Geological Survey Program fact sheet
Missouri Geological Survey Director: Joe Gillman, RG
PUB2494

Records may be submitted, permits renewed or vehicles may be registered online.

Certification Fees

Heat Pump
      Closed Loop (1-50 tons) ............................................................................ $125
      Closed Loop (more than 50 tons) .............................................................. $225
      Open Loop (per system, submit on water well form) ............................... $125

Monitoring Well ............................................................................................... $125
Water Well ....................................................................................................... $125

Registration Fees

Reconstruction ................................................................................................ $100
      No fee is required for raising the casing, however, a form must be submitted.

Plugging .......................................................................................................... $  50
      Applies to heat pump, monitoring well, public water well and soil borings (one form per site).
      All other wells are exempt from the plugging fee, however, they are subject to late fee schedule.

Late Fees – Late certification or registration records

A fee of $10 per month with a maximum of $240 per record will be charged for late records.

Missouri Well Construction Rules

Well Construction Rules - Secretary of State

Downhole Camera Fee

A $375 fee will be charged to scope a well that does not meet investigation requirements.

Permit Fees

Permit fees are $100 each for the following: heat pump, monitoring well, pump and water well. Vehicle registration fees are $50 each for the following: drill rigs, pump trucks and service vehicles. All permit fees and vehicle registration fees must be renewed by October 1 annually.

Permit Late Fees – Late Permit Renewals

A 40% late fee will be charged to all permits if not paid by October 1. Permits will be cancelled if not renewed by October 31. Vehicle registration fees are not assessed a late fee. 

Testing Fees

All tests are $50 for each type of test taken. Tests include: general test, specific heat pump test, specific monitoring well test, specific monitoring well test hole test, specific pump test and specific water well test. All retakes are $50.

Testing Site

All specific tests for non-restricted permits must be taken at the Missouri Geological Survey's Annex Building, 1251 Gale Drive, Rolla. General tests for restricted and apprentice permits may be taken at the Rolla location or online using the MoDNR Well Installation Online Services app.


Nothing in this document may be used to implement any enforcement action or levy any penalty unless promulgated by rule under chapter 536 or authorized by statute.


For more information