GovDelivery logo

Last updated May 9, 2018

The department uses surveillance cameras at dumpsites across Missouri to combat illegal dumping. The goal is to educate people and provide alternative options, such as obtaining commercial trash service or using a permitted landfill, transfer station or recycling facility for environmentally sound disposal.

Several cameras are deployed throughout the state at any given time. Videos of dumping incidents are reviewed then investigated. Copies of the videos are then delivered to county prosecutors for prosecution under the Missouri Littering Law. The county court in which the dumping occurred decides the final outcome of the incident.

Littering is a class A misdemeanor. Anyone convicted of littering may be imprisoned in the county jail for up to one year and fined up to $1,000 per incident. Illegal disposal of solid waste may be punishable as a Class D felony with fines of $20,000 or higher.

Litter is both an eyesore and a health hazard because it provides a home for pests and serves as a breeding ground for their young. As a result, whether you refer to it as trash, litter, garbage, solid waste or refuse, litter cannot be dumped onto private or public lands or waterways in the state of Missouri.

Pike County Video #1
Pike County Video #2
Pike County Video #3
Saline County Video #1
Saline County Video #2
Saline County Video #3
Saline County Video #4
Saline County Video #5

For additional information, or to report illegal dumping, please contact the department's Solid Waste Management Program at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-5401. To report illegal dumping online, visit