News Release 318

Department of Natural Resources grants, extends waivers aiding continued cleanup from spring, summer disasters

Volume 39-318 (For Immediate Release)
For more information: 573-751-1010

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo., SEPT. 19, 2011 – The Missouri Department of Natural Resources is waiving or extending previous waivers of specific solid waste and air pollution regulations related to the cleanup of communities affected by flooding and severe weather that hit sections of the state this spring and summer.

Department of Natural Resources’ Director Sara Parker Pauley issued a waiver Friday outlining the allowed handling of vegetative and appliance waste in 10 Missouri River counties affected by flooding that began June 1. The new waiver affects cleanup in Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Cooper, Holt, Lafayette, Platte, Ray and Saline counties.

Director Pauley also extended similar waivers previously granted to counties affected by spring flooding across southern Missouri and severe storm damage including damage done by the Joplin and Sedalia tornadoes.

All of the waivers granted or extended on Friday will be in effect until Dec. 15.

Copies of the waivers, including specific regulations being waived, fact sheets on proper disposal of storm debris and other related information are available on the department’s natural disaster resources web page: Specific questions concerning storm cleanup should be addressed to the appropriate Department of Natural Resources regional office. Service areas and contact information for each of the department’s five regional offices is available online: