4.6.5.4 Application and Review Process/Completing Permit
Application Forms/
Permit Fees/General Permit Fees

Applicability:

Discusses the permit fees payable to the state of Missouri for facilities that operate under the
terms and conditions of a general permit. Fees for certain types of general permits are payable at
the time of the application while fees for other permits are paid with the application and on the
anniversary date of the permit.

Content:

Persons who produce and discharge wastewater or storm water and operate in accord with a
general permit must pay permit fees. Persons with more than one point source must obtain a
general permit for each point source or specific area or site. When there are multiple releases
from a single operating location, one application and general permit can cover all releases of
wastewater or storm water.

General permit fees are to be paid by check or money order made payable to the State of
Missouri. If the fee payment check is returned to the department marked insufficient funds, the
person forwarding the check is notified and given 15 days to correct the situation. If the
insufficiency is not corrected, the matter may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for
collection and assessment of a late payment penalty in accord with Section 644.055.

The fees are submitted to the Department of Natural Resources, Receipts and Reporting
Program, P.O. Box 477, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. Each payment should identify the permit
number, payment period and permittee’s name. Persons responsible for more than one facility
can submit one check for all fees owed, but need to include information to allow proper crediting
for each permit.

Fees are to be paid in full on their due date. Fee payments for a land disturbance site or a animal
feeding operation/concentrated animal feeding operation must accompany the application for
coverage under the general permit. The initial fee payment for other types of facilities covered
under general permits is made at the time of the application. Subsequent fee payments should
be submitted each year on the anniversary date of the permit, including the year during which the
state-wide general permit is being renewed and reissued. Facilities wishing to continue operation
under a general permit that is being renewed and reissued must apply for continued coverage
180 days prior to permit expiration. The annual fee should not be submitted with the application
but on the anniversary date of the permit, typically about 180 days after the application is
submitted.

Facilities that are not covered for the full term of the general permit (typically 5 years) or
discharge intermittently or seasonally must pay a full application fee and, if applicable, annual fee
on the anniversary date of the permit. Fees for such facilities are not prorated or reduced.

If a facility eliminates the discharge, the permittee is responsible for requesting termination of the
permit. If the permit is revoked or denied, the application or annual fees are forfeited by the
permittee or applicant (see 4.1.8 Terminations, 4.19 Revocations and 4.1.10 Denials).

The following are the permit fees for facilities operating under general permits:

= $300 for the discharge of storm water from a land disturbance site payable at the time of
application only;



= $50 for the operation of a chemical fertilizer or pesticide facility with the initial fee payable
at the time of the application and annually thereafter on the anniversary date of the
permit; no fee is required at the time of a renewal application;

= $150 for the operation of an animal feeding operation or a concentrated animal feeding
operation (Class IB and IC operations) payable at the time of application only;

=  $150 for new general permits for the discharge of process wastewater or storm water,
other than that from land disturbance, agrichemical and Class IB and IC concentrated
animal feeding sites, with the initial fee payable at the time of the application and
subsequent fees payable annually thereafter on the anniversary date of the permit until
the time of permit expiration; and

= $60 for renewed general permits for the discharge of process wastewater or storm water,
other than that from land disturbance, agrichemical and Class IB and IC concentrated
animal feeding sites, payable annually on the anniversary date of the permit; no fee is
required at the time the renewal application is submitted.

Section 644.052.6(5) allows a fee of up to $250 annually for the operation of an aquaculture
facility. At this time, the Water Protection Program includes aquaculture facilities with the majority
of general permittees paying new permit fees of $150 and renewed permit fees of $60.

Land disturbance general permits issued to the Missouri Department of Transportation, or other
state agencies that may be overseeing highway construction projects, may have a single $300
fee to cover all sites that are subject to the permit (see Section 644.052.13).

Legal References:

Missouri Clean Water Law, Chapter 644, RSMo

644.052.6 and .13 Permit types, fees, amounts--requests for permit modifications--requests for federal clean we

certifications.
644.055 Fees, nonpayment--penalty.

Code of State Regulations:

10 CSR 20- General Permits

6.010(13)

10 CSR 20- Fees -

6.011(1), (1) Fees - General

(3) and Appendix (3) General Permits and Fees

A Appendix A - Human sewage discharges—annual fees
Other Links:

3.3.2 Facility Specific Information (for general permits)

Water Pollution Control Permit Fees, summary sheet with examples, revised 11/7/2000
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http://www.dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/permits/permit-fee-sheet.pdf

Modification Date: 3/30/06



	4.6.5.4 Application and Review Process/Completing Permit Application Forms/ Permit Fees/General Permit Fees 
	Applicability:  
	Content:  
	Legal References:  
	Other Links:  


