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Solid Waste Permits
Missouri Department of Natural Resources 
Division of Environmental Quality  
Solid Waste Management Program 
P.O. Box 176 
Jefferson City, MO  65102-0176 
573-751-5401 or contact your nearest regional office.

Infectious Waste Processing Facility 
Construction Permit
Regulated Activities:  The construction of off-site infectious waste treatment or processing 
facilities. If the treatment or processing facility is a hospital as defined in Chapter 197, RSMo, it 
may be exempt from permit requirements.

Fees: The application fee is $1,000. The application also must reimburse the department for all 
reasonable costs incurred by the agency in the course of the permit review, to a maximum of 
$4,000.

Required Documents: A completed application form, design and operating plans and 
specifications, and history of past environmental violations. In addition, air pollution or water 
pollution permits may be required. Forms are available by calling the Solid Waste Management 
Program at 573-751-5401.

Length of Permit:  Coincides with the facility’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time:	 6 to 12 months

Public Participation: Public notice required; public hearing upon request.

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-2.010, 80-2.020, 80-2.070, 80-5.010 and 80-7.010

Operating Permit 
Regulated Activities: The operation of infectious waste processing facilities.

Fees: Not applicable

Required Documents: Quality assurance/quality control documents and owner certification 
form. Forms are available by calling the Solid Waste Management Program at 573-751-5401.

Length of Permit: Coincides with the processing facility’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time:  60 days

Public Participation:	 Not applicable

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-2.020
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Scrap Tire End-User Registration
Regulated Activities: The use of scrap tires as a fuel or as a useable product, including baled 
or compressed tires used in structures, recreational facilities or for erosion control.  
Prior approval is required if more than 100 scrap tires are used for any purpose.

Fees: None

Required Documents: Registration Using the Scrap Tire End-User Registration Form, Form 
-- MO 780-1594, is available online at www.dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1594-f.pdf. Inventory of 
unprocessed scrap tires cannot exceed the number that can be used in six months and the 
inventory of processed tires cannot exceed two times that of the unprocessed tires. All required 
materials are to be submitted by certified mail to Missouri Department of Natural Resources 
Solid Waste Management Program, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0176.

Length of Permit: Issued for the life of the facility.

Average Processing Time:	 One to four weeks

Public Participation: Not required

Applicable Statutes: 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-8.060

Scrap Tire Hauler Permit
Regulated Activities: Hauling scrap tires for consideration or commercial profit. A person who 
is hauling scrap tires generated at their own business or residence is not required to obtain a 
permit to haul scrap tires, provided such transportation is done using their own employees and 
vehicles.

Fees: The permit application fee is $100

Required Documents: A completed application form. Forms are available by calling Missouri 
Department of Transportation’s Motor Carrier Services Unit at 573-751-3358 or 866-831-6277 
and select option 3. All required materials are to be submitted to the Missouri Department of 
Transportation’s Motor Carrier Services Unit. 

Length of Permit: One year

Average Processing Time:	 2 to 4 weeks

Public Participation:	 Not required

Applicable Statutes: 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-8.030
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Scrap Tire Processing Facility Permit
Regulated Activities: Processing (shredding, cutting, chipping or otherwise altering) scrap tires 
for recycling, resource recovery or disposal. A permit is required if more than 24 tires are on-site 
at any time.

Fees: The permit application fee is $200 and the applicant must reimburse the department for 
all reasonable costs incurred by the department in the course of the application review to a 
maximum of $2,000. 

Required Documents: A completed Scrap Tire Processing Facility Permit Application,  
Form -- MO 780-1597 available online at www.dnr.mo.gov/forms/780-1597-f.pdf, site and 
operational plans, fire protection plan, site control plan, inventory information, vector control and 
record keeping plans. Inventory of unprocessed scrap tires cannot exceed the number that can 
be processed in six months and the inventory of processed tires cannot exceed two times that of 
the unprocessed tires. Estimated inventory shall be based upon the capacity of the processing 
equipment or on the volume processed in the previous year. In addition, permits from the Water 
Pollution Control Program and Air Pollution Control Program may be required. All required 
materials are to be submitted by certified mail to Missouri Department of Natural Resources 
Solid Waste Management Program, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0176.

Length of Permit: Issued for the life of the facility, but can be reopened for review or 
modification.

Average Processing Time: Six to 12 months

Public Participation: Not required

Applicable Statutes:	 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-8.050
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Solid Waste Disposal Area Construction Permit
Regulated Activities: The construction of solid waste disposal facilities accepting waste 
from any commercial, industrial, recreational or governmental operation or from more than 
one residence. Certain limited solid waste disposal activities may be exempt from permit 
requirements [Reference 10 CSR 80-2.020 (9) (A) and (B)].

Fees:	 The application fee is $2,000. The applicant also must reimburse the department for all 
reasonable costs incurred by the department in the course of the permit review, to a maximum 
of $8,000.

Required Documents: A completed application form, site geologic and hydrologic approval 
from the Division of Geology and Land Survey design and operating plans and specifications, 
demonstration of compliance with all applicable local planning and zoning requirements, closure 
financial assurance instrument and history of past environmental violations. In addition, a water 
pollution permit will be required and an air pollution permit may be required. Forms are available 
by calling the Solid Waste Management Program at 573-751-5401. The Division of Geology and 
Land Survey office number is 573-368-2100 (Rolla).

Length of Permit: Coincides with the disposal area’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time: 10 to 12 months

Public Participation:	 Public notice, public awareness session, community involvement session 
and public hearing on draft permit required.

Applicable Statutes:	 RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-1.010 through 80-4.010 and 10 CSR 80-11.010

Solid Waste Disposal Area Operating Permit
Regulated Activities: The operation of solid waste disposal area.

Fees: Not applicable

Required Documents: Quality assurance/quality control documents and owner certification 
form. Forms are available by calling the Solid Waste Management Program at 573-751-5401. 
A post-closure financial assurance instrument.

Length of Permit: Coincides with the disposal area’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time: 60 days

Public Participation:	 Not applicable

Applicable Statutes:	 RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-2.020
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Solid Waste Processing Facility Construction Permit
Regulated Activities: The construction of solid waste processing facilities. These are facilities 
such as incinerators, material recovery facilities and transfer stations where solid wastes are 
salvaged, processed or treated. Certain limited solid waste processing activities may be exempt 
from permit requirements [Reference 10 CSR 80-2.020 (9) (A)].

Fees:	 The application fee is $1,000. The applicant also must reimburse the department for all 
reasonable costs incurred by the department in the course of the permit review to a maximum  
of $4,000.

Required Documents: A completed application form, design and operating plans and 
specifications and history of past environmental violations. In addition, air pollution or water 
pollution permits may be required. Forms are available by calling the Solid Waste Management 
Program at 573-751-5401.

Length of Permit: Coincides with the facility’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time: 6 to 12 months

Public Participation:	 Public notice required; public hearing upon request.

Applicable Statutes:	 RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-1.010, 80-2.010, 80-2.020, 80-2.080 and 80-5.010

Solid Waste Processing Facility Operating Permit
Regulated Activities: The operation of solid waste processing facilities.

Fees: Not applicable

Required Documents: Quality assurance/quality control documents and owner certification 
form.

Length of Permit: Coincides with the processing facility’s anticipated life.

Average Processing Time: 60 days

Public Participation: Not applicable

Applicable Statutes: RSMo 260.200 through 260.345

Applicable Rules: 10 CSR 80-2.020




