Dedicated to helping local governments address their community’s environmental needs

GovDelivery logo


Visit the Gateway for Community Assistance to find online environmental compliance and infrastructure planning tools and resources.The Department of Natural Resources wants to help local governments easily access assistance and resources to make informed decisions about environmental protection for their community. Assistance is available online and from specialized staff in our regional offices.

Visit the Gateway for Community Assistance to find online environmental compliance and infrastructure planning tools and resources.

Community Assistance staff offer support and coaching to local governments responsible for drinking water, wastewater treatment, stormwater management, solid waste management and other environmental issues. Coordinators may help by:

  • Answering questions and providing one-on-one assistance on specific environmental issues.
  • Helping communities find resources such as technical assistance, grants and loans, and training.
  • Assisting small communities, with limited staff and resources, to develop plans to address their drinking water and wastewater infrastructure needs.

Find Your Region’s Community Assistance Coordinator

Mary Culler, Northeast Region Community Assistance Coordinator
Counties served: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Cooper, Grundy, Howard, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Moniteau, Monroe, Osage, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, and Sullivan.

Leigh Mitchell, Kansas City Region Community Assistance Coordinator
Counties served: Andrew, Atchison, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Harrison, Henry, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Nodaway, Pettis, Platte, Ray and Worth.

Tracy Haag, St. Louis Region Community Assistance Coordinator
Counties served: Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, Lincoln, Montgomery, St. Charles, St. Louis, Warren and St. Louis City.

Paden Grant, Southeast Region Community Assistance Coordinator
Counties served: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Maries, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Texas, Washington and Wayne.

Andrew Schiller, Southwest Region Community Assistance Coordinator
Counties served: Barry, Barton, Camden, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster and Wright.

For more information about assistance for local governments, contact the department’s statewide Community Assistance Coordinator toll free at 800-361-4827, or email us at