Types of Permits and Certifications
The department has changed all fill-in forms to PDF fill-in. You will be able to save and reuse these PDF forms. However, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader 7 or higher to save the PDF fill-in form. Also, at this time the department does not accept digital signatures. If your Acrobat Reader prompts you to use one, we ask that you don't.
If you have any questions, or would like to apply for any permits or certifications listed, please contact the Permits Section at 573-751-3553 or 800-361-4827.
Emergency permits are temporary permits issued in the event a situation presents an immediate and significant threat to human health or the environment. The department may issue an emergency permit to a company that already has a hazardous waste permit, to allow them to treat, store or dispose a hazardous waste not covered by their effective permit. The department may also issue an emergency permit to non-permitted companies, to allow them to treat, store or dispose hazardous waste. The emergency permit clearly specifies the hazardous wastes the company intends to handle and how they are allowed to treat, store or dispose the wastes. An emergency permit can be effective for up to 90 days.
For more information about emergency permits, please review Code of Federal Regulations 40 CFR 270.61 or contact the Permits Section at 573-751-3553 or 800-361-4827.
Companies that want to actively treat, store (for more than 90 days) or dispose hazardous waste in Missouri are required to get a hazardous waste permit. Companies producing hazardous waste generally do not need a hazardous waste permit if they store it for less than 90 days and do not treat it. Companies only transporting hazardous waste may need other types of permits or licenses, but not a hazardous waste permit. Certain “inactive” hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal facilities (i.e., those that are now closed but were formerly granted interim status for hazardous waste treatment, storage or disposal) may also be required to get a hazardous waste permit in order to investigate, monitor and clean up releases of hazardous waste and hazardous constituents to the environment at their facility.
A hazardous waste permit is a legally binding, enforceable document that lists how and what kind of hazardous waste the company can handle. The permit outlines the facility design and operation, safety standards and activities the company must perform, such as monitoring and reporting. It also lists the facility's closure, corrective action and financial assurance requirements. The permit also lists requirements for long-term monitoring and maintenance activities, or post-closure care, for areas of the facility where hazardous waste or hazardous constituents will remain in place after closure is finished, such as landfills or surface impoundments.
A hazardous waste permit may involve two separate permits. In all cases, the Missouri Department of Natural Resources issues a Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Facility Part I Permit. In some instances the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency will issue a Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendments Part II Permit. The Part I Permit contains federal requirements Missouri adopted, which are included by reference in the Code of State Regulations. For those adopted regulations, EPA authorized Missouri to administer its own hazardous waste program in lieu of the federally administered Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) program. EPA determined the state requirements are at least as stringent and are equivalent and consistent with RCRA. The Part II Permit contains a few remaining federal requirements administered by EPA that Missouri has either not yet adopted or has adopted but EPA has not yet authorized Missouri to administer. EPA does not issue a Part II Permit if EPA has no site-specific conditions for that particular facility and Missouri is fully authorized for all permitting requirements at that facility.
To apply for a hazardous waste permit, the company owner or operator submits one two-part permit application for both permits, to both the department and EPA. Part A of the application, EPA RCRA Hazardous Waste Part A Permit Application -- EPA 8700-23, contains general information about the facility. Part B is often a very detailed, highly technical document consisting of hundreds or thousands of pages of facility-specific information. The department and EPA must carefully review every detail of the information submitted by the company. Because of this, it may take the department and EPA a substantial amount of time to adequately review an application. For more information about the hazardous waste permitting process, you can review our fact sheet Getting Involved in the Hazardous Waste Permitting Process -- PUB916.
If approved by both the department and EPA, the Part I Permit and, if necessary, Part II Permit are normally issued together. Both permits are normally effective for a 10-year period, the maximum period currently allowed by state and federal laws and regulations. By limiting the length of the permits, the department and EPA can make sure they regularly review the company’s hazardous waste management activities. The department and EPA also monitor and inspect the construction, operation, maintenance, investigation, remediation and eventually final closure of the facility, to ensure that the company follows the conditions in the permit. The permits may be renewed, with department and EPA approval, for as long as necessary.
Company owners and operators that want to commercially treat, store or dispose Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) and PCB items in Missouri must get a PCB Facility Permit. According to Code of Federal Regulations 40 CFR Part 761, the company must also get a separate Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA) approval from EPA. PCB Facility Permits list similar requirements to what is found in a hazardous waste permit.
To apply for a PCB Facility Permit, the facility owner or operator submits a Polychlorinated Biphenyl (PCB) Facility Application -- MO 780-1897 and a very detailed, highly technical document consisting of hundreds or thousands of pages of applicable facility-specific information listed in the PCB Facility Application. The department and EPA must carefully review every detail of the information submitted by the company. Because of this, it may take the department and EPA a substantial amount of time to adequately review an application. PCB Facility Permits are normally effective for a 10-year period and may be renewed, with department and EPA approval, for as long as necessary.
A Remedial Action Plan (RAP) is a list of conditions a company owner or operator must follow in order to treat, store or dispose hazardous remediation waste at a remediation waste management site in Missouri. Hazardous remediation waste is waste produced by a hazardous waste cleanup activity and contains contaminated soil, water or debris. A RAP may be a stand-alone document or may be part of another document, such as a hazardous waste permit or remedy decision document used in the cleanup process. RAPs can be effective for a 10-year period and may be renewed, with department approval, for as long as the activity continues.
For more information about applying for and using RAPs, please review Code of Federal Regulations 40 CFR Part 270 Subpart H or contact the Permits Section at 573-751-3553 or 800-361-4827.
A Research, Development and Demonstration (RD&D) Permit is a special permit that may be issued to owners and operators of hazardous waste treatment facilities that want to use new and experimental treatment technologies for which no regulation standards exist. The permit outlines the facility design and operation, safety standards and closure, corrective action and financial assurance requirements. The permit also lists the type and amounts of hazardous waste that the department believes is necessary to determine the effectiveness of the technology or process and its effects on human health and the environment. RD&D Permits are effective for up to one year and may be renewed, with department approval, up to three times. Each renewal cannot exceeding one year.
For more information on RD&D Permits, please review Code of Federal Regulations 40 CFR 270.65 or contact the Permits Section at 573-751-3553 or 800-361-4827.
Company owners and operators that want to recycle hazardous waste in Missouri are required to get a resource recovery certificate. Hazardous waste recycling includes reclaiming or reusing hazardous waste or transforming hazardous waste into new products that are no longer hazardous waste. A resource recovery certificate is a type of formal approval resembling a permit. If approved by the department, the certificate is good for up to two years and may be renewed, with department approval, for as long as the facility is in operation. For general information about resource recovery, please review our fact sheet Hazardous Waste in Missouri -- PUB919.
To apply for a resource recovery certificate, the company owner or operator submits a Hazardous Waste Resource Recovery Facility Application -- MO 780-1163 and the information listed in the application Instructions -- PUB2241 to the department. Resource recovery certification is not required by federal law. Missouri requires resource recovery facilities to meet certain financial assurance and operational standards beyond federal law, as outlined in the Code of State Regulations 10 CSR 25-9.020. For a summary of the resource recovery regulations, please review our fact sheet Hazardous Waste Resource Recovery -- PUB2091.