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MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF 
NATURAL RESOURCES

FEE STRUCTURE CHANGES
The Missouri Well Installation Board is charged 
by law with establishing reasonable and 
necessary fees to pay for the Department 
of Natural Resources’ Wellhead Protection 
Section’s operations.  The law also prevents the 
board from building up a large cash reserve.  
The funds must be used to regulate the well 
drilling industry and cannot be used for anything 
else. These controls are intended to keep fees 
as low as reasonably possible.

The fees supporting the department’s Wellhead 
Protection Section had not been changed in 
more than 14 years.  The board voted to revise 
the maximum fee amounts last year through 
the rulemaking process. The new maximum fee 
amounts go into effect Feb. 1.  

The next step for the board is to determine the 
actual amount to be charged for each type of 
fee (the new rule establishes new maximum 
amounts, but the board likely will not assess 
the full amount).  The Well Installation Board 
met Nov. 7 and discussed establishing new 
actual fee amounts.  Staff recommended a 
new fee structure that includes major changes 
to certifi cation fees and a new charge for 
registration fees.  No changes were proposed 
to contractor permitting fees, testing fees or late 
fees.  

The proposed changes to the certifi cation fee 
structure are signifi cant.  If the board accepts 
the proposed changes, the fee for  certifying a 
water well would increase from $35 to $80; the 

certifi cation fee for heat pumps under 50 tons 
would increase from $75 to $100; the fee for 
heat pumps over 50 tons would increase from 
$150 to $200; and monitoring well certifi cation 
fees would increase from $75 to $100.

For the fi rst time, the proposal includes fees for 
registrations (well plugging and reconstruction).  
The Wellhead Protection Section has the 
authority to charge for registrations, but 
has never done so.  However, processing 
registration forms requires the same level of 
effort as other forms and it is diffi cult to justify 
not charging for this activity.  The proposed fee 
for registrations is $50.  

During the meeting, some attendees requested 
additional time to review the proposed fee 
structure. The board agreed and voted to make 
the decision on the actual fees at the next Well 
Installation Board meeting, Feb. 23, which will 
be held in conjunction with the Missouri Water 
Well Association’s annual meeting at Lodge of 
the Four Seasons in Lake Ozark.

UPDATE ON APPRENTICE 
RULEMAKING
10 CSR 23-1.050 & 10 CSR 23-1.060

The Well Installation Board voted Oct. 14 to 
move forward with the rulemaking process to 
require people applying for a non-restricted 
permit to fi rst become an apprentice for a period 
of two years.  The fi nal order of rulemaking was 
fi led with the Joint Committee on Administrative 
Rules and the Secretary of State’s Offi ce in 
November and December, respectively.  
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There will be a special edition of The 
Connection with information on the new 
apprentice rulemaking, however, below is a 
copy of the rule as it will be printed for your 
rulebooks.  If you have any questions please 
contact Sheri Fry at 573-368-2115 or by e-mail 
at sheri.fry@dnr.mo.gov. 

1.050—Qualifi cations  

(1) All applicants for a non-restricted 
well installation, heat pump installation, 
monitoring well installation, monitoring test-hole 
installation, and pump installation contractor 
permits shall meet the following requirements:

(A) Applicant must submit the testing 
application, supplied by the division, and 
appropriate testing fee;
(B) Applicant must pass the general test 
(open-book) with a minimum score of seventy 
percent (70%);
(C) After passing the general test, applicant 
must submit an apprenticeship application, 
supplied by the division.  The apprenticeship 
application must be accompanied by the 
appropriate permit fee, and must be signed 
by the non-restricted permittee who will 
be responsible for the apprenticeship and 
apprentice’s work; 
(D) After approval of the application for 
apprenticeship, the division will issue the 
applicant a permit number for use during the 
apprenticeship; 
(E) Applicant must be an apprentice for a 
period of two (2) years;
(F) During the two (2) year apprenticeship 
the apprentice must perform the type of 
work applying for and sign and submit the 
appropriate certifi cation or registration form on 
at least:

1. Twenty-fi ve (25) different water well 
installations;
2. Twenty-fi ve (25) different pump 
installations;
3. Ten (10) different heat pump 
installations; and/or

4. Twenty (20) different monitoring well 
sites;

(G) Applications submitted from work 
performed by an apprentice in other states will 
be considered as long as the corresponding 
state has construction requirements similar to 
the requirements of the State of Missouri.  If 
apprentice cancels the apprenticeship, he/she 
may reapply, within one (1) year of termination.  
If the application is approved, the apprentice will 
be reinstated at the same status as at the point 
of termination;
(H) The non-restricted permittee responsible 
for the apprentice must also sign the required 
certifi cation/registration form as the installation 
contractor and submit the form and appropriate 
fee to the division;
(I) At the end of the two (2) year 
apprenticeship; the apprentice must submit a 
testing application and the appropriate testing 
fee for the specifi c (closed-book) test;
(J) If, at the end of the two (2) year period, 
the apprentice has not completed the required 
number of installations, the apprentice may 
apply to extend the apprenticeship on a year by 
year basis; and,
(K) After completion of the apprenticeship 
period and passing the specifi c test, the 
apprentice must submit a contractor application, 
supplied by the division, with appropriate fees.  
After approval of the application, the division 
will issue the apprentice a non-restricted permit.
(L) If apprentice cancels the apprenticeship, 
he/she may reapply, within one (1) year of 
termination.  If the application is approved, 
apprentice will be reinstated at the point of 
termination.  

(2) The apprentice may transfer to another 
company; however, a non-restricted permittee 
must sign as the responsible party for the 
apprentice.  The apprentice may apply to 
transfer to another company by submitting a 
new apprenticeship application to the division.  

(3) Applicants for the non-restricted permit 
who hold a valid permit that is in good standing 
in another state with requirements similar to the 
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State of Missouri’s requirements, as determined 
by the division, or who is currently permitted 
with the State of Missouri, must submit the 
testing application, appropriate testing fee, and 
proof of the valid permit to be scheduled for the 
test.  After passing the general (open-book) and 
specifi c (closed-book) tests with a minimum 
score of seventy percent (70%) on each test, 
the applicant must submit each of the following 
to the Division within thirty (30) days:

(A) A contractor application;
(B) Vehicle application, supplied by the 
division, for each drilling rig, pump truck or 
service rig which will be used by the permittee 
and appropriate fee;
(C) Proof of fi nancial responsibility in the 
form of a surety bond, certifi cate of deposit 
(CD), or irrevocable letter of credit in the 
amount of twenty-fi ve thousand dollars 
($25,000).  The bond, CD, or letter of credit 
shall be:
(1) Placed on fi le with the division;
(2) Made payable to the Department of 
Natural Resources; 
(3) Issued by an institution authorized to 
issue such bonds in this state; 
(4) Certifi cate of deposit must be 
automatically renewable for timeframe covering 
the apprenticeship; and
(5) Any interest on the certifi cates of deposit 
shall be made payable to the permittee.
(D) The requirement for proof of fi nancial 
responsibility shall cease after two (2) 
consecutive years of permitted activity if the 
contractor does not have any outstanding 
notices of violation against their permit. If the 
contractor does not have any outstanding 
violations at the end of the two (2) year period, 
the bond or letter of credit will be returned to the 
contractor within thirty (30) days of the end of 
the two (2) year period;
(E) If at the end of those two (2) years 
the division has found that the contractor has 
failed to meet the construction standards set 
forth in the Missouri Well Construction Rules, 
the division shall notify the contractor, within 
sixty (60) days, that the bond or letter of credit 
will be forfeited and the moneys placed in the 

Groundwater Protection Fund for remedial 
action, if the permittee does not bring the well 
up to the standards established in the notice 
of violation within the  timeframes determined 
by the division.  The division may, upon 
expiration of the notifi cation period, expend 
whatever portion of the bond or letter of credit is 
necessary to hire another contractor to bring the 
well or borehole up to the standards set forth 
in the notice of violation or to plug the well and 
construct a new well; or, 
(F) If at the end of those two (2) years 
the division has found that the contractor has 
outstanding violations against the administrative 
standards set forth in the Missouri Well 
Construction Rules, the division shall notify the 
contractor, within sixty (60) days that the bond 
or letter of credit will continue to be held as a 
condition of permit renewal for period of another 
two (2) years.

(4) A special restricted permit and 
examination are available, upon request, for 
those persons who only drill unconsolidated 
material wells or set pumps in them.  To 
be scheduled for this type of restricted 
examination, an application must be received at 
least fi fteen (15) days prior to the testing date 
for which the applicant wishes to be scheduled.  
If a restricted permittee is found to be drilling or 
setting a pump in a type of material they are not 
permitted to operate in, they will be subject to 
appropriate enforcement action.  

(5) Information on where to obtain 
applicable study material will be available to 
each applicant prior to testing; 

(6) A testing schedule will be available upon 
request of the applicant;

(7) A completed application for testing 
must be received fi fteen (15) days prior to the 
testing date for which the applicant wishes 
to be scheduled.  The division will notify the 
applicant within ten (10) days from receiving the 
completed application for testing if the applicant 
has qualifi ed to take the test applied for and the 
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date of the next available test.  The testing fee 
is due before the test is given;

(8) A minimum score of seventy percent 
(70%) on the general test, and a minimum 
score of seventy percent (70%) on each 
required specifi c test must be achieved by the 
applicant prior to being permitted. The applicant 
will be sent the results of the test as soon as 
possible. If applicant has a passing score, 
the appropriate applications for permit will be 
included with the results; 

(9) Applicant may retake all tests on the 
same day if time allows.  All retakes must be 
accompanied by the testing fee; 

(10) If a request is made and documented 
more than thirty (30) days in advance, the exam 
may be taken orally.  The same exam will be 
given and the same results must be achieved 
on an oral exam as for a written exam.  Due 
to the special nature of this type of exam, 
special scheduling dates will be necessary.  
People with disabilities requiring services or 
accommodations can make arrangements by 
contacting the division; 

(11) Any applicant who does not agree with 
his/her test results, may appeal to the Well 
Installation Board;

(12) If an applicant wishes to withdraw his/
her application for testing, s/he may do so by 
requesting, in writing, ten (10) days in advance.  
If the applicant does not cancel as stated and is 
not present for the test, they may reschedule up 
to two (2) times.  If after the second reschedule 
the applicant does not appear, the testing 
application will be cancelled and the fee will be 
forfeited.  If the applicant wishes to take the test 
after the testing application has been cancelled, 
they must reapply and submit the appropriate 
fee;

(13) Persons who contract the drilling 
of wells, installation of pumps, or both, but 
do not drill the wells or set the pumps must 
be a permitted well installation, heat pump 

installation, monitoring well installation, 
monitoring-test hole installation, or pump 
installation contractor, or any combination of 
these.  The only test required is the general 
(open-book) test. A restriction must be placed 
on the permit which states that any well 
drilling or pump work contracted be done by a 
nonrestricted permitted installation contractor.  
Persons who wish to apply for this type of 
exam shall submit the testing application and 
appropriate fees;

(14) A nonrestricted permitted well 
installation, heat pump installation, monitoring 
well installation, monitoring–test hole 
installation, pump installation contractor, or 
any combination of these, must be present at 
all times during the apprentice’s initial number 
of installations (see 1(F) of this rule).  The 
nonrestricted permittee must be on site during 
the initial installations (see 1(F) of this rule) 
while a well is being drilled and completed, a 
pump is being set, or any combination of these; 
and

(15) Persons who wish only to drill the heat 
pump hole and grout the closed-loop into the 
heat pump hole must obtain a permit to do so.  
The permit will be restricted to the previously 
mentioned activities and a current nonrestricted 
water well installation contractor’s permit is 
required as one of the qualifi cation criteria.  
Those people who wish to apply for this type of 
heat pump installation contractor’s permit that 
have a valid nonrestricted water well installation 
contractor permit must only take the general 
test covering heat pump construction.

(16) Applicants for contractor permits who 
do not meet the requirements set out in this 
rule may petition the board. The board has the 
authority to rule upon the qualifi cations of the 
applicants and may require additional evidence 
of qualifi cations.
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1.060—Application for a Permit  

(4) All applicants shall submit an 
application. The division shall not act upon 
the application until they have received all 
required information, the appropriate fee, a 
passing grade on the appropriate exams, and, 
if applicable, proof of fi nancial responsibility.  
If applicant holds a valid permit from another 
state with requirements similar to the State 
of Missouri’s the applicant must also submit 
proof of the valid permit.  Proof shall be at the 
discretion of the division.  An application will 
not be acted upon or it will be denied if the 
applicant has violated any rules and has not 
remediated these violations.  The division may 
issue a permit on a probationary status.

(2)  The application shall be accompanied 
by the appropriate fee(s).  The fee shall be 
made payable to the Groundwater Protection 
Fund.  There will be no refund of monies 
paid for the permits after the fee has been 
transferred to the Groundwater Protection Fund 
in Jefferson City unless the request is made 
in writing.  In the case of any change of status 
of any permittee, that permittee shall notify 
the division and submit a new application and 
appropriate fee required pursuant to these 
rules.  In the case of either change in ownership 
of a rig or the purchase of a new rig, a new 
application form and the appropriate fee must 
be sent to the division and a new card will be 
issued. 

WELL INSTALLATION BOARD NEWS
At the Nov.7 Well Installation Board meeting, 
Jacquelyn Eaton was introduced as the newest 
board member.  She replaces Patricia Nichols 
whose term had expired.

At the meeting, the board heard from staff on 
several topics.  Items discussed include an 
enforcement update, the section’s fee increase 
(see Fee Structure Changes article in this 
edition) and an update on current rulemakings.  

The next meeting of the Well Installation Board 
is scheduled for Monday, Feb. 23, at Port 

Arrowhead Resort, 3080 Bagnall Dam Blvd., 
in Lake Ozark.  This meeting is being held 
in conjunction with the Missouri Water Well 
Association annual meeting.  Open session will 
begin at 10 a.m.

MISSOURI RURAL WATER 
ASSOCIATION TRAINING 
Over the past few months, Sheri Fry and 
Beth Marsala of the department’s Wellhead 
Protection Section have provided training on 
Section 256.628 RSMo.  This is the regulation 
that requires all public water supplies to 
report to the department when they connect 
a customer who previously was served by a 
private well.   When a well owner connects to 
a public water supply, they may continue to 
use the private well, but the department will 
follow up on that well every two years to ensure 
the well is still in use or has been plugged.  
Marsala and Fry presented this information to 
a Missouri Rural Water Association Conference 
and Expo held Aug. 20 in Sikeston.  Marsala 
also presented this information in Lake Ozark 
to the Missouri Rural Water Association’s 
Offi ce Professionals Seminar 2008 on Oct. 
28.  Another presentation was given to water 
and wastewater operators on Oct. 31.  All 
participants were provided with forms and 
brochures explaining the reporting requirement.  

The Wellhead Protection Section has also 
been visiting many public water supplies to 
make sure they are aware of the well reporting 
requirements.  A letter was sent in August to all 
public water supplies informing them of their 
responsibility under this law.  This outreach will 
continue to ensure public water supplies know 
about the requirements.  

The Missouri Rural Water Association has also 
notifi ed its members of this requirement at 
trainings and in its newsletter.  Hopefully, this 
cooperative effort will help to get the message 
out and wells no longer in use will be plugged.  
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STATUS OF AMENDMENTS TO 
MONITORING WELL RULES
The department has started the process of 
amending the Monitoring Well Construction 
Code, 10 CSR 23-4.010 through 10 CSR 23-
4.080.  A draft of the amendments can be found 
online at www.dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/rules/wpp-
rule-dev.htm.  Stakeholder meetings were held 
throughout the state to gather comments and 
suggestions.  Although there was not a large 
turnout at the fi ve meetings, the comments 
were very helpful and right on target.  We 
appreciate all the input received.

Staff will now redraft the amendments and 
incorporate the comments received.  The 
amended rules will be reviewed internally again 
by Department of Natural Resources’ staff and 
other fi rms that requested a second review. 
Once we have another draft, it will be placed 
online at the above address. If you would like 
to be part of the review process, please contact 
Sheri Fry at 573-368 2115.

We hope to present the fi nal draft to the Well 
Installation Board at the February meeting.  If 
the board approves, the amendments will be 
fi led with the Secretary of State’s Offi ce to 
be published in the Missouri Register.  There 
will be a 30-day comment period and a public 
hearing.  All comments will be addressed in an 
Order of Rulemaking the board must approve.  
We anticipate the rule becoming fi nal sometime 
during the last three months of 2009. 

REPORTING A WELL CONCERN
Do you want to report a concern about how a 
well was drilled, an unplugged abandoned well, 
or another type of threat to the groundwater or 
other resources in Missouri?  Do you have a 
question about the law or rules? You can fi nd 
out the answers or report something easily by 
visiting the department’s Web site at www.dnr.
mo.gov/concern.htm and fi lling in a short form.  

This site is monitored daily and the questions, 
concerns and reports are sent to the 
appropriate staff for resolution.  You may also 

report your concerns to a regional offi ce and 
their staff will investigate the report or forward it 
to the appropriate person.

Keep in mind that according to the Missouri 
Sunshine Law, any information gathered or 
maintained by the department is considered an 
open record unless specifi cally protected from 
disclosure.  However, if you do not provide your 
name or contact information, you will remain 
anonymous.  There are two disadvantages to 
remaining anonymous.  One is that if we don’t 
have enough information we will be unable to 
contact you to get the necessary information 
and may not be able to conduct a full 
investigation.  Another is that we won’t be able 
to give you the results of our investigation.  

Any report the department receives by phone, 
in writing or online is investigated.  We will 
be glad to inform you of the results of the 
investigation if you give us your contact 
information.  

2009 MISSOURI STATE 
OFFICE CLOSINGS
The following is a listing of all the holidays that 
are observed by the State of Missouri.

New Year’s Day Thursday, Jan. 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 19
Lincoln Day Thursday, Feb. 12 
Washington’s Birthday (Observed) Monday, Feb. 16
Truman Day Friday, May 8
Memorial Day Monday, May 25 
Independence Day Friday, July 3
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 7 
Columbus Day (Observed) Monday, Oct. 12 
Veterans Day Wednesday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Thursday, Nov. 26 
Christmas Day Friday, Dec. 25 

MISSOURI STATE OFFICE CLOSINGS 
INFO LINE 888-390-9927 
In an effort to increase effi ciencies in state 
government, all Missourians will now have 
access to call 888-390-9927 toll free for an 
updated announcement of state offi ce building 
closures. The hotline will be a useful tool 
for informing both citizens and employees if 
buildings are closed or if hours are extended in 
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the event of an emergency or safety threat. The 
toll free number is informational only and will 
not accept messages from callers for follow-up.

LEAD IN MISSOURI’S DOMESTIC 
WATER SUPPLIES
Lead has played an important role in the 
settling and development of Missouri.  The fi rst 
lead deposits were mined by the French as 
early as 1720 in southeast Missouri, in the area 
now referred to as the “Old Lead Belt.”  In the 
mid-19th century, lead and zinc deposits were 
discovered in southwest Missouri, primarily in 
Jasper and Newton counties.  A third major 
area of lead deposits were developed in south-
central Missouri in the 1950s, in an area known 
as the Viburnum Trend.  In addition, smaller 
deposits of lead have historically been mined 
throughout a wide area of southern Missouri. 

Lead mining hastened the early economic 
development of Missouri, especially the 
building of roads, towns and railroads.  Some 
of the world’s largest lead deposits are located 
in Missouri.  Since those initial deposits 
were discovered, the state has gone on to 
become one of the largest producers of lead 
in the United States.  Lead has played such 
an important role in Missouri’s history and 
economics that in 1967 Galena was designated 
the offi cial state mineral of Missouri.  Galena 
is the most common lead-bearing sulfi de 
mineral in the state. Cities with names such 
as Leadington, River Mines, and Leadwood 
refl ect the importance that lead deposits have 
held within Missouri.  The cities of Park Hills 
and Joplin were initially settled primarily as lead 
mining communities. 

For all the benefi ts lead has provided to 
Missouri, it can also be a health hazard and a 
contaminant.  Lead can be ingested in several 
ways.  The most common methods of ingestion 
are by breathing in lead particles or dust that 
has a lead content, by drinking water that has 
been in contact with lead minerals, and by 
drinking water that has been in contact with 
decaying pipes or fi xtures that contain lead.  
Many homes built from the early 1900s up to 

1940 contained lead piping.  After 1940, many 
of the pipes used in home construction were 
still, to some extent, made with lead.  It was not 
until 1986 that a nationwide ban restricted the 
use of lead pipes for drinking water supplies.  
When copper pipes replaced lead piping, lead 
solder was often used.  Chrome plated faucets 
are often made of brass, which can contain 3 
to 8 percent lead.  As the faucets and piping 
degrade, lead is introduced into the water.  

The amount of lead required to cause damage 
is somewhat dependent on the individual. High 
levels of lead in humans can result in seizures, 
coma, and even death.  At lower levels, lead 
ingestion can cause fatigue, disturbed sleep 
and damage to the kidneys and liver.  Lead 
can damage the nervous system of infants 
and children, causing behavioral disorders and 
learning disabilities.  The U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency estimates that 10 to 20 
percent of all human lead contamination is 
derived from drinking water.  However, for 
infants on a formula diet the EPA estimated 
lead contamination due directly to drinking 
water is 40 to 60 percent. Lead contamination 
in drinking water can be especially dangerous 
to newborns and infants, as their diet can often 
consist of up to 20 percent water. 

While individuals can be exposed to lead from 
a variety of sources, the elevated lead levels in 
some drinking water sources within the United 
States have become a concern.  Because of 
this, EPA established a new National Primary 
Drinking Water regulation for lead in 2006, 
reducing the acceptable lead level in public 
drinking water from 50 parts per billion (ppb) 
to 15 ppb.  The EPA requires public water 
suppliers to test the water they supply.  If high 
levels are found, EPA requires the water be 
treated to bring it within safe limits (below 15 
ppb).  The EPA does not regulate private water 
supplies (domestic and multifamily wells).  It 
is left to the well owner to test and treat the 
water as needed to avoid over exposure to 
lead.  Testing is the only method to detect lead 
in water.  Water contaminated with lead will not 
exhibit a change in odor, taste or color.  
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If the water in an individual’s supply tests 
above 15 ppb, treatment is necessary to lower 
the level.  The two most effective treatment 
methods for removing lead are reverse osmosis 
and distillation.  Reverse osmosis is a method 
whereby the water is forced under pressure 
through a membrane formulated to reject 
certain substances.  Distillation (boiling the 
water, collecting, and condensing the steam) 
can remove up to 99 percent of the lead in the 
water.  The EPA does not recommend cartridge 
fi lters, carbon fi lters, and sand fi lters to remove 
lead from water.   

Sources:
Lead and Your Drinking Water, Offi ce of Water, 
United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Lead in Drinking Water, MIT Educational Fact 
sheet, 1996

Missouri Lead, Missouri Department of Natural 
Resources, Pub000659

Drinking Water Fact Kit, Lead in Drinking Water, 
NSF International

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, 
U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Public Health Service and Centers 
for Disease Control and Prevention, National 
Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

MISSOURI ONE CALL CHANGES 
EFFECTIVE JAN. 1
On Jan. 1, changes to Missouri law concerning 
damage prevention to underground facilities 
went into effect. Prior to Jan. 1, utilities had two 
working days to mark underground utilities.  The 
day the locate call was received counted as 
the fi rst day and the day after was the second.  
The new law allows more time for the utility 
company to respond.  Now, the day the utility 
receives the locate call will not count as the 
fi rst day.   The working day response time will 
begin at midnight the day the utility receives 
the locate call and then the utility has two full 
working days to respond.  Previously, if the 
utility did not show up in the two day period, a 

“No Response” ticket was issued which gave 
the utility another working day to respond. The 
new law reduces the response time for a utility 
once a “No Response” ticket is made. The utility 
has two hours to respond to a “No Response” 
ticket.  If the utility receives a “No Response” 
ticket before 2 p.m. the marking of the utility 
lines must be completed by the end of the 
working day.  If the call is received after 2 p.m., 
the utility has until 10 a.m. the next working day 
to complete the marking.

When a locate request is received, additional 
information is now required.  The excavator 
will have to provide a fax number, e-mail 
address and cell phone number.  The name 
of the person conducting or supervising the 
excavation will also be required. It should 
also be determined in advance if the dig site 
is on public right-of-way. Road and highway 
departments with underground facilities are 
required to participate.

If the utilities have been marked and damage 
occurs during the excavation, the excavator 
only has to notify the Missouri One Call using 
the “Dig up Ticket”.  If the damage involves 
a pipeline or natural gas line, the excavator 
should call 911, the affected utility and the 
department’s Environmental Emergency 
Response unit immediately.  The department’s 
Environmental Emergency Response unit can 
be reached at 573-634-2436.  

If an emergency locate request is received, 
the affected utility now has only two hours to 
respond.  An emergency locate request must 
be life threatening or present potential property 
damage. For example, an emergency locate 
request would include locating a ruptured 
gas line or excavating to prevent property 
damage by fl ooding.  An excavator placing an 
emergency locate request which does not meet 
the defi nition of the law will be eligible for billing 
by the utility.  The utility may determine if the 
calls fi ts the defi nition of an emergency. 
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To obtain a Missouri timeline card please go to 
Missouri Rural Water download Center at www.
moruralwater.org/dlcenter/index.php?fi le=36

Please note the changes discussed in this 
article are a summary and should not be 
considered as all inclusive.  It is recommended 
you contact Missouri One Call at 800-344-7483 
for specifi c questions or additional information.

RECONSTRUCTION RECORD 
REPORTING CHANGES
According to the Water Well Drillers Law, 
a registration report is to be sent to the 
Department of Natural Resources upon 
completion of plugging an abandoned well, 
raising casings, lining wells, deepening wells, 
major repairs and alterations of a well.  The 
Reconstruction Report Form (department form 
number 780-1414) shall be used to report the 
raising of casing, lining of wells, deepening of 
wells, major repairs and alterations of any well, 
including water wells, heat pump systems and 
monitoring wells.  This form must be submitted 
to the department by the permittee within 60 
days after the completion of the work.  Late fees 
are be assessed for records submitted after 60 
days from completion.   

Below is an excerpt from the Missouri Well 
Construction Rules, or MWCR, about the repair 
of wells:
 a. All materials used in maintenance, 
replacement or repair of any well shall meet the 
requirements of the Missouri Well Construction 
Rules as the same for new construction.
 b. Broken, punctured or otherwise 
defective or unserviceable casing, screens, 
fi xtures, seals or any part of the wellhead shall 
be repaired or replaced.  The well shall be 
plugged in accordance with the requirements 
of the Missouri Well Construction Rules if that 
repair or replacement is not performed.
 c. Repairs to wells originally completed 
with the wellhead terminating below ground 
should include extending the well casing one 
foot above fi nished grade surface.  The casing 
extension material must be of similar material 
to the original casing.  On steel casing the 

joint must be welded, coupled or threaded, on 
plastic casing the joint must be glued or fused.  
The use of devices specifi cally designed to 
join dissimilar casing materials together will 
be considered on a case-by-case basis by 
the division.  Approval must be received in 
advance.

Section 10 CSR 23-3.080 of the MWCR gives 
the requirements for the installation of liners in 
wells.
 
Replacement pump information is not required 
to be submitted on a Reconstruction Report 
Form unless requested by the department.  
Also, any well installation contractor or pump 
installation contractor acting as primary 
contractor in the construction, alteration, major 
repair or abandonment of any well shall be 
required to obtain a permit from the department 
and comply with all rules and regulations 
promulgated pursuant to section 256.600 to 
256.640 of the “Water Well Drillers Act”.  In 
other words, if you perform either the pump or 
drilling work, you must have a permit to do so.  

SPECIAL AREA 2 UPDATE
Each year the Wellhead Protection Section 
reviews and updates the casing depth map 
for Special Area 2.  If required, new impact 
areas are added and if available, any published 
updates for the area roads are added into the 
newly revised map.  It is important to remember 
that the current map is valid from Jan. 2, 2008 
through Jan. 1, 2009.   The map was reviewed 
in November and December 2008.  The new 
map is valid for Jan. 2, 2009 through Jan. 1, 
2010.  Each map has the effective dates noted 
on it.  It is important to be sure the correct map 
is used when drilling in Newton and Jasper 
Counties, as an older version may not have all 
the known impact areas highlighted.  

Recently, a notifi cation was sent to several 
drilling contractors who have drilled in Special 
Area 2.  This notifi cation concerned wells more 
than six months old where no sampling data 
had been submitted.  All well drilling contractors 
are responsible for ensuring the samples are 
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taken from the wells in question and the results 
provided to the department in a timely manner.  
If a contractor or homeowner wishes to have a 
sample of their well water analyzed for lead or 
cadmium, the department’s Wellhead Protection 
Section can provide a list of individuals qualifi ed 
and properly trained to take a water sample 
for lead or cadmium.  The Wellhead Protection 
Section can also provide a list of laboratories 
certifi ed to perform the needed drinking water 
analysis.        

CONTRACTOR AND APPRENTICE 
WELL AND PUMP INSTALLATION 
TESTING SCHEDULE
All tests begin at 9 a.m.
The following 2009 testing dates will be held 
at Division of Geology and Land Survey, 111 
Fairgrounds Road in Rolla.
 

Feb. 18  
March 18
April 15 
May 20
June 17
July 15
Aug. 19
Sept. 16
Oct. 21
Nov.
Dec.16

Testing dates may be modifi ed if necessary.  If 
you have questions or a disability that requires 
special services, please call 573-368-2450.  

Please bring a picture ID to the testing site.

If you are applying for a non-restricted permit, 
be sure to bring your global positioning unit, 
or GPS, and operating manual to the test site. 
Your GPS unit should be programmed to read in 
degrees, minutes, and seconds in accordance 
with 10 CSR 23-3.060(5). 

•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•

WELCOME
The following individuals are now part of the 
Department of Natural Resources-permitted 
contractor community:

Boart Longyear – Jason Drabek 
Bowers Pump Service – Thomas Bowers 
Brand Well Drilling and Pump – 
Brady Gerstner
Environmental Works Inc – Justin Brown 
Fritsche Plumbing and Heating – 
Joshua Fritsche 
JM Sales and Pump Service – 
Jacob Minton III
Larsen and Associates Inc – Lisa Larsen 
Mundell and Associates – Mark Breting 
PCS Industrial Outsourcing – Jeffrey Crank, 
Jerry Hancock 
Redox-Federal – David Back 

FAREWELL
The people addressed below are no longer 
permitted to operate as contractors according 
to the Water Well Drillers Act and Well 
Construction Regulations:

All Pumps and Septics LLC – Tony 
Summers, Carl Roberts 
Allens Pump Service – Elsie Allen 
Barker Lemar Engineering – Emily Miller
Burns & McDonnell – Patrick Higgins 
Ebbert, Daryl 
Herst & Associates – Brett Shank
Layne-Arkansas – Jimmy Crouch  
Layne-Arkansas – Grady Teel 
Midwest Engineering Services – 
Roger Burton 
MoDNR – Dean Lamb, Julie Pearson, Larry 
Erickson, Marie Lopez
Precision Heating & Cooling – 
Christopher Juliano 
Skinner, Logan 
Terranext – Michael Giuliani 
Tietz, Paul 
URS – Kurt Owings, Brian Williamson 
Vigil, Thomas 

•
•
•

•
•

•

•
•
•

•

•

•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•

•

•

•
•
•
•
•
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WELLHEAD PROTECTION SECTION 
PHONE NUMBER LISTING
573-368-2165
Beth Marsala
Section Chief
573-368-2171  
beth.marsala@dnr.mo.gov 
  
Sheri Fry
573-368-2115  
sheri.fry@dnr.mo.gov 

Eric Hohl
573-368-2168  
eric.hohl@dnr.mo.gov

Jeannie Hoyle
573-368-2450 
jeannie.hoyle@dnr.mo.gov 

Matt Parker
573-368-2170
matt.parker@dnr.mo.gov 

Paul Meyer
573-368-2159 
paul.meyer@dnr.mo.gov 

Tracy Ray
Section Secretary 
573-368-2165 
tracy.ray@dnr.mo.gov 

Kyle Rollins
573-368-2196 
kyle.rollins@dnr.mo.gov 

Joe Schlueter
573-368-2316  
joe.schlueter@dnr.mo.gov 

Debbie Stogsdill
573-368-2375 
Debbie.stogsdill@dnr.mo.gov 

Ruth Ann Williams
573-368-2318
ruth.williams@dnr.mo.gov 



Editor’s Note: The Connection is published quarterly by the Missouri Department of Natural 
Resources’ Division of Environmental Quality.  If you have any suggestions, ideas or comments 
concerning this newsletter, please let us know.  Send comments to:
Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Wellhead Protection Section, P.O. Box 250, Rolla, 
MO 65402-0250, by phone to 573-368-2165, or by fax to 573-368-2317.
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