News Release 518

Clean Water Commission to vote on state’s impaired waters list

Volume 38-518 (For Immediate Release)
Contact: Larry Archer

JEFFERSON CITY, MO, SEPT. 3, 2010—The Missouri Clean Water Commission will meet Sept. 8 to discuss and vote on the proposed Missouri impaired waters list, often referred to as the 303(d) list.

The Clean Water Commission will meet at 9 a.m., Sept. 8 at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Conference Center, 1730 E. Elm St., Jefferson City.     At the meeting, the Department of Natural Resources will present the proposed impaired waters list to the commission and request that they approve the proposed list as it is or with any changes they deem necessary.  If approved by the commission, the department will then submit the list to the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval.

The Department of Natural Resources will later be required to develop a plan to improve water quality for each waterbody on the final impaired waters list.  The state is required by the federal Clean Water Act to develop and submit the list to EPA every two years.  The commission will also vote on the Listing Methodology Document for the development of the 2012 impaired waters list. 

The agenda also includes a variance request by the Empire District Asbury Power Plant in Jasper County.   If approved, the variance would give the Asbury Power Plant additional time to make upgrades in order to meet water quality standards and to study the local effects of their effluent on Blackberry Creek for the purpose of developing site-specific water quality criteria.

Other items on the agenda include routine reports from department staff regarding financial assistance, permits, operations and enforcement actions. Citizens will have an opportunity to address the commission during open session.

People requiring special services or who wish to speak at the commission meeting can make arrangements by calling 800-361-4827 or 573-751-1300 or by writing to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Clean Water Commission Secretary, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0176. Hearing-impaired individuals may contact the program through Relay Missouri at 800-735-2966.

The commission is a seven-member citizen's board that is appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state Senate. The department provides staff support to the commission. The Clean Water Commission adopts rules and regulations and advises the department on various water issues. 

For more information or a complete meeting agenda, contact Malinda Steenbergen at the Department of Natural Resources at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-6721 or visit the department's website at