Solid Waste Technician Certification Course
Last updated Sept. 5, 2017
The 2017 Solid Waste Technician Certification Class is scheduled for Sept. 19-21. The certification class will be held in the Bennett Spring Conference Room at the department’s Elm Street Conference Center located at 1730 E. Elm St., Jefferson City. A letter will be sent to confirm each participant’s registration.
The certification course is recommended for people working in the solid waste management field in Missouri, including solid waste landfill owners and operators, environmental consultants and interested regulatory personnel. Topics of the course include landfill design, the landfill permitting process, daily operations, methane gas and groundwater monitoring, closure and post-closure requirements, landfill safety and an overview of the Solid Waste Management Law and Regulations. You must pass an examination at the end of the class to obtain certification. The cost for the training is $30, and certification is good for three years.
All participants must be registered and pay prior to taking the examination and receiving their certificates. For more information, contact Kory Hubbard at 573-751-5401.
There are several ways in which to gain recertification credit hours to apply towards the renewal of your solid waste technician certification.
- Attend the Solid Waste Technician Certification Course presented by the department, (the course available on this page) either in March or September for the required amount of hours needed to be recertified. All participants must attend the course before their certification expires.
- Attend professional classes or training in the solid waste field and submit documentation to the department's Solid Waste Management Program (SWMP) for approval of the training.
- Attend educational sessions on solid waste-related topics at the annual Missouri Waste Control Coalition Conference.
- Recertification classes for the Solid Waste Technician are hosted by the Missouri Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA). Please click this link to obtain the latest information on when classes are offered and how to register. The dates for the 2017 class are April 26th (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.) and April 27th (8 a.m. - 12 p.m.). The re-certification class will held in Arrow Rock Conference Room at the department's Elm Street Conference Center located at 1730 E. Elm St., Jefferson City.
Regardless of which method you choose to acquire recertification credit hours, you must accrue at least 10 hours of classes or training prior to the expiration of your three-year certificate to become recertified. Certified Technicians must be recertified by the expiration date of their certification. The types of training or subjects of the classes must be approved by SWMP to apply them towards your recertification.