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Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program  
Frequently Asked Questions  
 
Division of Energy fact sheet                                        9/2010 

 
 

For more information about the  
Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program: 
 

• Please visit the program Web site at www.MissouriApplianceRebate.com. 
• Call our toll-free consumer information line at: 877-541-4848.  

The line is available from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday. 
• Send e-mail to:  staterebate@tmrinc.com. 
 
Retailers or installation contractors with questions concerning the rebate program may 
visit the web at Retail.MissouriApplianceRebate.com, or by calling 877-233-1682. 
 

 

What is the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program? 
Under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, or Recovery Act, the U.S. Department of 
Energy is providing funds for the State Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate program, or SEEARP. 
Missouri was allocated $5.67 million in Recovery Act funds to participate in this program. The 
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Division of Energy will use these funds to establish 
new appliance rebate programs or to augment existing state programs. Every state has specific 
energy needs, so rebate programs may look different from state to state.  The department’s 
Division of Energy will administer rebates to consumers for purchasing ENERGY STAR® 
qualified home appliances. This state rebate is in addition to any rebate program your local 
utility may offer.  
 

Who is eligible for the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program? 
Only full-time Missouri residents are eligible for the program. There is no income limit for the 
program. Homeowners must be 18 years of age or older and must purchase the new appliances 
from participating Missouri retailers or installation contractors, not online. The program is 
intended primarily for homeowners, with not more than one rebate per appliance category 
allowed for each household.  If a homeowner owns more than one house, each address is 
eligible for the appliance rebates provided the second home is a residence and not rental 
property.  The U.S. Department of Energy requires the states to restrict the program to the 
replacement of existing appliances.  Therefore, the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate 
Program will not be able to provide rebates to homeowners who have built a new home and will 
need new appliances for the home.  The program can, however, issue a rebate to replace an 
existing clothes washer that was moved to the new home. 
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Rental Property Owners or Commercial Enterprises 
The Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program does not apply to rental property owners or 
commercial enterprises. The guidance provided to the states by the DOE was very specific that 
the program is intended for personal use in a residence and is not to be used for commercial 
purchase. They believe commercial business owners have other opportunities to save money at 
retailers that are not available to regular consumers.  
 
Renters 
Renters only qualify for the purchase of an ENERGY STAR qualified clothes washer since other 
major appliances are provided by the rental property owner.  
 
When will the appliance replacement rebate program begin in 
Missouri and how long will it last?  
The Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program reservation process will require a rebate 
reservation. The rebate reservation process will use a two-phased approach.  
• April 19, 2010 – The reservation system opened for participating appliance retailers and 

installation contractors. Consumers may go to a participating retailer or installation 
contractor to reserve a rebate and make an ENERGY STAR appliance purchase.  

• April 21, 2010 – The consumer reservation system opened for consumers to go online or 
call toll-free to reserve a rebate.  A limited number of rebates were available.  However, on 
July 1, consumers were no longer able to reserve rebates online or through the toll-free 
number. Remaining rebates are only available through participating retailers and installation 
contractors. 

 
The rebate program will continue as long as federal funds remain to support it. The state has 
until February 2012 to distribute the rebate money.  

 
Am I guaranteed a rebate if I purchase an appliance during the 
program open period?  
No, the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program is unable to guarantee a rebate.  The 
program will provide rebates for ENERGY STAR appliances on a first-come, first-served basis 
until funds are depleted.  
 
What is the purpose of this program?  
The Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program is designed to assist consumers in replacing 
inefficient appliances with those that use less energy and water. This program was funded 
through the Recovery Act to stimulate the economy by encouraging consumers to purchase 
new appliances. Purchasing new appliances will help create jobs for appliance manufacturers 
and retail stores. The program is also designed to encourage consumers to save energy and to 
lower their monthly bills through the use of more efficient appliances.  
 
What is the ENERGY STAR program? 
ENERGY STAR is a joint program of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, or EPA, and 
the U.S. Department of Energy, or DOE, designed to help consumers save money and protect 
the environment through energy efficient products and practices. These appliances are 
designed to use less energy and less water than regular appliances and help the consumer 
save money each month on their utility bills.  
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What is an ENERGY STAR appliance and where can I find them? 
ENERGY STAR qualified products are marked with the blue ENERGY STAR logo. Residents 
must purchase their new ENERGY STAR appliance from a participating retailer or installation 
contractor in Missouri.  Consumers can not order the new appliances online. For more 
information on ENERGY STAR, visit: www.energystar.gov. 
 

What appliances will be covered and what are the rebate amounts? 
The Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program will issue rebates for the following items that 
are ENERGY STAR qualified.  The rebates will not cover the cost of proper installation, only the 
appliance cost.  Purchases of appliances and equipment prior to the start of the program will not 
be eligible for rebates.  The program will not issue rebates for semi-used ENERGY STAR 
appliances.  The appliances must be new and not previously used.  Eligible ENERGY STAR 
appliances include: 
 

Appliance Category Rebate Amount 
Space Heating: 
     Gas Furnaces 

 
$250 

 
Water Heaters: 
     Water Heaters – Gas Storage 

 
$150 

 
Clothes Washers: 
     Clothes Washers 

 
$125 

 
Dishwashers: 
     Dishwashers (tabletop models not included) 

 
$125 

 

 
Why are refrigerators, freezers and room air conditioners not included 
in the program? 
There are a variety of reasons why the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program does not 
include several of the white goods and room air conditioners.  Some of these include the 
following: 
• One of the largest users of energy in a single family home is the Heating, Ventilation Air 

Conditioning system, or HVAC. Replacing older HVAC systems with ENERGY STAR units 
can provide the single largest increase in a home’s energy efficiency, and subsequently the 
largest cost savings. 

• Many utilities also have rebate programs of $200-$400 for the installation of high efficiency 
HVAC systems. If a homeowner qualifies for both, the savings on purchase is significantly 
increased. For a list of utility incentives, visit www.dsireusa.org. 

• Replacing old HVAC systems is not only a matter of money; it can be a matter of safety. 
Older units can have undetected defects (such as a cracked heat exchanger) that can be 
extremely dangerous.  Providing a significant rebate program may help some Missourians 
make the decision to replace older furnaces. 

• The cost differential between ENERGY STAR qualified and traditional HVAC systems is 
much greater than the difference between ENERGY STAR and nonrated white goods. This 
means without a rebate it is more difficult for consumers to upgrade to an ENERGY STAR 
labeled HVAC system. 
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• The cost differential between ENERGY STAR qualified and traditional clothes washers and 
dishwashers is much greater than the difference between ENERGY STAR and nonrated 
refrigerators, freezers and room air conditioners. This means without a rebate it is more 
difficult for consumers to upgrade to an ENERGY STAR qualified clothes washer and 
dishwasher than to upgrade to an ENERGY STAR qualified refrigerator, freezer or room air 
conditioner. 

• In the case of clothes washers and dishwashers, jobs may also be associated with 
installations. Clothes washers and dishwashers rated higher on actual replacement of an 
existing similar appliance. Upon review of existing Missouri utility rebates, clothes washers 
and dishwashers also rated higher in number of rebates available from these other sources. 
Higher ENERGY STAR criteria were also recently issued for clothes washers and 
dishwashers. Additionally, in consideration of the launch date, the department focused on a 
limited selection of appliance types, in order to avoid creating a lag time in sales for 
manufacturers and retailers for many different appliance types. 

• There are no clothes dryers that currently qualify for the ENERGY STAR label. 
• Some ENERGY STAR qualified appliances not eligible for Missouri's appliance rebate 

program (such as refrigerators and freezers) were eligible for sales tax reductions during 
the Show-me Green Sales Tax Holiday that occurred on April 19-25.  For information on the 
sales tax holiday, visit http://www.dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/taxholiday/green/faq.htm. 

 

Does the appliance we are replacing have to be older than a certain 
date? Or be a certain size? Or be below a certain efficiency level?  
No. The purchased appliance must be full-sized according to industry standard and ENERGY 
STAR qualified. 

 
How much energy can I save when I replace a used appliance with a 
new ENERGY STAR-qualified model? 
Energy savings will depend on the specific appliance and model being replaced, but new 
ENERGY STAR appliances are designed to save more energy than those manufactured years 
ago. For example, replacing a clothes washer made before 2000 with a new ENERGY STAR 
model can save up to $135 per year. The Web site www.energystar.gov has savings calculators 
and other tools to show how much energy you can save with a variety of household appliances.  

 
Can consumers combine the rebate with other incentives, such as the 
federal tax credit or a utility rebate? 
A consumer can combine a state rebate with the federal tax credit for the same product, as long 
as the purchase qualifies under the rules of both programs and is not specifically excluded. 
Consumers may also be able to combine the state rebate with a local utility rebate, but eligibility 
should be verified with both organizations. For more information on additional incentives and 
rebates, please see the Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency. 
 
Are there any other sources of rebates or tax credits?  
• Federal tax credits:  for federal tax credit information, please visit 

www.energystar.gov/taxcredits.  
 
• Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday – The Department of Natural Resources launched the 

Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program on April 19, 2010, to run concurrently with 
the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday. The sales tax holiday ran April 19-25.  Information 
on the sales tax holiday is available on the Missouri Department of Revenue’s website at 
http://www.dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/taxholiday/green/faq.htm.  
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• Missouri State Income Tax Deduction for Home Energy Audits -- a state income tax 
deduction for qualified home energy audits and the recommendations of those audits began 
with the 2009 tax year. To qualify for the deduction, the home energy audit must be 
performed by an energy auditor certified by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources. 
Missouri taxpayers who have had a qualifying audit performed on their home may claim an 
individual income tax deduction for the cost of the energy audit and the cost of 
implementing energy-efficiency recommendations contained in the audit. The maximum 
deduction is $1,000 per year, or $2,000 cumulatively for multiple years. 

 
• Manufacturer’s rebates -- To find out about any available manufacturer’s rebates, please 

visit www.energystar.gov , click on Products, and then click on Special Offers (green bar on 
the right). Enter your zip code for additional information. 

 
Is there a recycling or turn in requirement for old appliances?  
Only purchases that replace an existing appliance are eligible for a rebate. See the ENERGY 
STAR Recycling page for more information on appliance recycling. Consumer applying for 
rebates must provide proof that their old unit was taken out of service and properly recycled. 
 
Consumers have several options to provide this proof.  

1. Statement from the participating retailer or installation contractor indicating pick-up and 
recycling of the replaced appliance. 

2. Receipt from a recycling center where a consumer can drop off. 
3. Receipt from appliance turn-in event, indicating the type of appliance turned in, signature 

of person receiving the appliance, and date and location of event. 
 

Where can I find a list of recycling facilities to recycle my old 
appliance? 
A list of Major Appliance Collection Services in Missouri Communities recycling facilities is 
available on the department’s Web site at dnr.mo.gov/env/swmp/docs/appliance-collection.pdf. 
 

How do I apply for the rebate?  
Missouri launched the Energize Missouri Appliance Rebate Program on April 19, 2010. The 
participating retailers or installation contractors will provide a paper rebate application that must 
be mailed along with the original purchase receipt and verification of the old appliance being 
recycled. Most stores will provide you with two receipts, one to save for warranty work and the 
other to use for the rebate. It should take 4-6 weeks for rebates to be processed and sent to 
those eligible.   
 
I’m an appliance retailer or installation contractor. How do I register to 
become a participating partner? How do I know what models fall 
under your rebate program? 
Participation is limited to retailers and installation contractors located in the state of Missouri and 
who have registered with the program. Those interested in registering can do so online at 
Retail.MissouriApplianceRebate.com or by phoning 877-233-1682. Registrations began on 
March 31, 2010.  
 
All active ENERGY STAR models for the appliance categories listed above in this document will 
qualify for rebate eligibility. For a complete listing go to www.energystar.gov.  

 


