February 13, 2015

Historic Preservation Council to consider nominations for National Register Feb. 20

The Missouri Advisory Council on Historic Preservation will consider nominations to the National Register of Historic Places during its quarterly meeting on Friday, Feb. 20 in Jefferson City. The meeting, which is open to the public, will begin at 9 a.m. in the LaCharrette conference room of the Lewis and Clark State Office Building located at 1101 Riverside Dr.

One district, three individual property nominations, one historic site and one Multiple Property Document Form are scheduled to be considered for listing in the National Register. The list includes the following commercial, residential, and institutional properties and districts.

• Moore’s Mill Battlefield, Calwood vic., Callaway County
• Stephen Johnston House, 14850 North Bethel Road, Platte City, Platte County
• Murphysburg Historic District, South Sergeant Ave., West First St., South Pearl Ave., West Fourth St., South Byers Ave. & West Seventh St., Joplin, Jasper County
• Shell Building, 1221 Locust St., St. Louis
• Shriners’ Hospital for Crippled Children, 700-728 South Euclid Ave. and 4565 Clayton Ave., St. Louis
• Early Cold War Standardized Armories in Missouri, 1954 to 1965, Multiple Property Document Form, Statewide

More information, including completed applications for each of the nominations, is included on the meeting agenda and nominations list.

The Missouri Advisory Council on Historic Preservation is a 12-member group of historians, architects, archaeologists and citizens with an interest in historic preservation. The council is appointed by the governor and works with the Department of Natural Resources' State Historic Preservation Office, which administers the National Register of Historic Places program for Missouri. The council meets quarterly to review Missouri property nominations to the National Register, the nation's honor roll of historic properties. Approved nominations are forwarded to the Keeper of the National Register in Washington, D.C., for final approval.