Missouri Safe Drinking Water Commission meets Feb. 3

For more information: 573-751-1010
Volume 37-011 For Immediate Release: Jan. 26, 2009

JEFFERSON CITY, MO, -- The Missouri Safe Drinking Water Commission will hold a public meeting at 10 a.m., Feb. 3, at the Harry S Truman State Office Building, 301 W. High St.,  Jefferson City.

The commission will vote on adopting the proposed Long-Term 2 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule and Stage 2 Disinfectants and Disinfection By-Products rules into Missouri law. 

The Long-Term 2 Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule, also known as LT2, requires public drinking water systems that use water from lakes, rivers and some shallow aquifers to perform additional monitoring and treatment for Cryptosporidium, a microscopic organism that causes gastro-intestinal illness.

The Stage 2 Disinfectants and Disinfection By-Products Rule strengthens public health protection by tightening compliance monitoring requirements for two groups of disinfection by-products, trihalomethanes and haloacetic acids, which are formed in drinking water during the chemical treatment process. The rule targets the locations within the piping of public water systems where these chemicals form and requires action be taken to reduce their levels if necessary. 

Also during the meeting, staff from the Department of Natural Resources' Financial Assistance Center will give an update on Missouri rural water grants. Members of the Safe Drinking Water Commission will also vote to select a new chair and vice chair.

There will be an opportunity for the public to approach the commission with any questions or issues related to the commission's work. People requiring special services or who wish to speak at the Feb. 3 commission meeting can make arrangements by calling 800-361-4827 or 573-751-5331 or by writing to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Safe Drinking Water Commission Secretary, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0176. Hearing-impaired individuals may contact the program through Relay Missouri at 800-735-2966.

The Safe Drinking Water Commission is made up of nine commission members that represent both public water supplies and Missouri citizens.  The public water supplies are represented according to the number of customers they serve.  Four commissioners represent public water supplies and five represent citizens. The Safe Drinking Water Commission adopts rules and regulations and advises the department on various drinking water issues. 

For more information or a complete meeting agenda, contact Cynthia Bowser at the Department of Natural Resources at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-0124 or visit the department's website at www.dnr.mo.gov/env/wpp/sdwc/index.html.