Release Date

On Aug, 21, 2017, a solar eclipse will be viewable throughout Missouri.  In response to public interest, Missouri State Parks is allowing visitors to make plans to observe this major astronomical event in a state park.  From Nov. 4-Nov. 25, guests will be able to make camping reservations for the weekend of the eclipse.

"It’s been nearly 150 years since a total solar eclipse took place in the Show-Me State and we recognize that many Missourians are already planning a memorable way to experience the big event," said Bill Bryan, director of Missouri State Parks. "Guests can make advance reservations now to guarantee that they will have the chance to top off a fun weekend of camping and exploring the outdoors by viewing this extraordinary and rare astronomical event in a state park."

Camping reservations are typically available six months before the first night of a stay.  This special reservation window will allow guests to begin planning their visits now.  

Of the 42 state parks and historic sites that will be within the path of the total eclipse, 19 parks offer camping.  These parks are Big Lake State Park, Lewis and Clark State Park, Weston Bend State Park, Watkins Mill State Park and State Historic Site, Wallace State Park, Knob Noster State Park, Van Meter State Park, Finger Lakes State Park, Arrow Rock State Historic Site, Graham Cave State Park, Robertsville State Park, Meramec State Park, Onondaga State Park, St. Joe State Park, Hawn State Park, St. Francois State Park, Washington State Park, Dr. Edmund A. Babler Memorial, and Trail of Tears State Park. Reservations for this event require a three-night stay from Aug. 18 through Aug. 21.       

To make reservations, visit or call 877-ICampMo (877-422-6766)

7 a.m. - 7 p.m. CT, seven days a week.

Missouri State Parks is supported by the one-tenth of one-percent Parks, Soils and Water Sales Tax, which accounts for approximately 75 percent of the budget to repair, improve and maintain state parks and historic sites. Missouri State Parks is a division of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources.

Contact Information