Natural Disaster Assistance for Missouri Citizens - How to Properly Dispose of Sandbags

Department of Natural Resources fact sheet
Department of Natural Resources Director: Carol S. Comer

Disposal of Sandbags after Flooding

The department is providing the following guidance for handling sandbags after a flood:

For more information contact the department’s Waste Management Program at 573-751-5401 or the Department or regional office in your area (see list below).

Central Field Operations Office
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
573-522-3522 fax
Counties served: Camden, Cole, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Phelps, and Pulaski.

Regional Offices
The Department of Natural Resources’ Regional Offices provide field inspections, complaint investigation and front-line troubleshooting, problem solving and compliance assistance on environmental issues and emergencies.

Kansas City Regional Office
500 NE Colbern Road
Lee’s Summit, MO 64086-4710
816-622-7044 fax
Counties served: Andrew, Atchison, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Clinton, DeKalb, Gentry, Henry, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Nodaway, Platte, Ray, and Worth.

Northeast Regional Office
1709 Prospect Dr.
Macon, MO 63552-2602
660-385-8090 fax
Counties served: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Caldwell, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cooper, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Howard, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Monroe, Pettis, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, and Sullivan.

Southeast Regional Office
2155 N. Westwood Blvd.
P.O. Box 1420
Poplar Bluff, MO 63901
573-840-9754 fax
Counties served: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Texas, Washington, and Wayne.

Southwest Regional Office
2040 W. Woodland
Springfield, MO 65807-5912
417-891-4399 fax
Counties served: Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster, and Wright.

St. Louis Regional Office
7545 S. Lindbergh, Suite 210
St. Louis, MO 63125
314-416-2970 fax
Counties served: Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, Lincoln, Montgomery, St. Charles, St. Louis, Warren, and St. Louis City.