed of the chairman of each executive board of the 20 solid waste management districts and five other members appointed by the director. Two members represent the solid waste management industry and have an economic interest in or conduct activities with any solid waste facility or operation.  One of the two solid waste management industry members must represent a locally owned solid waste management business.  One member must represent the waste composting or recycling industry and the remaining two members are public members who have demonstrated interest in solid waste management issues.


Solid Waste District Chairs: Period individual serves as solid waste management district chair.

  • Other Members: three years, limited to two consecutive terms

Political Affiliation

No restrictions


Do not receive a salary, but may be compensated by their solid waste management district or organization for actual out-of-pocket expenses incurred in conjunction with their service on the board

Geographic Consideration

Each state solid waste management district represented

Responsibilities of the Commission/ Members

The advisory board advises the department regarding:

  • The effectiveness of its technical assistance program
  • Solid waste management problems experienced by solid waste management districts
  • The effects of proposed rules and regulations upon solid waste management within the districts
  • Criteria to be used in awarding grants pursuant to section 260.335
  • Waste management issues related to the districts
  • The development of improved methods of solid waste minimization, recycling and resource recovery
  • Such other matters as the advisory board may determine

Staff Contact

Brenda Ardrey
1730 E. Elm St.
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Staff Assistant

Mary Ellen Hummel
1730 E. Elm St.
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Attorney General Office Contact

Tim Duggan
PO Box 899
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Frequency of Meetings and Location(s)

Monthly in Jefferson City

Time Expended by Advisory Board Members for Meetings and Preparation

Meeting (two hours) + preparation (two hours) + travel (up to four hours, assume two hours average) = six hours per month

Requirements for Inclusion of Items on Agenda

Submission to Solid Waste Management Program

Staff Assistant or Chair of the Solid Waste Advisory Board

Public Comment Opportunities at Meetings

Opportunity for public comment provided at each meeting as member of the audience is recognized by Chair of Solid Waste Advisory Board

Nothing in this document may be used to implement any enforcement action or levy any penalty unless promulgated by rule under chapter 536 or authorized by statute.

For more information