Water Protection Program fact sheet
Division of Environmental Quality Director: Ed Galbraith

Statute/Authority: Statute 644.021

Number of Members: 7

Number of Members Appointed by the Governor: 7

Is Senate Confirmation Required? Yes.

Membership Composition: All members shall be representative of the general interest of the public and shall have an interest in and knowledge of conservation and the effects and control of water contaminants. All members shall have demonstrated an interest and knowledge about water quality. Two members, but no more than two, shall be knowledgeable concerning the needs of agriculture, industry or mining and interested in protecting these needs in a manner consistent with the purposes of sections 644.006 to 644.141. One such member shall be knowledgeable concerning the needs of publicly owned wastewater treatment works. Four members shall represent the public.

Terms: Four years and until successors are selected and qualified. Political Affiliation: No more than four from the same political party. Compensation: Reasonable and necessary expenses.

Geographic Consideration: None specified.

Responsibilities of the Commission/Members: Exercise general supervision of the administration and enforcement of the Missouri Clean Water Law; Develop comprehensive plans and programs for the prevention, control and abatement of new or existing sources of pollution; develop Missouri’s Water Quality Standards and administer other clean water regulations; develop Missouri’s list of impaired waters; issue permits limiting the discharge of pollutants into the state’s waters; decide matters brought on appeal; administer variance requests; take enforcement action against those who violate the Missouri Clean Water Law and implementing regulations; certification of operators of municipal wastewater facilities and the largest Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation waste management systems; oversee financial assistance to protect and preserve water quality; develop the Nonpoint Source Management.

Plan outlining Missouri’s approach to addressing nonpoint problems; maintain a Continuing Planning Process that brings together and coordinates all aspects of water pollution control in an effort to assure the state maintains progress toward protecting and preserving water quality.

Staff Contact:
Chris Wieberg
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Staff Assistant Contact:
Susan Borton
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Attorney General Office Contact:
Thais Folta
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176

Frequency of Meetings and Location(s): Quarterly held in Jefferson City.

Time Expended by Commissioners for Meetings and Preparation Thereof:
Meetings 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. (4 to 5 hours)
Preparation/Review of Material (varies) = averages 10 hours/meeting.

Requirements for Inclusion of Items on Agenda: Submission to staff assistant.

Public Comment Opportunities at Meetings:  30 day comment period required by law or allowed to comment during the public comment agenda item.