Missouri Trails Advisory Board

Department of Natural Resources fact sheet
Department of Natural Resources Director: Carol S. Comer

23 U.S. Code 206

Number of Members
Nine (the law does not mandate a specific number).

Number of Members Appointed by the Governor

Is Senate Confirmation Required?

Membership Composition
Members of the Board shall represent the various types of motorized and nonmotorized recreational trail uses in Missouri (e.g., hiking, bicycling, all-terrain vehicle, off-road motorcycling, equestrian).


Political Affiliation
Not a consideration.

Reasonable and necessary expenses.

Geographic Consideration
Not a requirement.

Responsibilities of the Commission/Members
Represent both motorized and nonmotorized trail users in Missouri; meet as a board at least once per fiscal year; provide guidance to the department in developing grant selection criteria; review grant applications; make grant funding recommendations to the Department.

Staff Contact – Name, Address, Phone Number
Missouri State Parks, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0176, 573-751-3442

Staff Assistant – Name, Address, Phone Number

AGO Contact – Name, Address, Phone Number
Tim Duggan, P.O. Box 899, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0899, (573) 751-0660

Frequency of Meetings and Location(s)
At least once per fiscal year in Jefferson City (date varies depending on scheduling of grant round).

Time Expended by Commissioners for Meetings and Preparation Thereof
Meeting (8 hours); Grant application review (20-25 hours); Correspondence/Program Guidance (5 hours) for an annual total of 33-38 hours.

Requirements for Inclusion of Items on Agenda
Submission to staff assistant at least 24 hours prior to meeting date.

Public Comment Opportunities at Meetings
Meetings are publicly advertised. Members of the public wishing to address the Board at the meeting would be given an opportunity to do so.

For More Information Contact
Department of Natural Resources
PO Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
800-334-6946 or 573-751-2479