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If the injury is life threatening, go to the nearest hospital emergency room. 

 

If medical treatment is required, you or your employer should contact 1-800-624-2354 

(or 1-800-735-2966 for the hearing impaired) 24-hours a day for the name of an 

authorized medical care provider in your area prior to seeking treatment. 

 

REFERENCES 

 

Central Accident Reporting Office (CARO) forms 

https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-

employees-resources  

 

This page contains the Employee Injury Report, Mileage Reimbursement Request, 

Authorization to Release Medical Records, Witness Statement and Supervisor Statement 

forms, and others related to Workers’ Compensation claims. 

 

State Employees Workers’ Compensation Reporting Packet 

https://oa.mo.gov/sites/default/files/wcreporting05.pdf  

 

Missouri Office of Administration 

Central Accident Reporting Office 

P.O. Box 809 

Jefferson City, MO  65102 

573-751-2837 or 888-622-7694 (toll free) 

https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro 

 

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations Division of Workers 

Compensation 

Employee Hotline: 1-800-775-2667     Employer Hotline: 1-888-837-6069 

 

U.S. Department of Labor, Division of Workers’ Compensation’s Employee Hotline  

1-800-776-COMP 

 

Other DNR policies 

 Alcohol, Drug and Smoke-free Work Environment 3.07 

Temporary Modified Duty 5.10 

 

https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-employees-resources
https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-employees-resources
http://www.oa.state.mo.us/gs/risk/work/form.htm#Initial Injury Report (Form 0
http://www.oa.state.mo.us/gs/risk/work/form.htm#Initial Injury Report (Form 0
https://oa.mo.gov/sites/default/files/wcreporting05.pdf
https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro
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DEFINITIONS 

 

Treating physician: The physician selected or approved by the Office of Administration’s 

Central Accident Reporting Office under the provisions of the Workers’ Compensation 

Act. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

The employee’s steps 

 

The steps and forms needed to report a workers’ compensation injury is available in the 

Human Resources Program, from the Central Accident Reporting Office or on-line at   

https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-

employees-resources  

 

To ensure that an employee is considered for worker compensation benefits, the 

employee must provide their supervisor a written notice of the injury, no matter how 

minor.  The following minimum steps should be used. 

 

1. Report all injuries immediately to your employer.  Document the time, place, names 

of witnesses, and nature of the injury in the Employee Injury Report (CARO form).  

The injury report form is turned into the department’s Human Resources Program 

within seven (7) calendar days of the accident. Any witness(es) should complete the 

Witness Statement (CARO form). 

 

2. If medical treatment is required, you or your employer should contact 

1-800-624-2354 (or 1-800-735-2966 for the hearing impaired) 24-hours a day for the 

name of an authorized medical care provider in your area prior to seeking treatment.  

The State of Missouri may not pay for medical treatment if you do not utilize 

authorized medical providers.  However, you may seek your own medical care with 

the provider of your choice at your own expense. 

 

3. Unless it is an emergency, do not seek aid without informing your employer and 

going to authorized medical providers. 

 

4. If it is an emergency, seek initial treatment at the nearest hospital emergency room or 

medical clinic.  Then notify your employer as soon as possible. 

 

https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-employees-resources
https://oa.mo.gov/general-services/risk-management/workers-compensation-caro/injured-employees-resources
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5. Notify the hospital or clinic that your injury is a workers’ compensation injury and 

give the name, address, and telephone number of your employer. 

 

6. The Central Accident Reporting Office (CARO) should preapprove surgeries, 

medical referrals, testing and the purchase or rental of medical equipment. 

 

7. If not done, ask any witness(es) to the accident to complete the Witness Statement 

(CARO form). 

 

8. A request for mileage reimbursement may be submitted to CARO for treatment 

outside of the local or metropolitan area from the place of injury or the place of 

residence. The Mileage Reimbursement Request (CARO form) is turned into the 

Human Resources Program. 

 

9. Complete the Authorization to Release Medical Records (CARO form) granting 

access to medical records.  The authorization is turned into the department’s Human 

Resources Program. 

 

10. Continue to update the supervisor about his/her medical condition, and when he/she 

can return to work if the injury causes missed work days. 

 

Workers' Compensation benefits may be reduced for injuries sustained in conjunction 

with the use of alcohol or controlled, nonprescribed drugs.  Benefits may be forfeited if 

shown that the use of alcohol or controlled, nonprescribed drugs was the proximate cause 

of the injury. 

 

Avoid unnecessary delays or denials by notifying your employer immediately of an 

injury. 

 

The supervisor’s steps 

Within 24 hours of notice of an injury from an employee, the supervisor notifies the 

Human Resources Program, either by phone or email. The supervisor also completes the 

Supervisor Statement (CARO form). The supervisor is also responsible for completing 

the necessary forms if the injured employee is unable to do so. 

 

The supervisor reports all time lost on the Time Lost Report for Workers’ Compensation 

Injuries (CARO form) from the date of injury until the employee is able to return to full 



 

Missouri Department of 

Natural Resources 

Administrative Policies and Procedures 

Chapter 5 Employee Benefits     Workers’ Compensation Policy 

Workers’ Compensation Procedures 

 

Number: 5.09-01 

Effective date 

 

November 15, 2002 

Revised 

 

December 21, 2005 

 

 4 

duty to the Human Resources Program.  This report must be completed for an employee 

to receive a check from CARO. 

 

Temporary Total Disability 

Temporary Total Disability (TTD) may be paid to an employee who is authorized off 

work by the treating physician for an extended period of time.  TTD is figured on a 7-day 

workweek and paid at 2/3 your weekly wages up to a maximum set by law.  The weekly 

wage is based on your salary at the time of the accident.  The employee becomes eligible 

for TTD after missing more than three regularly scheduled work days.  If the employee is 

approved for more than fourteen (14) calendar days off, the first three days, referred to as 

the waiting period, are paid to the employee.  After the three-day waiting period TTD 

may be paid in addition to time used as annual leave, compensatory time, or leave 

without pay.  Sick leave may be used only to supplement the TTD payments up to an 

employee’s full salary. 

 

The department may keep the employee on regular payroll during his/her time off with 

the employee’s written concurrence.  

 

Compensation from CARO is not considered taxable income.  This may have an affect on 

automatic deductions such as social security.  CARO payment may also affect your 

deferred compensation deduction.  Consult with the Human Resources Program or 

CARO about the actual impacts. 

 

 Temporary modified duty 

If the employee’s treating physician releases the employee for temporary modified duty, 

the supervisor should follow the procedures in the Temporary Modified Duty policy and 

procedures.  For any temporary modified duty, a work plan is developed with the 

guidance of the treating physician.  An employee can only work the amount of time 

designated by the treating physician. 

 

For temporary modified duty developed in response to a workers’ compensation injury, 

the treating physician determines the duration.  The treating physician determines when 

the temporary restrictions may be lifted. 

 

If the employee is released part time for temporary modified duty, the employee receives 

workers’ compensation benefits for the time they are not released to work.  The 

department pays for the part time work. 
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If temporary modified duty is not possible in the department’s viewpoint, the employee is 

paid, by the department, coded to appointing authority paid leave (LWPAA). 

 

If the employee does not want to participate in temporary modified duty recommended 

by the treating physician, the employee may use their accrued leave balances. 

 

Mileage reimbursement 

Employees may be considered for mileage reimbursement when they are required to 

submit to medical treatment outside the local or metropolitan area where the injury 

occurred or their place of residence.  Mileage requests must include place of departure, 

destination, date, number of miles traveled, and whether the travel was one way or round 

trip. 

 

Leave provisions and time accounting 

An employee may use accrued annual leave, federal compensatory time, state 

compensatory time, or holiday compensatory time instead of leave without pay – 

workers’ compensation (LNPWC).  Use of these leaves is coded: ALWC (annual leave 

workers’ compensation), FCWC (federal compensatory – workers’ compensation), 

SCWC (state compensatory – workers’ compensation) or HCWC (holiday compensatory 

– workers’ compensation).  The employee may not use sick leave – workers’ 

compensation (SLWC) for the time calculated and recorded to LNPWC. 

 

If the employee chooses to use eight hours of accrued leave per day instead of LNPWC, 

he/she is paid 1 2/3 times their normal salary. In this circumstance an employee would 

receive 2/3 of his/her normal pay from Workers’ Compensation and a full paycheck from 

the department.  Caution should be used as accrued leave balances could be significantly 

depleted depending on the severity of the injury, limiting the amount of leave remaining 

when he/she returns to normal work.   

 

The employee does not earn full leave accrual during any pay period LNPWC is used. 
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Assistance for filling out your timesheet when on Workers’ Compensation  

 

Days 1-3  

 

Use code SLWC (Sick leave – Workers’ Compensation) to record the use of sick leave 

due to a workers’ compensation injury. 

 

Day 4 on 

1. Take the number of work hour for each day, multiply by 0.667 and round to the 

nearest quarter hour.  This time is coded to LNPWC (Leave without pay – workers’ 

compensation 

2. Take the number of work hours for each day and subtract the number of hours coded 

to LNPWC.  These hours are coded to SLWC (sick leave workers’ compensation) 

 

Example for a full time employee 

 

Day 1 – 3 

 

Record 8 hours SLWC 

 

Day 4 on 

1. 8 hours x .0.667 = 5 hours 30 minutes.  5 hours 30 minutes coded to LNPWC 

2. 8 hours – 5 hours 30 minutes = 2 hours 30 minutes coded to SLWC 

 

The employee is paid for the time coded to SLWC through their normal department 

paycheck.  The Central Accident Reporting Office provides a separate check for the 

time coded to LNPWC. 

 

For questions regarding these procedures, please contact the Human Resource Program. 


