Geological Survey Program fact sheet
Missouri Geological Survey Director: Joe Gillman, RG
PUB2448

Requirements for Restricted Contractor Permit

  • Submit test application with $40 fee for general test to obtain test ID.
  • Take general open book test online anytime using mowells or in person at 111 Fairgrounds Road, Rolla, Missouri, on assigned date; must score at least 70%.
  • Submit contractor application with appropriate fee online or by mail.
  • A restricted permit is valid only for contracting work, consulting, or to be a primary contractor.
  • Renew permit and pay renewal fee online using mowells or by mail each year.
  • Renewals are $100 per year per permit type.
  • Permit cards may be printed from the website.

Requirements for Becoming an Apprentice Well Contractor

  • Applicant must secure a responsible party (non-restricted permittee) to sponsor the apprenticeship.
  • Submit test application with $40 fee for general test to obtain test ID.
  • Take open-book test online anytime using mowells or in person at 111 Fairgrounds Road, Rolla, Missouri, on assigned date; must score at least 70%.
  • Submit apprentice contractor application signed by the responsibly party with appropriate fee.
  • Must work as an apprentice for two years.
  • The required number of installations must be completed for each respective permit type as specified in 10 CSR 23-1.050:
    • 25 water wells.
    • 25 pump installations.
    • 10 heat pump systems.
    • 20 monitoring wells, 20 temporary monitoring well sites, or a combination.
    • 10 public or high yield wells.
    • 10 public or high yield well pump installations.
  • Work must be supervised by a non-restricted permittee with the same type of permit until the required number of installations has been met.
  • Apprenticeship is transferrable if contractor changes companies or responsible party.
  • Renewals are $100 per year per permit type.
  • At the end of the two-year apprenticeship and upon completion of all requirements listed in 10 CSR 23-1.050 with no violations against the apprentice’s permit, the apprentice may apply for a non-restricted contractor permit. If requirements have not been met, the apprenticeship must be renewed annually. If the required number of installations has been met, the apprentice may post a bond in lieu of the remainder of the two-year apprenticeship period.

Requirements for Nonrestricted Contractor Permit

  • Submit test application with $40 fee for each specific test.
  • Take specific closed-book test in person at 111 Fairgrounds Road, Rolla, Missouri, on assigned date; must score at least 70% on each test.
  • Completion of the two-year apprenticeship program if applicable.
  • Submit contractor application with appropriate fee online or by mail.
  • Renew permit online and pay permit fee using mowells or by mail each year.
  • Renewals are $100 per year per permit type.
  • Permit cards and registration cards for vehicles may be printed from the website.

Nothing in this document may be used to implement any enforcement action or levy any penalty unless promulgated by rule under chapter 536 or authorized by statute.


For more information