Additional Information for Shipping Radioactive Materials
Last updated Sept. 22, 2017
Items to Know
Shipments by radioactive material brokers that pick up materials at several points, both within or outside of Missouri, are considered one shipment until they have reached their final destination and unloaded.
Each truck is considered a separate shipment under the statute, even if more than one truck is traveling together.
Each train is considered one shipment, no matter how many cars of material are included in the train.
Shippers are ultimately responsible for payment of the fee, carriers may accept responsibility for the fee on behalf of their clients.
The fee does not apply to shipments by common carrier (i.e., FEDEX®, UPS®, etc.).
ExemptionsA number of exemptions are included in the statute:
- Highway Route Controlled Quantity shipments of 30 miles or less within Missouri.
- Sealed sources meeting the definition of low level waste in the statute.
- Low level waste shipped less than or equal to 50 miles from the point of origin.
- Low level waste with a half-life less than or equal to 120 days.
- Naturally occurring radioactive material approved for landfill disposal by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources.
- Shipments by state-funded universities in Missouri are exempt from the fees, but will be billed directly for escort costs.
- Shipment of high-level, transuranic, highway route controlled quantity, spent nuclear fuel or low level waste by the military is exempt from the fee (i.e., spent nuclear fuel from submarines, shipped with military escort).
For questions related to the type of shipment proposed, and whether the shipment is subject to the radioactive materials shipment fee, please contact the department at 573-751-3907 or firstname.lastname@example.org.