Where do I send forms?

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program
7545 S. Lindbergh, Suite 210
St. Louis, MO 63125 or Call: 314-416-2115, Fax: (314) 416-2970

You will be told of the approval or denial of your request in writing. If your request is approved we will tell the Department of Revenue electronically. If the request is denied, you need to get your vehicle emissions tested. We are not responsible for any penalties with late registration.

Choosing the right form

This table will help you pick the appropriate form but will not tell you what documents and receipts are required to send in with form. Read form for key details:

 

Form Type
If
And...
Then form is...

Cost Based Waiver

Repair work done at licensed automotive repair shop
At least $450 spent on qualified repairs (labor is only counted when work done by a Missouri Recognized Repair Technician)
Repair work done only by vehicle owner
Spent at least $400 qualified parts
Titled vehicle owner is financially dependent solely on state and federal disability benefits and other public assistance programs
Spent at least $200 on qualified repairs

Cost-Based Waiver

and

Financial Waiver Eligibility (Send 30 days before sending waiver application)

Estimate Based Waiver

GVIP inspection reports a  single diagnostic trouble code that wasn’t included as part of a cost-based repair waiver or an estimate based waiver in the prior testing cycle
Diagnosed cause results in an estimated qualified repair parts and labor (if MRRT) costs  over $450
Out of Area Waiver
Vehicle is in Missouri
Vehicle will not be driven in the emission testing area at any time in the next two years
Vehicle is not in Missouri and not required to have a safety inspection (<5 years old)
Vehicle is in a state that does OBDII testing
(list)
Vehicle is not in Missouri and required to have a safety inspection
(>5 years old)
60 or more days before registration expiration date renewal

Check box 3

Low Mileage Exemption

Odometer reading less than 40,000 miles
Vehicle is less than two years old
Driven less than 12,000 miles in past two years
Vehicle is four years or older

 

Qualified Repair- Any repair or adjustment done to a vehicle’s emissions control system, reasonable for the failure, after an emissions inspection. See Waiver Documentation table below

Conditions for qualifying a repair

  • Must document the diagnostic testing used by repair person .
  • Must be done within ninety days after the date of the first emissions inspection.
  • The first or next emissions inspection support the need of the qualifying repair.

Excludes Repairs

What documents do I need to apply?

Form Type
Suggested Documentation
Cost Based Waivers

The best way to prove a repair was done is to show a Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) removal. You will need to give this documentation with your waiver application:

  1. Vehicle Inspection Report from the failed pre-repair emissions inspection that lists DTCs and other emissions inspection failures.
  2. Any diagnostic documentation supporting that repairs were necessary to fix the DTCs reported on the pre-repair Vehicle Inspection Report.
  3. Itemized repair invoices or parts receipts that prove the cost of the qualified repairs is more than the amount needed to get a waiver (cost of 'Shop Supplies' and 'Diagnostics' are not applicable).
  4. Post repair Vehicle Inspection Reporting showing:
  • DTC removed for repairs claimed.
  • "Pass" for:
    • Readiness Result
    • MIL-KOEO
    • DLC
    • OBD Communications
  • DTC Result: Fail during the post-repair inspection.
Estimate Based Waivers
  1. Most recent GVIP Vehicle Inspection Report recording a single DTC and a "Pass" for:
    • Readiness Result
    • MIL-KOEO
    • DLC
    • OBD Communications
  2. Documentation of DTC diagnosis (following manufacturer diagnostics) from a shop using a Missouri Recognized Repair Technician or one that specializes in the cause of failure (example: transmission shop).
  3. Documentation that the total estimated cost of the repair to correct that DTC is greater than $450.
  4. Write-up of the diagnostic work done and its results that support the estimate of costs on an invoice from the shop. Repair parts and labor must be itemized.
Mileage Based Exemption
Vehicle 6+ years old
Vehicle <= 2 years old
Vehicles <=4 years old
State Safety Inspection form (MVI 2) or GVIP Emissions Test Vehicle Inspection Report and prior odometer documentation from 22 months or more back. If 8+ years old, documents must be state inspection forms. Service or repair invoice from within 2 months of the current year plate expirations date. Service or repair invoice from within 22 months before current invoice.