News Release 309
Visitor center at Arrow Rock State Historic Site celebrates 20th anniversary with special programs Sept. 17
Volume 39-309 (For Immediate Release)
For more information: 573-751-1010
JEFFERSON CITY, MO., SEPT.9, 2011 -- Arrow Rock State Historic Site in Arrow Rock will celebrate the 20th anniversary of its visitor center and September as Archaeology Month with special programs on Saturday, Sept. 17. The ceremonies begin at 10 a.m. in the site's visitor center.
During the ceremony, remarks will be provided by Jim Mathewson, who served as state Senator when the visitor center was built, and Bill Bryan, director of Missouri State Parks, a division of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources. Refreshments will be provided.
At 11 a.m. Michael Dickey, Arrow Rock State Historic Site administrator, will present a program on Missouria American Indians. Missouria is translated to "People of the River Mouth" and both the state and the Missouri River were named after them. Dickey, who wrote the book The People of the River's Mouth: In Search of the Missouria Indians, will be available to sign copies of the book after the presentation.
The visitor center at Arrow Rock, which opened in September 1991, showcases exhibits and artifacts of the village of Arrow Rock and the region historically known as the Boonslick Country.
Arrow Rock State Historic Site is located at 39521 Visitor Center Drive in Arrow Rock. For more information about the site or the program, call the site directly at 660-837-3330 or the Missouri Department of Natural Resources toll free at 800-334-6946 (voice) or 800-379-2419 (Telecommunications Device for the Deaf). For information on state parks and historic sites, visit mostateparks.com.