August 09, 2018

Contact: Communications Office

Department of Natural Resources provides compliance assistance to Senath

JEFFERSON CITY, MO, AUG. 9, 2018 - In keeping with its commitment to assist Missouri communities and provide excellent customer service, the Missouri Department of Natural Resources visited the city of Senath to talk about the city’s public drinking water and wastewater systems and any support the department could provide. The city of Senath is an agricultural community with a population of approximately 1,600 located in Dunklin County.

During the meeting, Mayor Joe Lane shared information about current projects the city had undertaken related to its drinking water system, including a new water storage tank, placement of several thousand feet of piping, hydrants and electronic meters. The new storage tank will enable the city to have sufficient water storage that the current tank does not provide. Mayor Lane also shared plans to meet the future needs of citizens as well as requirements of the department’s permits and regulations.

“The city continues to keep equipment in proper operating condition and strives to meet the ever-changing needs and regulatory oversight thanks to our taxpayers and grants,” said Mayor Lane. “My intention is to leave the city of Senath in the best possible condition going forward.”

During their meeting, department staff toured Senath’s wastewater treatment facility and laboratory. “The system appeared well-maintained,” said Josh Wilkerson, an inspector in the department’s Southeast Regional Office. “We offered suggestions on long-term potential cost savings related to wastewater sampling efforts, and the city was very receptive and willing to undertake those.”

“I appreciate the department’s compliance assistance efforts,” said Mayor Lane. “Department staff recognized during the meeting that we have a good handle on our water and wastewater systems.”

The Department of Natural Resources will continue to provide compliance assistance.

Located in Poplar Bluff, the department’s Southeast Regional Office serves the following counties: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Maries, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois,
Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Texas, Washington and Wayne. To report an environmental concern, please call 573-840-9750.