PUB 98 - Water Pollution Control Permits

Department of Natural Resources fact sheet
12/2017
Department of Natural Resources Director: Carol S. Comer
PUB98wpc

Water Pollution Control Permits

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Water Pollution Control Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-1300

Or contact your nearest regional office.

The National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System, or NPDES, is the program administered by EPA for issuing, modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, and imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements for industries discharging contaminants to publicly owned sewer systems. A permit is an authorization, license, or equivalent control document issued by EPA or an “approved State” to implement the NPDES requirements. The State of Missouri accepted delegation of authority from EPA to administer a program equivalent to the NPDES.

In Missouri, the Clean Water Commission is authorized to issue permits for wastewater discharges and the construction of treatment facilities and sewer systems by the Missouri Clean Water Law at Section 644.026.1(13). The commission published rules in 10 CSR 20-6 to specify the various requirements for obtaining the permits. Missouri has developed a Water Pollution Control Permits Manual to inform interested persons about the process used to develop Missouri state construction and operating permits for water pollution control facilities.

Agrichemical Facility
Regulated Activities: Construction of any site, with the exception of chemical production facilities, where bulk agrichemicals are stored in nonmobile containers or dedicated containers and are being mixed, applied, repackaged or transferred between containers for more than 30 consecutive days per year.

Fees: $750 construction permit fee

Required Documents: Completed application form(s) that are available online.

The forms may include:

Length of Permit: One year

Average Processing Time: 60 days

Public Participation: None

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644.026 and 644.036

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.010 (3), (8) and (9), 20-6.010(2), (4) and (5), 20-8.500

Car Wash
See General Permits. Water Pollution Control Permit Requirements for Car Washes (PUB247)

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation, or CAFO, Construction and Operating Permit (NPDES*)
(*National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System – facilities receiving the operating permit satisfies the permit requirements of the federal Clean Water Act)

Regulated Activities: No discharge waste management collection, holding, treatment and land application systems for concentrated animal feeding operations. Construction and Operating permits are required for all CAFOs. CAFOs include animal feeding operations larger than 1,000 animal units and some animal feeding operations between 300 and 999 animal units. More information is available on the department’s CAFO webpage.

Fees: $150 general permit – no public notice requirements; $750 - $2,200 for construction permit, depending on flow; $5,000 per year for site specific permit, Class IA facility.

Required Documents: Completed application form(s) are available online.

The forms may include:

Length of Permit: Five years, maximum

Average Processing Time: 60 to 180 days

Public Participation: Public notice and 30 day comment period, plus a public hearing, if one is requested. Applicants must provide Neighbor Notice prior to submitting construction permit application.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644 and 640.700 – 640.750

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.010, 20-6.300, 20-8.020, 20-8.500, 20-7.015 and 20-7.031.

General Permits
Regulated Activities: General permits are available for many wastewater operating permits, concentrated animal feeding operation permit and stormwater permit requirements. The general permits available at this time are listed below with the application form number following in parentheses. Fact sheets regarding the different types of general permits are available online.

General permits will address antidegradation procedures during the reissuance of the general permit templates. As permits are renewed, antidegradation procedures will be implemented into the permits. Incorporating the antidegradation requirements in this manner will incrementally address all general permits within five years from the effective date of the Antidegradation Rule and Implementation Procedure. The scheduled expiration dates of the general permits are available online.

Fees: General permits are issued for a five year period and have an annual permit fee that varies by permit type. Specific permit fees are available in the department’s publication Wastewater Treatment Facility Permit Fees. Annual fees associated with the MOGD and MOG823 general permits are based on design flows.

Required documents: Forms and general information regarding each type of permit listed below is available by calling the department’s regional offices. For contact information and a map of the regional offices across the state, visit the department’s regional offices webpage.

Application forms are available online including:

General Permits in Effect

No-Discharge General Permits

Heat Pump Permit
Regulated Activities: Underground injection of water for large (>600,000 BTU/hr.) (also called “50 ton”) multi-residential open-loop heat transfer systems, and all commercial open loop heat pumps. See the Permit Requirements for Underground Injection Control, or UIC, Wells (PUB221) fact sheet.

Fees: $75 per application

Required Documents: Questions at 10 CSR 20-6.070(2) (B) must be answered in letter form.

Length of Permit: Five years, maximum

Average Processing Time: 30 days. Must be received 60 days before construction is expected to begin.

Public Participation: Public notice and 30 day comment period required.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.070

Land Application Permit
Regulated Activities: Construction and operating permits are required for the land application of liquid or solid residue from domestic or industrial operations and associated waste storage, treatment facilities and distribution systems. This includes wastewater irrigation, biosolids land application, composting facilities and similar activities. See the Operating Permits Section for more information.

Fees: No additional fees are required if the land application is permitted under provisions of the generator’s existing State Operating Permit. If separate permits are required, contact the program for fee estimates.

Required Documents: Completed application form(s) are available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/index.html.

Those forms may include:

Length of Permit: Five years, maximum

Average Processing Time: 60 to 180 days

Public Participation: Public notice and 30 day comment period, plus a public hearing if one is requested.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.010, 20-6.011, 20-6.015, 20-6.200, 20-7.015, 20-7.031, 20-8.020 and 20-8.500

Land Disturbance Permit
See Stormwater Permits

Site-Specific Operating Permits
Regulated Activities: Surface or groundwater discharges from industrial process facilities, discharge or wastewater irrigation from sewage treatment plants, pipes, ditches or other water conveyance structures and stormwater runoff (see stormwater runoff section).

All new or expanded wastewater facilities are subject to Missouri’s Antidegradation Rule and Implementation Procedure. This procedure requires the proposed discharge to undergo a level of antidegradation review, which documents the use of a water body’s available assimilative capacity is justified. New or expanded discharge refers to all new facilities, expanding facilities, and any new pollutants of concern. Antidegradation reviews should be conducted prior to submittal of construction or operating permit applications. The review will determine effluent limits for the project. For more information, a webpage is available with various resources to help with the Antidegradation Implementation Plan and Procedures.

Fees: Non-industrial discharges vary from $150 to $5,000 per year based on design flow. Municipalities and publicly owned sewer districts shall pay $.48 to $.80 per residential sewer hookup and the amount is determined by the number of water hookups. Industrial and commercial rates are $3 to $29 based on the size of its incoming water line and the maximum fee for any single business is $700. Industrial discharges are based on design flow and waste type. For facilities discharging wastewater subject to categorical standards pursuant to the Federal Clean Water Act, $4,200 for design flows less than one million gallons per day and $5,000 for design flows greater than one million gallons per day. For facilities not subject to categorical standards, $1,800 for design flows less than one million gallons per day and $3,000 for design flows greater than one million gallons per day. For stormwater discharges from industrial activities outlined in 10 CSR 20-6.200, $1,800 for design flows less than one million gallons per day and $3,000 for design flows greater than one million gallons per day.

Required Documents: Completed application forms are available online. The forms may include:

Length of Permit: Not to exceed five years.

Average Processing Time: 180 days for Water Quality Antidegradation Review, 180 days for permit processing.

Public Participation: Public notice and a 30 day comment period; public hearing may be held upon request.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6 and 10 CSR 20-7

Residential Wastewater Approval
Regulated Activities: This approval applies to all new residential housing developments and existing subdivisions that propose on-site wastewater (septic) systems as the method of wastewater treatment and were required to comply with previous regulations that were effective June 30, 1974, June 26, 1975, or May 15, 1984, but have not received department approval. This approval is required for any developer who owns or controls land and develops, divides or resubdivides land or expands an existing subdivision or development by three or more lots where those lots are less than five acres in size. A number of exemptions exist for this requirement including:

Related Fact Sheets available on the web are:

Fees: No fees

Required Documents: A completed Request for Approval Under 10 CSR 20-6.030 Disposal of Wastewater in Residential Housing Developments, Form -- MO 780-1706, a completed geohydrological evaluation (see On-Site Waste Disposal in a Subdivision, Disposal of Wastewater in Residential Housing Developments 10 CSR 20-6.030 (PUB2226)), a soils report and a plat map.

Length of Permit: No specified length

Average Processing Time: 45 days to complete the geohydrological evaluation; 90 days to make the final determination for approval.

Public Participation: No comment period required

Applicable Statutes: Section 644.026, RSMo

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.030

Sewer Extension
Regulated Activities: The construction of sewer lines or sewage-treatment devices.

Fees: $75 for less than 1,000 feet of sewer line. $300 for 1,000 feet or more of sewer line.

Required Documents: Sewer extension engineering report, detailed plan and specifications, planning and zoning approval and a geohydrological evaluation from the Missouri Geological Survey. Completed application form is available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/index.html.

The forms may include:

Length of Permit: One year

Average Processing Time: 21 days for a sewer extension, 120 days for other construction permits.

Pubic Participation: None required for sewers; public notice and a 30 day comment period for sewage-treatment plants, plus a public hearing may be held if one is requested.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.010, 20-6.011, and 10 CSR 20-8

Sewage Treatment Plant Construction Permit
Regulated Activities: The construction of sewage-treatment devices.

Fees: $750 with design flow under 500,000 gallons per day; $2,200 with design flow of 500,000 gallons or more per day.

Required Documents: Engineering report, detailed plan and specifications, planning and zoning approval and a geological evaluation from the Missouri Geological Survey. Completed application form, available online.

The forms may include:

Length of Permit: One year

Average Processing Time: 60 days for Water Quality Antidegradation Review, 120 days for Permit Processing.

Pubic Participation: Public notice and a 30 day comment, plus a public hearing may be held if one is requested.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.010, 20-6.011, and 10 CSR 20-8

Stormwater Permit
The Missouri Department of Natural Resources now offers automated land disturbance permitting system. this tool, called ePermtting, provides easy and convenient online access to apply for, pay for and print a land disturbance permit 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Regulated Activities: Stormwater runoff from certain industries; land disturbance activities of one acre or more; separate storm sewers in municipalities with populations of 100,000 or more not on combined sewers. More information is available on the department’s stormwater webpage.

Site-specific stormwater permits will address the antidegradation procedures by completing an alternatives analysis of best management practices in the Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan, or SWPPP. EPA has developed an Industrial SWPPP guidance available online.

General stormwater permits will address antidegradation procedures during the reissuance of the general permit templates. As permits are renewed, antidegradation procedures will be implemented into the permits. Incorporating the antidegradation requirements in this manner will incrementally address all general permits within five years from the effective date of the Antidegradation Rule and Implementation Procedure. The scheduled expiration dates of the general permits is available online at dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/permits/wpcpermits-stormwater.htm.

Fees: $150 annually for a general permit. $1,350 annual for design flows under 1 million gallons per day and $2,350 annually for design flows over 1 million gallons per day for a site-specific stormwater permit. $300 for a general permit for the discharge of stormwater from a land disturbance site.

Required Documents: Completed application form available online.

Required Documents: Application forms are available online.

The forms may include:

Length of Permit: Five years, maximum

Average Processing Time: 21 days for a general permit; 60 to 180 days for a site-specific permit.

Public Participation: Site specific permit: minimum of 30 day public notice

General permit: 30 days public notice required for new airports, chemical manufacturing facilities, fabricated structural metal facilities, foundries, quarries, lubricant manufacturing facilities, petroleum storage facilities greater than 50,000 gallons and wood treaters. No public notice is required for renewal of coverage to an individual facility.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.200

Stormwater General Permits
Fact sheets for a number of the general permits are available online.

Swimming Pool Discharge
See General Permits

Underground Injection Control Permit
Regulated Activities: Underground injection of water and other substance for the purpose of aquifer cleanup activities.

Fees: $1,500 per year

Required Documents: A completed application form, which may include: UIC Application for Class V Permit, Form -- MO 780-1826

Underground Injection Control, or UIC, I, Underground Injection Control II and other information of a site-specific nature such as maps. Forms are available from the Department of Natural Resources Division of Environmental Quality Water Protection Program at 573-751-1300. The publication Permit Requirements for Underground Injection Control (UIC) Wells (PUB221) is available online.

Length of Permit: Five years, maximum

Average Processing Time: 90 days

Public Participation: Public notice and 30 day comment period required.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 577 and 644

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6.090, and 20-6.011

Wetland or Dredge and Fill Approval
Regulated Activities: Required for any construction, placement, disposal or fill material or earth movement within a wetland or other body of water. The department administers 401 certification and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers administers 404 permits. Bridges, retaining walls, bank stabilization, levees and similar projects typically require 401/404 approvals. More information about 401 certifications is available online.

Antidegradation considerations will be incorporated into 404 permits and the corresponding 401 certifications at the time of permit issuance. Tier 1 and Tier 2 review will be met through 401 certification of individual 404 permits and will rely upon the information contained in the 404(b) (1) findings document prepared by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Any discharge to an Outstanding National or State Resource Water will require a site-specific permit or individual 401 Certification to ensure impacts are temporary and the public has an opportunity to participate.

Fees: A $75 fee is charged for individual 401 certifications. The nationwide permits are not charged a fee unless the Corps of Engineers has denied conditions the state has assigned for those nationwide permits. If an individual certification is required on a nationwide permit, a $75 fee applies.

Required Documents: A completed Corps of Engineers application form No. 4345, maps and drawings; written requests to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources Division of Environmental Quality Water Protection Program P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176 and ask for 401 certification.

Length of Permit: Varies according to nature of project.

Average Processing Time: 60 days

Public Participation: 30 day comment period; public notice issued by Corps of Engineers

Applicable Statutes: Federal Clean Water Act, Section 401

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-6

Yard Waste Compost Sites
See General Permits

Zeolite Softeners
See General Permits