4.6.5.3.1 Application and Review Process/Completing Permit
Application Forms/
Permit Fees/Site-Specific Permit Fees/Private Domestic Fees

Applicability:

Discusses the annual operating permit fees payable to the state of Missouri for privately-owned
treatment facilities, including industrial facilities, which treat only human sewage (domestic
sewage).

Content:

A privately owned treatment works, or an industrial facility, that treats only human sewage
(domestic sewage) must pay an annual fee to the department based on the design flow of the
sewage treatment plant. Human sewage is defined in the Clean Water Law and the regulations
as human excreta and wastewater, including bath and toilet waste, residential laundry waste,
residential kitchen waste, and other similar waste from household or establishment
appurtenances (Section 644.016(9) and 10 CSR 20-6.011(1)(B)3). This definition is essentially
the same as the definition of sewage or domestic sewage in Section 701.025(12), RSMo.

The term, privately-owned treatment works is defined at 10 CSR 20-6.011(1)(B)5 as a treatment
works serving a residential area, restaurant, commercial concern or other operation that only
produces domestic sewage as defined in Section 701.025, RSMo.

Annual operating permit fees are to be paid by check or money order made payable to the State
of Missouri. If the fee payment check is returned to the department marked insufficient funds, the
person forwarding the check is notified and given 15 days to correct the situation. If the
insufficiency is not corrected, the matter may be referred to the Office of the Attorney General for
collection and assessment of a late payment penalty in accord with Section 644.055.

The fees are submitted to the Department of Natural Resources, Receipts and Reporting
Program, P.O. Box 477, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102. Each payment should identify the permit
number, payment period and permittee’s name. Persons responsible for more than one facility
can submit one check for all fees owed, but need to include information to allow proper crediting
for each permit.

Annual fees are to be paid in full on their due date. The first fee payment for a new facility should
accompany the application for the initial operating permit. For existing facilities, and for the
second and subsequent years for new facilities, the fee should be submitted each year on the
anniversary date of the permit. At the time of permit renewal, the annual fee should not be
submitted with the renewal application but on the anniversary date of the permit, typically about
180 days after the application is submitted.

Facilities that discharge intermittently or seasonally must pay a full annual fee on the anniversary
date of the permit. Fees for such facilities are not prorated or reduced.

Facilities that have a site-specific permit (not a general permit) and do not normally discharge
have annual operating fees based on the design flow of the wastewater being processed. Such
facilities include land application (irrigation) facilities, agrichemical facilities, and no-discharge
permit facilities. The annual operating fees for sludge or solids disposal facilities that have a site-
specific permit (not a general permit) are based on the combined total design flow of the
wastewater treatment facilities from which the sludge or solids are removed.



If a facility eliminates the discharge, the permittee is responsible for requesting termination of the
permit. If the permit is revoked or denied, the annual fees are forfeited by the permittee or
applicant (see 4.1.8 Terminations, 4.19 Revocations and 4.1.10 Denials).

The following are the annual operating permit fees based on the design flow of privately-owned
treatment works, including industrial facilities, that treat only human sewage (domestic sewage):

= $100 for less than 5,000 gallons per day (gpd),
= $150 for 5,000 to 5,999 gpd,

= $175 for 6,000 to 6,999 gpd,

= $200 for 7,000 to 7,999 gpd,

= $225 for 8,000 to 8,999 gpd,

= $250 for 9,000 to 9,999 gpd,

= $375 for 10,000 to 10,999 gpd,

= $400 for 11,000 to 11,999 gpd,

= $450 for 12,000 to 12,999 gpd,

= $500 for 13,000 to 13,999 gpd,

= $550 for 14,000 to 14,999 gpd,

= $600 for 15,000 to 15,999 gpd,

= $650 for 16,000 to 16,999 gpd,

= $800 for 17,000 to 19,999 gpd,

= $1,000 for 20,000 to 22,999 gpd,

= $2,000 for 23,000 to 24,999 gpd,

= $2,500 for 25,000 to 29,999 gpd,

= $3,000 for 30,000 to 1,000,000 gpd (1 mgd), and
= $3,500 for 1 mgd and above.

The annual operating permit fees listed above are based on the design flow of the treatment
works. If the adjusted design flow provision can be applied, a lower annual fee can be paid. The
adjusted design flow is the actual average wastewater flow from a human sewage treatment
plant. If the average flow is 60% or less than the system'’s design flow, the average flow may be
substituted for the design flow when calculating the annual operating permit fee (10 CSR 20-
6.011(1)(B)1).

Legal References:

Missouri Clean Water Law, Chapter 644, RSMo

644.052.2 Permit types, fees, amounts--requests for permit modifications--requests for federal clean we
certifications.

644.055 Fees, nonpayment--penalty.


http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C600-699/6440000052.HTM
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C600-699/6440000055.HTM

State Health Standards, Chapter 701, RSMo

701.025(12) Permit types, fees, amounts--requests for permit modifications--requests for federal clean
water certifications.

Code of State Regulations:

10 CSR 20- Fees -

6.011(1), (1) Fees - General

(2)(A), (2)(E) and (2)(A) Operating Fees - Annual Fee Due Dates
Appendix A (2)(E) Operating Fees - No-Discharge Facilities

Appendix A - Human sewage discharges—annual fees

Other Links:

4.1.8 Terminations

4.6.5.2 POTW Service Fees

4.6.5.3.2 Industrial Permit Fees

Water Pollution Control Permit Fees, summary sheet with examples, revised 11/7/2000
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http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/10csr/10c20-6a.pdf
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