PUB 98 - Operator Certifications

Department of Natural Resources fact sheet
11/2017
Department of Natural Resources Director: Carol S. Comer
PUB98opcert

Operator Certifications

Asbestos Abatement Occupational Certification
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Air Pollution Control Program
Asbestos Compliance Unit
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-4817

Regulated Activities: Occupational involvement in asbestos abatement projects including workers, supervisors, inspectors, management planners, project designers and air sampling professionals.

Fees: $75 per certificate for all except workers; $25 per certificate for all workers; $5 renewal fees

Required Documents: Completed application forms; certificates of the appropriate Missouri accredited training; documentation as required for the different certifications including proof of experience, education or certification in other specialties. The Asbestos Contractor Registration Application, Form -- MO 780-1224 is available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1224-f.pdf.

Length of Permit: One year except for the air sampling professional, which is a lifetime certificate.

Average Processing Time: Three weeks

Public Participation: None required

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 643.225 through 643.250

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 10-6.250

Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester Certification
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Public Drinking Water Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-5331

Regulated Activities: Requirements for those individuals desiring to be certified backflow prevention assembly testers.

Fees: Examination fees are established by third party certification organizations. Additional fees for training may apply.

Required Documents: Any person seeking to be a certified tester must successfully pass the written and performance examination provided through either the American Backflow Prevention Association, or ABPA, or the American Society of Sanitary Engineering, or ASSE. Both certification programs require a third-party proctor to administer the written and performance examinations.

Length of Certification: Three years

Average Processing Time: 21 days

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 640.100

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 60-11.030

Blaster Certification – Surface Coal Mining
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Missouri Geological Survey
Land Reclamation Program
P.O. Box 250, 111 Fairgrounds Road
Rolla, MO 65402
573-368-2143
573-368-2317 FAX

Regulated Activities: Coal mining and exploration activities, which require the use of explosives to aid in the removal of the raw coal. The purpose is to govern the training, examination, certification and enforcement of a blaster certification program for surface coal mining operations.

Fees: The certification application and recertification issuance fees are $100. Reexamination and temporary certificate fees are $25.

Required Documents: The applicant must complete an application form, provide verification of training courses attended and submit verification of experience or on-the-job training, or both. The applicant must have completed an approved training course of at least two days in length. For recertification, the course shall be at least one day in length and cover the practical applications outlined in 10 CSR 40-3.160(3)(A). A written test is being required for Missouri certification.

Length of Certification: Regular certification is for three years and temporary certification is for six months, or not to exceed the balance of the time left on the blaster certificate, which was issued by a state that has an Office of Surface Mining approved blaster certification program.

Average Processing Time: Certificates will be issued within 15 working days after submitting the required documentation and completing an examination administered by the State of Missouri.

Public Participation: Public notice is not required.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 444.855.2.(15)(d)

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 40-3.160

Examination for a Water Treatment, Water Distribution, Wastewater Operator or Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations, or CAFO, Certificate
Drinking Water Treatment Supply Operator Certification

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Public Drinking Water Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-5331

Regulated Facilities: All community and nontransient noncommunity public water systems and those transient noncommunity public water systems that use surface water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface water. This classification determines the certification level the system’s chief operator and those who make process control system integrity day to day decisions must possess.

Fees: Examination - $45 (includes certificate when passed); Renewal - $45; Reciprocity - $65

Required Documents: A completed application form with supporting documentation about employment and education.

Application: For Examination for a Water Treatment, Water Distribution, Wastewater Operator or Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) Certificate, Form -- MO 780-1089 available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1089-f.pdf

Length of Certification: Three years

Average Processing Time: You must apply at least 30 days prior to examination.

Applicable Statues: RSMo 640.100

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 60-14.010, 60-14.020 and 60-14.030

Distribution Drinking Water Operator Certification
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Public Drinking Water Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-5331

Regulated Activities: All community and nontransient noncommunity public water systems and those transient noncommunity public water systems that use surface water or groundwater under the direct influence of surface water. This classification determines the certification level the system’s chief operator and those who make process control system integrity day to day decisions must possess.

Fees: Examination - $45 (includes certificate when passed); Renewal - $45; Reciprocity - $65

Required Documents: A completed application form with supporting documentation about employment and education.

Application: For Examination for a Water Treatment, Water Distribution, Wastewater Operator or Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) Certificate, Form -- MO 780-1089 available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1089-f.pdf

Length of Certification: Three years

Average Processing Time: You must apply at least 30 days prior to examination.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 640.100

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 60-14.010, 60-14.020 and 60-14.030

Wastewater Treatment Operator Certification
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Water Pollution Control Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-1300

Regulated Activities: All wastewater treatment facilities owned or operated by or for municipalities, public water or sewer districts, counties, private sewer companies regulated by the Public Service Commission and any state or federal agencies serving population equivalents greater than 200 or with 50 or more service connections are required to have operators and supervisors certified in wastewater treatment systems depending on level of certification. All other systems are exempt. All operators of wastewater treatment systems included in 10 CSR 20-9.020 (2)(C) subsection (2)(A) of this rule shall possess, as a minimum, a level “D” certificate of competency issued by the department.

Fees: Examination - $45 (includes certificate when passed); Renewal - $45; Reciprocity - $65

Required Documents: A completed application form with supporting documentation on employment and education.

Application: For Examination for a Water Treatment, Water Distribution, Wastewater Operator or Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) Certificate, Form -- MO 780-1089 available online at dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1089-f.pdf.

Length of Certification: Three years

Average Processing Time: You must apply at least 30 days prior to examination.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644.026

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20-9.020, 20-9.030 and 20-9.040

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations, or CAFO, Certificate
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Division of Environmental Quality
Water Protection Program – Water Pollution Control Branch
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-1300

Regulated Activities: Requirements for operation by certified personnel shall apply to Class IA wet and dry handling CAFO waste management systems. All other CAFO waste management systems are exempt from this rule unless the department determines certified personnel are necessary to protect the waters of the state from pollution or the placement of a contaminant in a location where it is reasonably certain to cause pollution of any waters of the state. Voluntary certification is available for CAFO operators and supervisors at facilities that are exempt.

Fees: Examination - $45 (includes certificate when passed) Renewal - $45 Reciprocity - $65.

Required Documents:

Length of Certification: Three years

Average Processing Time: You must apply at least 30 days prior to examination.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 644.026

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 20.14.010, 20.14.020 and 20.14.030

Solid Waste Technician Certification
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Solid Waste Management Program
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-751-5401

Regulated Facilities: All Missouri Department of Natural Resources permitted solid waste disposal areas are required to be operated under the direction of a certified solid waste technician.

Fees: Certification courses are free. There is a charge for the training manual.

Required Documents: A completed application form. Contact Solid Waste Management Program for a technician certification form.

ength of Certification: Three years from the date the final course examination was taken and passed with a minimum percent score of 70.

Average Processing Time: Five working days after completion of examination.

Applicable Statues: RSMo Section 260.200 and 260.205

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-2.010 and 80-2.060

Well Driller/Pump Installer Permit
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Missouri Geological Survey
Wellhead Protection Section
P.O. Box 250, 111 Fairgrounds Road
Rolla, MO 65402
573-368-2165
573-368-2317 FAX

Regulated Activities: Separate permits required for a water well, heat pump, monitoring well, test hole or pump installation contractor to operate in the state. A restricted permit is required for those who contract or supervise regulated activity. A non-restricted permit is required for those who do the regulated activity.

Fees: Contractor: $100 for each regulated activity. Rigs: $100

Testing: $40 for each type of test. This fee is for the one time proficiency exam required to be passed prior to issuing a permit to operate in Missouri.

Required Documents: A completed application with correct fee. A completed experience voucher is required for a non-restricted permit. Contact the Wellhead Protection Section at 573-368-2168 for application.

Length of Permit: One year

Average Review Time: 15 days

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 256.607, 256.611, 256.613, 256.617 and 256.623

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 23-1.050, 23-1.060, 23-1.080, 23-1.090, 23-1.105, 23-1.155 and 23-2.010