
PUBLIC HEARING ON 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO 

10 CSR 10-6.110 

Reporting Emission Data, Emission Fees, and Process Information 

This amendment will change subsections (3)(A) and (4)(B). 

Subsection (3)(A) is being amended to increase the emission fee for permitted sources from 
forty-eight dollars ($48) to fifty-three dollars ($53) per ton of emissions in calendar year 2021, 
and increase to fifty-five dollars ($55) per ton of emissions in calendar year 2022 and beyond. 

Subsection (4)(B) is being amended to update the repeating emission-year reporting cycle to 
current years in Table 4. 

NOTE 1 - Legend for rule actions to be presented at public hearing is as follows: 

* Shaded Text - Rule sections or subsections not proposed for amendment. This text is only
for reference.

* Unshaded Text - Rule sections or subsections that are proposed for change.

NOTE 2 - All unshaded text below this line is printed in the Missouri Register. 

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF  
NATURAL RESOURCES

Division 10—Air Conservation Commission 

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling and Reference Methods and  
Air Pollution Control Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.110 Reporting Emission Data, Emission Fees, and Process Information. The 
commission proposes to amend subsections (3)(A) and (4)(B). If the commission adopts this rule 
action, it will be the department’s intention to submit the changes to subsection (4)(B) to the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency to update the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The 
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the 
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed 
in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information concerning this 
rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules 
website https://apps5.mo.gov/proposed-rules/welcome.action#OPEN2.  
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PURPOSE:  This rule provides procedures for reporting emission-related information and 
establishes emission fees for the purpose of state air-resource planning. The purpose of this 
amendment is to change the air-emission fee structure pursuant to section 643.079.10, RSMo. 
This proposed rulemaking would increase the emission fee for permitted sources from forty-eight 
dollars ($48) to fifty-three dollars ($53) per ton of emissions in calendar year 2021, and increase 
the fee to fifty-five dollars ($55) per ton of emissions in calendar year 2022 and beyond. The 
increased emission fee would enable the department's Air Pollution Control Program to remain 
solvent and maintain its authority as the implementing agency of the federal Clean Air Act in the 
state of Missouri. Pursuant to section 536.016, RSMo, the evidence supporting the need for this 
proposed rulemaking is subsection 643.079.10, RSMo, and the March 2, 2020, Air Program 
Advisory Forum Fee Stakeholder Meeting.  
 
PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures for reporting emission related information and 
establishing emission fees for the purpose of state air resource planning. 
 
(1)  Applicability. This rule applies to any installation that is subject to any one (1) of the 

following: 
 (A)  Notifies and accepts a permit-by-rule under 10 CSR 10-6.062; 
 (B)  Is required to obtain a construction permit under 10 CSR 10-6.060; or 
 (C)  Is required to obtain an operating permit under 10 CSR 10-6.065. 
 
(2)  Definitions. 
 (A)  Missouri Emissions Inventory System (MoEIS)—Online interface of the state of 

Missouri’s air emissions inventory database. 
 (B)  Point source—Large, stationary (nonmobile), identifiable source of emissions that 

releases pollutants into the atmosphere. A point source is an installation that is 
either— 

  1.  A major source under 40 CFR part 70 for the pollutants for which 
reporting is required; or 

  2.  A holder of an intermediate operating permit. 
 (C)  Reportable pollutants—The regulated air pollutants at the process level required 

for emission inventory reporting as summarized in Table 1 of this rule. 
 (D)  Reporting threshold—Minimum amount of reportable emissions at the emission 

unit level that requires reporting as summarized in Table 1 of this rule. Emissions 
below this amount may be designated as insignificant on the Full Emissions 
Report. 

 (E)  Reporting year—Twelve (12)-month calendar year ending December 31. The 
reporting requirement for installations with three (3)-year reporting cycles begins 
with the 2011 reporting year. The subsequent reporting years will be every three 
(3) years following 2011 (i.e., 2014, 2017, 2020, etc.). 

 (F)  Small source—An installation subject to this rule but not a point source as defined 
in this section of the rule. 

 (G)  Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other than those specified in this 
rule section, may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020. 

 
TABLE 1. Reportable Pollutants with Reporting Thresholds 



 

 

 

 
a Category One (1) 
Hazardous Air 
Pollutant (HAP) 
chemicals include 
Polycyclic Organic 
Matter, Arsenic 

Compounds, Lead Compounds, Chromium Compounds, Mercury Compounds (Alkyl and Aryl), Mercury 
Compounds (Inorganic), Nickel Compounds, Chlordane, Benzene, Methoxychlor, Vinyl Chloride, Heptachlor, 
Benzidine, Butadiene (1,3-), Chloromethyl Methyl Ether, Hexachlorobenzene, Bis(chloromethyl)ether, Asbestos, 
Polychlorinated Biphenyls, Trifluralin, Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin (2,3,7,8-), Toxaphene, and Coke Oven 
Emissions. 
b Category Two (2) HAP chemicals are those defined in 10 CSR 10-6.020 that are not included in the list of 
Category One (1) HAP chemicals. 
 
(3)  General Provisions. 
 (A)  Emission Fees. 
  1.  Any installation subject to this rule, except sources that produce charcoal 

from wood, shall pay an annual emission fee per ton of applicable 
pollutant emissions identified in Table 2 of this rule based on previous 
calendar year emissions and in accordance with paragraphs (3)(A)2. 
through (3)(A)7. of this rule. The emission fee shall be [forty-eight dollars 
and no cents ($48.00) per ton]fifty-three dollars and no cents ($53.00) 
per ton emitted in calendar year 2021, and fifty-five dollars and no 
cents ($55.00) per ton emitted in calendar year 2022 and thereafter. 

  2.  For Full Emissions Reports, the fee is based on the information provided 
in the installation’s emissions report. For sources which qualify for and 
use the Reduced Reporting Form, the fee shall be based on the last Full 
Emissions Report. 

  3.  The fee shall apply to the first four thousand (4,000) tons of each air 
pollutant subject to fees as identified in Table 2 of this rule. No installation 
shall be required to pay fees on total emissions in excess of twelve 
thousand (12,000) tons for any reporting year. An installation subject to 
this rule which emitted less than one (1) ton of all pollutants subject to 
fees shall pay a fee for one (1) ton. 

  4.  An installation which pays emission fees to a holder of a certificate of 
authority issued pursuant to section 643.140, RSMo, may deduct those 
fees from the emission fee due under this section. 

  5.  The fee imposed in paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule shall not apply to NH3, 
CO, PM2.5, or HAPs reported as PM10 or VOC, as summarized in Table 2 
of this rule. 

 
Process Level Reportable Pollutants 

 Emission Unit Level Reporting  
Threshold 

Point Sources Small Sources Tons Pounds 
PM10 fil PM10 pri 

 
0.438 
 

876 
 PMcon 

PM2.5 fil PM2.5 pri 0.438 876 
 PMcon 
SO2 1 2000 
NOx 1 2000 
VOC 0.438 876 
CO 1 2000 
Category One (1) HAP a 
Category Two (2) HAP b  

0.01 a 20 a 
0.1 b 200 b 

NH3 0.438 876 
Lead a 0.01 a 20 a 



 

  6.  Emission fees for the reporting year are due June 1 after each reporting 
year. The fees shall be payable to the Missouri Department of Natural 
Resources. 

  7.  To determine emission fees, an installation shall be considered one (1) 
source as defined in section 643.078.2, RSMo, except that an installation 
with multiple operating permits shall pay emission fees separately for air 
pollutants emitted under each individual permit. 

 
TABLE 2. Pollutant Fee Applicability 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 

 

 (B)  Emission Estimation Calculation and Verification. 
  1.  The method of determining an emission factor, capture efficiency, or 

control efficiency for use in the emissions report shall be consistent with 
the installation’s applicable permit. Variance from this method shall be 
based on the hierarchy described below. If data is not available for an 
emission estimation method or an emission estimation method is 
impractical for a source, then the subsequent emission estimation method 
shall be used in its place— 

   A.  Continuous Emission Monitoring System (CEMS) as specified in 
subparagraph (3)(B)2.A. of this rule; 

   B.  Stack tests as specified in subparagraph (3)(B)2.B. of this rule; 
   C.  Material/mass balance; 
   D.  AP-42 (Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Compilation of 

Air Pollution Emission Factors) or FIRE (Factor Information and 
Retrieval System) as published by EPA August 2018 and August 
2017, respectively, and hereby incorporated by reference in this 
rule.  Copies can be obtained from the National Technical 
Information Service (NTIS), 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, 
VA 22161.  This rule does not incorporate any subsequent 
amendments or additions; 

   E.  Other EPA documents as specified in subparagraph (3)(B)2.C. of 
this rule; 

   F.  Sound engineering or technical calculations; or 
   G.  Facilities shall obtain department approval of emission estimation 

methods other than those listed in subparagraphs (3)(B)1.A.–F. of 

Pollutants Subject  
to Fees 

Pollutants Not  
Subject to Fees 

PM10 pri PM2.5  pri 

SO2 CO 

NOx NH3 

VOC HAPs reported as 
PM10 or VOC 

HAP  

Lead  



 

this rule before using any such method to estimate emissions in the 
submission of an emissions report. 

  2.  The director reserves the authority to review and approve all emission 
estimation methods used to calculate emissions for the purpose of filing an 
emissions report for accuracy, reliability, and appropriateness. 
Inappropriate usage of an emission factor or method shall include, but is 
not limited to: varying from the method used in permit without prior 
approval, using emission factors not representative of a process, using 
equipment in a manner other than that for which it was designed for in 
calculating emissions, or using a less accurate emission estimation method 
for a process when a facility has more accurate emission data available. 
Additional requirements for the use of a specific emission estimation 
method include: 

   A.  Continuous Emission Monitoring System (CEMS). 
    (I)  CEMS must be shown to have met applicable performance 

specifications during the period for which data is being 
presented. 

    (II)  CEMS data must be presented in the units which the system 
was designed to measure. Additional data sets used to 
extrapolate CEMS data must have equal or better reliability 
for such extrapolation to be acceptable. 

    (III)  When using CEMS data to estimate emissions, the data 
must include all parameters (i.e., emission rate, gas flow 
rate, etc.) necessary to accurately determine the emissions. 
CEMS data which does not include all the necessary 
parameters must be reviewed and approved by the director 
or local air pollution control authority before it may be used 
to estimate emissions; 

   B.  Stack tests. 
    (I)  Stack tests must be conducted on the specific equipment for 

which the stack test results are used to estimate emissions. 
    (II)  Stack tests must be conducted according to the methods 

cited in 10 CSR 10-6.030, unless an alternative method has 
been approved in advance by the director or local air 
pollution control authority. 

    (III)  Stack tests will not be accepted unless the choice of test 
sites and a detailed test plan have been approved in advance 
by the director or local air pollution control authority. 

    (IV)  Stack tests will not be accepted unless the director or local 
air pollution control authority has been notified of test dates 
at least thirty (30) days in advance and thus provided the 
opportunity to observe the testing.  This thirty (30)-day 
notification may be reduced or waived on a case-by-case 
basis by the director or local air pollution control authority. 

    (V)  Stack test results which do not meet all the criteria of parts 
(3)(B)2.B.(I)–(IV) of this rule may be acceptable for 
estimating emissions but must be submitted for review and 



 

approval by the director or local air pollution control 
authority on a case-by-case basis; and 

   C.  Other EPA documents may be used to estimate emissions if the 
emission factors are more appropriate or source specific than AP-
42 or FIRE. Newly developed EPA emission factors must be 
published by December 31 of the year for which the facility is 
submitting an emissions report. 

 (C)  Emission Data and Fee Auditing and Adjustment. 
  1.  The department may conduct detailed audits of emissions reports and 

supporting documentation as the director deems necessary. A minimum 
seven (7)-day notice must be provided to the installation to prepare 
documentation if this audit is done on-site. 

  2.  The department may make emission fee adjustments when any of the 
following applies— 

   A.  Clerical or arithmetic errors have been made;  
   B.  Submitted documentation is not supported by inspections or audits; 
   C.  Emissions estimates are modified as a result of emission 

verification or audits;  
   D.  Credit has been incorrectly applied for an emissions fee paid to a 

local air pollution control agency; or  
   E.  Emission estimation calculation varies from the methods described 

in subsection (3)(B) of this rule.  
  3.  The department is not limited by subparagraphs (3)(C)2.A.–E. of this rule 

in making emission fee adjustments. 
  4.  Adjustments to data and fees will be subject to a three (3)-year statute of 

limitations unless it is— 
   A.  Due to a willful failure to report emissions or fraudulent 

representation for which there shall be no statute of limitations; or 
   B.  Adjustment of emissions is based on a permitting action under 40 

CFR 52.21 for which an adjustment of fees is required to all years 
of emission data changed up to a maximum of ten (10) years. 40 
CFR 52.21 was promulgated as of July 1, 2018 and is hereby 
incorporated by reference as published by the Office of the Federal 
Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office 
Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. 
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or 
additions.  If approved, fees in effect at the time will be due, but no 
credit will be applied at the emission unit level. 

 (D)  Public Availability of Emission Data and Process Information. Any information 
obtained pursuant to the rule(s) of the Missouri Air Conservation Commission 
that would not be entitled to confidential treatment under 10 CSR 10-6.210 shall 
be made available to any member of the public upon request. 

 
(4)  Reporting and Record Keeping. All data collected and recorded in accordance with the 

provisions of this rule shall be retained by the owner or operator for not less than five (5) 
years after the end of the calendar year in which the data was collected, and all these 
records shall be made available upon the director’s request. 



 

 (A)  The owner or operator of an installation that is subject to this rule shall collect 
information as required in this section of the rule. The information required in the 
emissions report is listed in Table 3 of this rule. All data elements must be 
reported initially, and only changed data elements must be reported subsequently. 
To ensure permit consistency, the Air Pollution Control Program Emissions 
Inventory Unit will provide assistance to identify and quantify the data elements 
in Table 3 of this rule.  

 
 

TABLE 3. Data Elements 
   

1.   Inventory year 
2.   Contact name 
3.   Contact phone number 
4.   Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) County Code 
5.   Installation plant ID Code 
6.   Emission unit ID  
7.   Stack ID  
8.   Site name 
9.   Physical address 
10. Source Classification Code (SCC) 
11. Heat content (fuel) (annual average) 
12. Ash content (fuel) (annual average) 
13. Sulfur content (fuel) (annual average) 
14. Reportable pollutant 
15. Activity level/throughput  
16. Annual emissions 
17. Emission factor, with method 
18. Winter throughput (percent) 
19. Spring throughput (percent) 
20. Summer throughput (percent) 
21. Fall throughput (percent) 
22. Hr/day in operation 
23. Days/wk in operation 
24. Wks/yr in operation 
25. Stack height 
26. Stack diameter 
27. Exit gas temperature 
28. Exit gas velocity 
29. Exit gas flow rate 
30. Capture efficiency (percent) 
31. Control efficiency (percent) 
32. Control device type and ID 
33. Emission release point type 
34. Maximum Hourly Design Rate (MHDR) 

 

 (B)  Types and Frequency of Reporting. The requirements in this subsection are 
summarized in Table 4 of this rule. 

  1.  All sources (Part 70, intermediate, and small) must submit a Full 
Emissions Report for the first full calendar year of operation and, for point 
sources, a Full Emissions Report is required for an initial partial year of 
operation. 



 

  2.  Starting with reporting year 2011, subsequent years of operation reports or 
forms shall be submitted as follows: 

   A.  Part 70 sources must continue to submit a Full Emissions Report 
annually; 

   B.  Intermediate sources must submit a Full Emissions Report every 
third year after 2011 (subsequent years 2014, 2017, 2020, etc.) and 
may submit a Reduced Reporting Form in other years unless either 
or both of the following apply: 

    (I)  Any change in installation-wide emissions subject to fees 
of plus or minus five (5) tons or more since the last Full 
Emissions Report submitted requires a Full Emissions 
Report for that year; and 

    (II)  A construction permit action issued under 10 CSR 10-6.060 
section (5) or (6) requires a Full Emissions Report for the 
first full year the affected permitted equipment operates; 
and 

   C.  Small sources may submit a Reduced Reporting Form for all 
subsequent years after a Full Emissions Report unless either or 
both of the following apply: 

    (I)  Any change in installation-wide emissions subject to fees 
of plus or minus five (5) tons or more since the last Full 
Emissions Report submitted requires a Full Emissions 
Report for that year; and 

    (II)  A construction permit action issued under 10 CSR 10-6.060 
section (5) or (6) requires a Full Emissions Report for the 
first full year the affected permitted equipment operates. 

  3.  An installation may choose to complete a Full Emissions Report in any 
year.  

 
TABLE 4. Summary of Types and Frequency of Reporting 

 

  Emission Year 

Installation 
classification 

[2011]2020 
[2012]202

1 
[2013]202

2 
[2014]202

3 
[2015]202

4 
[2016]202

5 
[2017]202

6 

Years 
Beyond 
[2017]20

26* 

Part 70 
Full 

Emissions 
Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 
* 

Intermediate 
Full 

Emissions 
Report 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.B.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.B.) 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.B.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.B.) 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 
* 



 

Small 
Source 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 
Reporting 

Form 
(subpara-

graph 
(4)(B)2.C.) 

* 

*Reporting requirements for years beyond [2017]2026 are repeated in three (3)-year cycles. 
  (e.g. requirements for years [2018]2027, [2019]2028, and [2020]2029 are the same as years [2012]2021, 
[2013]2022, and [2014]2023 respectively) 
 

 (C)  Submittal Requirements. 
  1.  The Full Emissions Report shall be submitted either electronically via 

MoEIS, which requires Form 1.0 signed by an authorized company 
representative, or on Emissions Inventory Questionnaire (EIQ) paper 
forms on the frequency specified in Table 4 of this rule. Alternate methods 
of reporting the emissions, such as a spreadsheet file, can be submitted for 
approval by the director. 

  2.  An installation that does not submit a Full Emissions Report is required to 
submit a Reduced Reporting Form, which is due April 1 after each 
reporting year. 

  3.  The Full Emissions Report is due April 1 after each reporting year. If the 
Full Emissions Report is filed electronically via MoEIS, this due date is 
extended to May 1. 

  4.  The installation owner or operator of record on December 31 of the 
reporting year is responsible for the emissions report and associated fees 
for the entire reporting year. 

  5.  If there is no production from an installation in a reporting year, no 
emission fees are due for that year but notice of such status must be 
provided to the director in writing by the emissions report due date of 
April 1. 

  6.  If an installation is out of business, the final emissions report required will 
be for the full or partial year the installation went out of business. Notice 
of such status must be provided to the director in writing by the emissions 
report due date of April 1. 

 
(5)  Test Methods. (Not Applicable) 
 
AUTHORITY:  section 643.050, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed June 13, 1984, effective Nov. 12, 
1984. Amended: Filed April 2, 1987, effective Aug. 27, 1987. Amended: Filed May 14, 1993, 
effective Jan. 31, 1994. Amended: Filed Sept. 2, 1993, effective May 9, 1994. Amended: Filed 
May 15, 1995, effective Dec. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed May 15, 1997, effective Dec. 30, 1997. 
Amended: Filed May 12, 1998, effective Dec. 30, 1998. Amended: Filed May 14, 1999, effective 
Dec. 30, 1999. Amended: Filed April 6, 2000, effective Nov. 30, 2000. Amended: Filed June 1, 
2001, effective Dec. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Jan. 16, 2002, effective Aug. 30, 2002. Amended: 
Filed May 15, 2003, effective Dec. 30, 2003. Amended: Filed May 17, 2004, effective Dec. 30, 
2004. Amended: Filed May 16, 2005, effective Dec. 30, 2005. Amended: Filed May 11, 2006, 
effective Dec. 30, 2006. Amended: Filed May 14, 2007, effective Dec. 30, 2007. Amended: Filed 
May 19, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed Jan. 21, 2010, effective Sept. 30, 2010. 



 

Amended: Filed March 13, 2013, effective Oct. 30, 2013. Amended: Filed Sept. 2, 2014, effective 
March 30, 2015. Amended: Filed April 13, 2018, effective Jan. 30, 2019. Amended: Filed July 
15, 2020. 
 
PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will cost sixty one thousand four hundred eighty five 
dollars ($61,485) in FY 2022(calendar/emission year 2021). The proposed amendment will cost 
eighty six thousand seventy nine dollars ($86,079) in FY 2023 (calendar/emission years 2022 
and forward). The annual cost for each year beyond FY 2023 is eighty six thousand seventy nine 
dollars ($86,079) for the life of the rule. Note the attached fiscal note for assumptions that 
apply. 
 
PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will cost six hundred nine thousand one hundred 
ninety dollars ($609,190) in FY 2022 (calendar/emission year 2021). The proposed amendment 
will cost eight hundred fifty two thousand eight hundred sixty six dollars ($852,866) in FY 2023 
(calendar/emission year 2022). The proposed amendment will cost eight hundred twenty two 
thousand forty five dollars ($822,045) for each year beyond FY 2023 for the life of the rule. Note 
the attached fiscal note for assumptions that apply. 
 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  A public hearing 
on this proposed amendment will begin at 9:00 a.m., September 24, 2020. The public hearing 
will be held online with live video streaming available at https://dnr.mo.gov/videos/live.htm and 
by conference phone line at 866-289-6713. A recording of the public hearing will be available at 
https://dnr.mo.gov/env/apcp/macc.htm. Opportunity to be sworn in by the court reporter over the 
phone to give testimony at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person. Interested 
persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., October 1, 
2020. Send online comments via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules, 
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to Chief, Air Quality 
Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, 
PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  



 

 
 
 

FISCAL NOTE 
 

PRIVATE COST 
 
 
 

I. RULE NUMBER 
 

Rule Number and Name 
 
 

10 CSR 10-6.110 Reporting Emission Data, 
Emission Fees, and Process Information 

Type of Rulemaking 
 
 

Proposed Amendment 

 
 
II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT 
 

Estimate of the number of 
entities by class which 
would likely be affected 
by the adoption of the 
proposed rule action: 

Classification by types of the business entities 
which would likely be affected: 

Estimate in the aggregate 
as to the cost of compliance 
with the proposed rule 
action by the affected 
entities: 

1,900 sources would be 
affected by the adoption 
of the proposed rule 
action.  

All businesses with air pollution permits are 
affected. Sources with permits include those 
that have the potential to emit pollutants above 
specific thresholds. The types of activities that 
generate emissions include fuel combustion, 
painting and coating, processing and refining 
of minerals, and material handling that 
generates particulate emissions. 

The proposed rule will 
become effective in 2022, 
and the first emission fees 
due under the revised 
emission fee would be for 
the 2021 emission year. 
The estimated total cost to 
comply with the proposed 
rule change is $609,190 for 
emission year 2021, 
payable by June 1, 2022 
during fiscal year 2022, 
and $852,866 for emission 
year 2022, payable by June 
1, 2023 during fiscal year 
2023. The estimated cost is 
$822,045 for emission 
years 2023 and beyond, 
payable by June 1 of each 
following year.  

 

Two Digit SIC 
Category* 

Number 
of 
Facilities 

2018 Total 
Chargeable 
Emissions 
(tons) 

The combined ten-year 
total cost is $8,038,416. 
The rule will continue 
beyond the ten-year period 
at the same annual cost as 
emission year 2023, with 
no sunset provision.  



 

 01‐09: 
Agriculture, 
Forestry, and 
Fishing 

                    
40  336 

 

 

10‐14: Mining 
                    
344  2,163 

 

 15‐17: 
Construction 

                    
3  11 

 

 20‐39: 
Manufacturing 

                
1,004  52,179 

 

 40‐49: 
Transportation, 
Communication
s, Sanitary 
Services 

                    
169  70,781 

 

 50‐51: 
Wholesale 
Trade 

                    
187  1,030 

 

 52‐59: Retail 
Trade 

                    
2  4 

 

 60‐67: Finance, 
Insurance, and 
Real Estate 

                    
2  9 

 

 

70‐89: Services 
                    
149  812 

 

  90‐99: Public 
Administration   0  0 

 

 
Grand Total 

                
1,900   127,325 

 

*Two digit SIC classifications group businesses into large economic categories. Additional detailed 
information, down to the most‐specific four‐digit business classification, is available below.  
 
 
The list below is a selection of only the most impacted full SICs based on number of facilities or total 
2018 emission tonnage. 
SIC Group  Four Digit Detailed SIC  Number of 

Facilities 
2018 Total Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

01‐09: Agriculture  0724: Cotton Ginning  27  309 

10‐14: Mining  1422: Crushed and Broken 
Limestone 

304  1,805 

1442: Construction Sand and Gravel  19  38 

1446: Industrial Sand  6  93 

1031: Lead and Zinc Ores  9  164 

20‐39: Manufacturing  3241: Cement, Hydraulic  9  14,521 

3274: Lime  7  9,456 

3711: Motor Vehicles and 
Passenger Car Bodies (automobiles) 

3  3,153 

3273: Ready‐Mixed Concrete  270  549 



 

SIC Group  Four Digit Detailed SIC  Number of 
Facilities 

2018 Total Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2951: Asphalt Paving Mixtures and 
Blocks 

87  804 

40‐49: Transportation, 
Communications, 
Sanitary Services 

4911: Electric Services (fossil fuel 
power generation) 

38  63,330 

4953: Refuse Systems  55  600 

4922: Natural Gas Transmission  15  5,838 

50‐51: Wholesale Trade 

5171: Petroleum Bulk Stations and 
Terminals 

19  437 

5153: Grain and Field Beans  90  337 

5191: Farm Supplies  63  106 

70‐89: Services 

8062: General Medical and Surgical 
Hospitals 

31  315 

7389: Business Services (packaging 
and labeling) 

5  168 

7261: Funeral Services and 
Crematories 

77  75 

 
 
III. Worksheet 
 

SIC Description 
2021 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2021 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$53/ton 

2022 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2022 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$55/ton 

2023 Chargeable 
Emissions (and 
beyond, tons) 

2023 Emission Fee 
(and beyond) at 
proposed $55/ton  

Agriculture, 
Forestry, and 
Fishing                           336   $                 17,808                            336   $                 18,480                            336   $                 18,480  

Construction                             11   $                      583                              11   $                      605                              11   $                      605  

Finance, 
Insurance, and 
Real Estate                               9   $                      477                                9   $                      495                                9   $                      495  

Manufacturing                     53,353   $           2,827,709                      53,353   $           2,934,415                      53,353   $           2,934,415  

Mining                       2,163   $               114,639                        2,163   $               118,965                        2,163   $               118,965  

Public 
Administration - - - - - - 

Retail Trade                               4   $                      212                                4   $                      220                                4   $                      220  

Services                           812   $                 43,036                            812   $                 44,660                            812   $                 44,660  

Transportation, 
Communication, 
Sanitary Services                     64,120   $           3,398,360                      64,120   $           3,526,600                      59,717   $           3,284,435  

Wholesale Trade                       1,030   $                 54,590                        1,030   $                 56,650                        1,030   $                 56,650  

Grand Total                   121,838   $           6,457,414                    121,838   $           6,701,090                    117,435   $           6,458,925  

Emission Fees at 
$48/ton   $           5,848,224    $           5,848,224    $           5,636,880  

Net Emission 
Fee Increase   $               609,190    $               852,866    $               822,045  

 
Ten-year total emission fees: 

Emission Year 2021: $609,190 
Emission Year 2022: $852,866 
Emission Year 2023: $822,045 
Emission Year 2024: $822,045 
Emission Year 2025: $822,045 
Emission Year 2026: $822,045 
Emission Year 2027: $822,045 
Emission Year 2028: $822,045 



 

Emission Year 2029: $822,045 
Emission Year 2030: $822,045 

Total: $8,038,416 
 
Note: All figures are in current 2018 dollar values. No attempt is made to account for interest or inflation.  
IV. Assumptions 
 
 
The projection of chargeable emission tonnage includes the following assumptions: 

1. Emission fee remains at $48/ton for emission years 2019 and 2020. The proposed rule amendment will take 
effect for the 2021 emission year and forward, therefore those years include the proposed emission fee of 
$53/ton for emission year 2021, and $55/ton for emission years 2022 forward. 

2. Rule requirements for the calculation of emissions subject to fees (chargeable emissions) remain 
unchanged, including the pollutants subject to fees, the emission caps of 4,000 tons per pollutant and 
12,000 tons facility total, and facilities exempt from fees (charcoal kilns and facilities with no production 
and no emissions for the emission year). 

3. Actual emissions for the continuous emission year, corresponding to the calendar year January 1 to 
December 31, are reported by facilities subject to air permits, per 10 CSR 10-6.110. The emission estimates 
presented here are based on reported 2018 total chargeable emissions. 

4. Emission were projected for all facilities subject to emission fees in 2018. The beginning year for the 
projections is the 2018 emission year actual reported emissions from all facilities subject to the rule. For the 
largest emission sources, facility-specific emission projections reflect emission changes due to shutdowns 
and emission reductions between 2018 and 2023. All other facilities are assumed to operate through the 
period. The emission projection reflects one facility-specific emission decrease in the “Transportation, 
Communication, and Sanitary Service” sector. No estimates are added for new facilities that may open 
during the period.  All facility emissions are assumed at a constant level at their 2023 emissions beyond 
that year. 

5. Emission data for 2019 became available near the end of the rule analysis work, though some facilities did 
not complete their reports as of May 2020. The 2019 data has not been quality assured and was not used for 
these analyses. 

6. The total lifetime rule cost may be reported for rules in the fiscal note. Data is provided for the first ten-
year period, with annual data available in the worksheet above if projections are needed beyond ten years. 
Additional rule analyses are likely as this proposal does not fully meet program solvency needs, and the 
program is committed to working with fee stakeholders on future solvency issues. 

7. All categorization of facilities into private and public ownership are assumed to remain the same as in 
2018. No ownership changes from public to private, or vice versa, are expected. 

8. All SIC assignments in 2018 are assumed to remain the same in future years. 
 
  



 

 
FISCAL NOTE 

 
PUBLIC COST 

 
 
 

II. RULE NUMBER 
 

Rule Number and Name: 
 

10 CSR 10-6.110 Reporting Emission Data, 
Emission Fees, and Process Information 

Type of Rulemaking: 
 

Proposed Amendment 

 
 
II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT 
 

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision Estimated Cost of Compliance in the Aggregate 
 

The DNR will incur no additional costs to 
implement the proposed rule amendment. The 
electronic systems to collect emission data and 
emission fees for facilities subject to this rule will 
remain in place and require only one change to the 
fee per ton value. 

No cost to DNR 

State agencies subject to this rule include the 
Missouri Department of Corrections, the Missouri 
Department of Transportation, the Missouri 
Department of Health, and the Office of 
Administration. Other municipal entities that are 
subject include municipal fossil-fuel electric 
generating plants, wastewater treatment facilities, 
animal shelters with pet crematories, hospitals, law 
enforcement agencies with incinerators, levee 
districts, and universities. 

The resultant costs to state agencies and other 
municipal entities is $61,485 for emission year 
2021, payable by June 1, 2022 during fiscal year 
2022. The cost is $86,079 for emission year 2022, 
payable by June 1, 2023 during fiscal year 2023. 
The annual cost remains $86,079 for emission year 
2023 forward, payable by June 1 of each following 
year. 
The ten-year combined costs are $836,196. The rule 
will continue beyond the ten-year period at the same 
annual cost as emission year 2023, with no sunset 
provision. 

 
III.   Worksheet 
 
 

SIC Description 
2021 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2021 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$53/ton 

2022 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2022 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$55/ton 

2023 Chargeable 
Emissions (and 
beyond, tons) 

2023 Emission Fee 
(and beyond) at 
proposed $55/ton  

Agriculture, 
Forestry, and 
Fishing ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Construction ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Finance, 
Insurance, and 
Real Estate ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Manufacturing                           175    $                   9,275                             175    $                   9,625                             175    $                   9,625  

Mining ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Public 
Administration                           113    $                   5,989                             113    $                   6,215                             113    $                   6,215  

Retail Trade ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Services                       1,551    $                 82,203                         1,551    $                 85,305                         1,551    $                 85,305  



 

SIC Description 
2021 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2021 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$53/ton 

2022 Chargeable 
Emissions (tons) 

2022 Emission 
Fee at proposed 
$55/ton 

2023 Chargeable 
Emissions (and 
beyond, tons) 

2023 Emission Fee 
(and beyond) at 
proposed $55/ton  

Transportation, 
Communication, 
Sanitary Services                     10,458    $               554,274                       10,458    $               575,190                       10,458    $               575,190  

Wholesale Trade ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 

Grand Total                     12,297    $              651,741                       12,297    $              676,335                       12,297    $              676,335  

Emission Fees at 
$48/ton  

  
$              590,256  
   

 $              590,256  
   

$              590,256  
 

Net Emission 
Fee Increase   $               61,485    $               86,079    $              86,079  

 
Ten-year net increase in emission fees: 

Emission Year 2021: $61,485 
Emission Year 2022: $86,079 
Emission Year 2023: $86,079 
Emission Year 2024: $86,079 
Emission Year 2025: $86,079 
Emission Year 2026: $86,079 
Emission Year 2027: $86,079 
Emission Year 2028: $86,079 
Emission Year 2029: $86,079 
Emission Year 2030: $86,079 

Total: $836,196 
 
Note: All figures are in current 2018 dollar values. No attempt is made to account for interest or inflation. 
 
 
IV. Assumptions 
 
The projection of chargeable emission tonnage includes the following assumptions: 

1. Emission fee remains at $48/ton for emission years 2019 and 2020. The proposed rule amendment will take 
effect for the 2021 emission year and forward, therefore those years include the proposed emission fee of 
$53/ton for emission year 2021, and $55/ton for emission years 2022 forward. 

2. Rule requirements for the calculation of emissions subject to fees (chargeable emissions) remain 
unchanged, including the pollutants subject to fees, the emission caps of 4,000 tons per pollutant and 
12,000 tons facility total, and facilities exempt from fees (charcoal kilns and facilities with no production 
and no emissions for the emission year). 

3. Actual emissions for the continuous emission year, corresponding to the calendar year January 1 to 
December 31, are reported by facilities subject to air permits, per 10 CSR 10-6.110. The emission estimates 
presented here are based on reported 2018 total chargeable emissions. 

4. Emission projections were done for all facilities subject to emission fees in 2018. The beginning year for 
the projections is the 2018 emission year actual reported emissions from all facilities subject to the rule. For 
the largest emission sources, facility-specific emission projections reflect emission changes due to 
shutdowns and emission reductions between 2018 and 2023. All other facilities are assumed to operate 
through the period. No estimates are added for new facilities that may open during the period.  All facility 
emissions are assumed at a constant level at their 2023 emissions beyond that year. 

5. Emission data for 2019 became available near the end of the rule analysis work, though some facilities did 
not complete their reports as of May 2020. The 2019 data has not been quality assured and was not used for 
these analyses. 

6. The total lifetime rule cost may be reported for rules in the fiscal note. Data is provided for the first ten-
year period, with annual data available in the worksheet above if projections are needed beyond ten years. 
Additional rule analyses are likely as this proposal does not fully meet program solvency needs, and the 
program is committed to working with fee stakeholders on future solvency issues. 

7. All categorization of facilities into private and public ownership are assumed to remain the same as in 
2018. No ownership changes from public to private, or vice versa, are expected. 



 

8. All SIC assignments in 2018 are assumed to remain the same in future years. 
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