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Anytown, MO Fire Department

Hazardous Substance Emergency Response Cost Recovery Statement

Itemized statement needs to be completed by each responding department and given 
to the lead agency to mail to the responsible party.  Please send by certifi ed mail with 
return receipt requested.

Responsible Party: XYZ Trucking
Address: 123 Main Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101
Location: Hwy B and Hwy C Junction Date/Time of Incident: 1/1/2001, 1300
Statement mailing date: 7/15/2013

Equipment - Rescue Unit (greater than 1 ton), 1 hour = $ 250
Personnel- Technical Rescue ($50 X 5 staff) = $ 250 Personal Protective Equipment:
Suits: 6 Saranex @ 12.50 each = $ 75
Gloves: 6 pairs heavy nitrile @ $2.00/pair = $ 12
Sorbent Materials:
2 – 10 ft. Booms @ $20.00 each = $ 40
200 Pads @ $.25 each = $ 50 5 – 10 lb. Bags of sorbent clay @ $5.00/bag = $ 25
Plugging and patching materials: Decontamination Supplies:
Communication Costs:
Cellular: $15.00 (see attached invoice) = $ 15

Other:

Replace 50’ of 1.5” fi re hose damaged by acid
(See attached photos and narrative) = $ 150

TOTAL COSTS =  $867

Please make check payable to Anytown Fire Department.

Thank you, 

Chief Joe Smith
Anytown Fire Dept.
100 S. Main
Anytown, MO  #####



State of Missouri 

Spiller Pays Cost Recovery

Engines:

1:  Cost/Hr: $150

1,000 GPM or Greater, 1,200” 2.5” hose or larger, ground ladders, booster tank

2:  Cost/Hr: $150 

500 – 750 GPM, 1,200” 2.5” hose or larger, ground ladders, booster tank

3:  Cost/Hr: $200 

Elevated Aerial Device

4:  Cost/Hr: $100 

Other Engines not fi tting above specifi cations

Tankers  Cost/Hr: $175 

Note:  This information was provided by a committee comprised of the Missouri 
Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fire Safety and local response agen-
cies from across the state of Missouri (9/2005).



State of Missouri 

Spiller Pays Cost Recovery

Rescue Units:

Greater than 1 ton Cost/Hr: $250

Minimum equipment: Air Bags, Cribbing, Lighting, Hyd/Air operated/electric, extrication 
tools (ie: Hurst), porta power kit, generator, power saw 

One Ton or Less  Cost/Hr: $100 

Equipment: Porta power kit, hand tools

Medical Unit Cost/Hr: $125

Bomb Unit Cost/Hr: $175

Decontamination Unit Cost/Hr: $150

Law Enforcement Vehicle Cost/Hr: $ 50

Note:  This information was provided by a committee comprised of the Missouri 
Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fire Safety and local response agen-
cies from across the state of Missouri (9/2005).



State of Missouri 

Spiller Pays Cost Recovery

Brush - Wildland Unit:

Pump, Tank, Hose, Cost/Hr: $100

Special Equipment / Units:

Air Teams/Unit Cost/Hr: $150

Bomb Unit Cost/Hr: $175

HazMat Unit Cost/Hr: $150

Lighting Units (towed) Cost/Hr: $150

Command Vehicle Cost/Hr: $100

Mobile Communications/Command Post Cost/Hr: $200

Foam Unit (Foam charged separately) Cost/Hr: $150

Personnel: Fire Scene and HazMat

Fire Department Personnel Cost/Hr: $ 25

Technical Rescue Cost/Hr: $ 50

Paramedics (ALS) Cost/Hr: $ 50

EMT (BLS) Cost/Hr: $ 25

Bomb Technician/Disposal Personnel Cost/Hr: $ 50

HazMat Technician Cost/Hr: $ 50

HazMat Operations Cost/Hr: $ 25

HazMat Awareness Cost/Hr: $ 15

HazMat Specialist Cost/Hr: $ 50

Law Enforcement Cost/Hr: $ 25 

Note:  This information was provided by a committee comprised of the Missouri 
Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fire Safety and local response agencies 
from across the state of Missouri (9/2005).



State of Missouri 

Spillers Pays Cost Recovery

Medical Units: Cost/Hr: $125

Missouri Statute:

Missouri state law (RSMo Section 260.546) states, in the event that a hazardous substance 
release occurs for which a political subdivsion or volunteer fi re protection association 
as defi ned in section 320.300, RSMo, provides emergency services, the person having control 
over hazardous substances shall be liable for such reasonable cleanup costs incurred by 
the political subdivison or volunteer fi re protection association.  Such liability includes the 
cost of materials, supplies and contractual services actually used to secure an emergency situa-
tion.  The liability may also include the cost for contractual services that are not 
routinely provided by the department or political subdivision or volunteer fi re protection 
association.  Such liability shall not include the cost of normal services that otherwise 
would have been provided.

Note:  This information was provided by a committee comprised of the Missouri 
Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fire Safety and local response agencies 
from across the state of Missouri (9/2005).



State of Missouri 

Spiller Pays Cost Recovery

HazMat Related Equipment (charge only if used)

PID - Photo Ionization Detector Cost/Hr: $ 20

FID - Flame Ionization Detector Cost/Hr: $ 20

CGI 0 Combustible Gas Indicator Cost/Hr: $ 20

RAD Meter Cost/Hr: $ 20

HazMat ID Cost/Hr: $125

APD 2000 Cost/Hr: $125

HazCat Kits Cost/Hr: $ 20

Hapsite (GCMS) Cost/Hr: $250

Identifi nder (Radiation detector) Cost/Hr: $ 20

Organic vapor analyzer Cost/Hr: $ 20

pH meter Cost/Hr: $  5

Anthrax test strip identifi cation Cost/Hr: $ 50

4 gas meter Cost/Hr: $ 25

3 gas meter Cost/Hr: $ 25

Air monitoring/communication devices (AreaRAE) Cost/Hr: $125

M8 paper Replacement cost

M9 paper Replacement cost

M256 Kits Replacement cost

pH paper Replacement cost

Absorbent pads and booms Replacement cost

Overpack drums Replacement cost

Colorimetric tubes Replacement cost

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Replacement cost

Actual replacement cost should be used for expendable supplies, equipment, ppe. The Department of Natural 
Resources maintains an emergency response contract that could serve useful in helping establish rate for HazMat 
equipment not listed in this bulletin. This contact also has rates for heavy equipment.  The emergency response con-
tact can be found at www.oa.mo.gov/purch/cgi/display.cgi?contnum=C302046003.


