
3.5.5 Overview of the Permit/No-Discharge Permits/ Effective Date 

and Expiration Date 

 

Applicability:  

 

The term (duration) of No-Discharge Permits issued in accord with 10 CSR 20-6.015 is set 

through the Effective and Expiration Dates.   

 

 

Content:  

 

Introduction  

The No-Discharge Permits rule, in particular 10 CSR 20-6.015(2)(A), requires that persons who 

build, modify, operate and maintain such facilities apply for construction and operating permits.  

For more detail on the construction permitting process, please review the “Construction Permit 

Manual.”  Further, 10 CSR 20-6.015(4)(A) requires that permits for no-discharge facilities are to 

be issued in accord with the procedures contained in 10 CSR 20-6.010, 10 CSR 20-6.011, 10 

CSR 20-6.020 and 10 CSR 20-6.200.  

 

Operating Permits  

Operating permits (NPDES permits) shall be issued for a term (duration) not to exceed 5 years 

after the date of issuance. The five-year maximum term is a requirement of the federal Clean 

Water Act, federal regulations, the Missouri Clean Water Law and the state regulations. The 

most common term for operating permits is five years; however, they may be issued for a period 

of time less than five years.  

 

The issuance date can be different than the effective date of the operating permit. For a new or 

reissued operating permit, the effective date is entered on the first page of the permit in the 

Effective Date field. The Expiration Date is calculated by adding the permit term (typically 5 

years) minus one day to the Effective Date. For example, if a permit is to be issued for 5 years on 

July 1, 2004, the expiration date will be June 30, 2009.  

 

An operating permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated during its term as set 

forth in 10 CSR 20-6.010(8)(A)2 and 3 and 40 CFR 122.62 and 122.64. If a permit is modified 

within the five-year term, the original Effective and Expiration Dates remain the same and the 

modification date is placed approximately one inch to the right of the Effective Date on the same 

line and “Revised Date” is placed underneath the modified date.  

 

The department must receive applications for the renewal of operating permits at least 180 days 

before the expiration date. If the review of the renewal application proceeds in a normal fashion, 

the permit typically will be reissued with a new effective date on its anniversary date. The re-

issuance of an operating permit should be timed to coincide with the expiration of the preceding 

permit.  

 



For details regarding the issuance, effective, and expiration dates of construction permits, please 

review the “Construction Permit Manual.” 

 

 

Legal References: 

Missouri Clean Water Law:  

Chapter 644.051.10 and 13 – Prohibited acts--permits required, when, fee--bond required of 

permit holders, when--permit application procedures--rulemaking--limitation on use of permit 

fee moneys. 

 

Code of State Regulations: 

10 CSR 20-6.010(5)(B) and (C) – Original and Renewal Permitting Timeframes 

10 CSR 20-6.010(8)(A)2 and 3 – Permit Terms and Conditions, Mandatory Conditions 

10 CSR 20-6.010(10) – Operating Permit Renewal and Expiration Dates 

10 CSR 20-6.015(2)(A) and (4)(A) – No-Discharge Permits 

 

Code of Federal Regulations: 

40 CFR 122.46(a) and (c) – EPA Administered Programs: The NPDES – Durations of permits 

40 CFR 122.5(a) – EPA Administered Programs: The NPDES – Effect of a permit 

40 CFR 122.62 – EPA Administered Permit Programs – NPDES – Modification or revocation 

and reissuance of permits 

40 CFR 122.64 – EPA Administered Permit Programs – NPDES – Termination of permits 

 

Federal Clean Water Act: 

402(a)(3) and 402 (b)(1)(B) – National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

 

 


