Solid Waste Technician Certification Course
Last updated March 19, 2018
The department will hold its Solid Waste Technician Certification Course from Sept. 18-20, 2018. Class will meet in the Elm Street Conference Center at 1730 E. Elm St. in Jefferson City. Go to the Bennett Spring Conference Room. Once you register, the department will send a letter to confirm your registration.
The department recommends the certification course for people working in the solid waste management field in Missouri. These people include owners and operators of solid waste landfills, environmental consultants and regulatory personnel. Topics include the following:
* landfill design.
* permitting process for landfills.
* daily operations for landfills.
* monitoring for methane gas.
* monitoring of groundwater.
* requirements for closing a landfill.
* requirements after the closure of a landfill.
* landfill safety.
* overview of the Solid Waste Management Law and related regulations.
To obtain certification, students must pass an examination. The course costs $30; certification lasts for three years. All participants must register and pay prior to taking the examination and receiving their certificates. The department holds the course twice each year.
For more information, contact Kory Hubbard at 573-751-5401.
Several options exist for people to earn credit hours toward renewal of their certification as solid waste technicians. These options include:
* Attending the Solid Waste Technician Certification Course presented by the department. As explained above, class meets every March and September for the number of hours required for recertification. Participants must attend the course before their certification expires.
* Attending professional courses or training in the solid waste field and submitting documentation to the department's Solid Waste Management Program for approval of training.
* Attending educational sessions on solid waste-related topics at the annual Missouri Waste Control Coalition Conference.
Regardless of which method you choose to acquire recertification credit hours, you must accrue at least 10 hours of classes or training prior to the expiration of your three-year certificate to become recertified. The department's Solid Waste Management Program must approve training and/or class subjects in order for you to apply them toward recertification.