Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Hazardous Waste Program fact sheet
Division of Environmental Quality Director: Ed Galbraith

Statute/Authority: Statute 260.365

Number of Members: 7

Number of Members Appointed by the Governor: 7

Legislative Approval: Senate confirmation is required.

Membership Composition: All members shall be representative of the general interest of the public and shall have an interest in and knowledge of waste management and the effects and control of improper waste management. At least four members shall represent agriculture, the retail petroleum industry, the waste generating industry and the waste management industry respectively.

Terms: Four years and until successors are selected and qualified.
Political Affiliation
: No more than four from the same political party.
Compensation: Reasonable and necessary expenses including $50 per day for each day spent in a commission meeting.
Geographic Consideration: None

Responsibilities of the Commission/Members:

Staff Contact:
Angie McMichael, Acting Director
PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Staff Assistant Contact:
Debra Dobson
PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Attorney General Office Contact:
Brook McCarrick
PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Frequency of Meetings and Location(s): The third Thursday of every other month in Jefferson City.

Time Expended by Commissioners for Meetings and Preparation Thereof:

Requirements for Inclusion of Items on Agenda: Submission to staff assistant - 14 days prior to meeting date.

Public Comment Opportunities at Meetings: A public comment period is offered during each meeting.

For More Information
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Hazardous Waste Program
PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
800-361-4827 or 573-751-3443