
Summary of Surrounding States Fees 

 

Iowa 

Public water systems pays for its own sampling.  

User fee - >250 population pays 14¢ per customer; cap of $300,000; transient noncommunity 

and small systems pay $25; State may adjust, with the consent of the Commission, the per 

capita fee for operating permit by up to +/- 2¢ per person served to achieve a targeted revenue 

of $350,000 each fiscal year.  

Construction permit fee – Cost per linear foot for water mains, maximum of $5,000 per year, 

percent of the projected cost for non-main projects, maximum of $16,000 per year.  

Lab certification fee – is based on the type of analytical service provided, from $400 - $2,800. 

Onsite visits $300 - $500. 

Operator certification fee - $60 for 2-year certificate; exam fee of $40. 

 

Nebraska 

Public water system pays for its own sampling; State invoices for associated costs if system uses 

the State’s lab. 

Lab certification fee – inspection fee $100 - $200.  

Operator certification fee - $150 for a 2-year certificate; exam fee of $165.  

 

Kansas 

Public water systems pay for sampling; approximately 95% use the state’s lab and sent invoices 

for associated cost, amount per analysis is set in statute. Water system is responsible for its 

own sampling for UCMR, LT2, etc.  

User fee – State bases the 2¢ fee on 1,000 gallons sold. 

Lab certification – Inspection fee up to $350. 

Operator certification fee - $20 for 2-year certificate, exam fee of $25. 

 

Oklahoma 

Public water system pays for its own sampling.  

User fee - 4¢ per connection per month, minimum range of $50 - $150, additional regulatory 

fee range of $370 - $6,800. 

Inspection fee - $50 - $200. 

Lab certification fee – up to $2,853. 

Operator certification fee - $46 for a 1-year certificate; exam fee of $62. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Arkansas 

Laboratory Services provided by the State. 

User fee – 40¢ per water meter per month with a minimum of $125 annually for transient 

noncommunity systems and a minimum of $250 annually for community and nontransient 

noncommunity systems.  

Construction permit fee – 1% of the estimated project cost, subdivisions -1% of the estimated 

cost of the system with a minimum of $50 and a maximum of $500, subdivisions with private 

wells - $100 for the first lot, $25 for each additional lot with a maximum of $1,500. 

 

Illinois 

Public water system pays for its own sampling. 

Construction permit fee – minimum of $240, maximum of $$1,200. 

Lab certification fee – annual base admin fee of $2,400 plus $1,000 per type. 

Operator certification fee - $10 for a 2-year certificate; exam fee of $40. 

Since 1998, over 1.7 billion in loans to water systems through the SRF program. 

 

Tennessee 

Public water system pays for its own sampling. 

User fee – annual fee ranges from $300 - $105,000 plus a 35 - 65¢ per connection fee.  

Inspection fee - $150 - $750, also a re-inspection fee if required or requested by the system. 

Construction permit fee - $50 - $1,000. 

Lab certification fee – annual $500 - $1,000. 

Operator certification fee - $50 for a 2-year certificate; exam fee of $100. 

 

Kentucky 

Public water system pays for its own sampling. 

Construction permit fee - $50 - $800. 

Lab certification fee – annual $1,000 bacti and chemical plus $500 for other types. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


