New Tank Installation
You must notify the Budget and Planning Section at least 30 days before installing a new underground storage tank, or UST, system.
The department, tank owners and operators, installers, fuel suppliers and insurance providers all recognize that proper installation of underground storage tanks, piping and monitoring systems is essential.
You must notify the Budget and Planning Section in writing at least 30 days before installing a new regulated underground storage tank system. Write to us at Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Hazardous Waste Program, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. The Hazardous Waste Program will take appropriate enforcement actions for facilities that do not provide the required 30 day notification prior to installing tanks. These actions may include issuance of Notice of Violations and associated penalties.
We are requesting an email or telephone call at least five days prior to work commencing in order to schedule the inspector's visit. To schedule the inspection, send an email to
email@example.com or call 573-522-5665. In addition, please notify the department of any scheduling changes or delays. The purpose of these inspections is to not only confirm equipment installed, but to help identify and minimize any potential concerns before installation is complete.
The Missouri Department of Agriculture requires all installers to be registered and provide proof of financial responsibility prior to installing a new underground storage tank system. For more information concerning this requirement, please contact the Missouri Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures, at 573-751-5636.
Vapor recovery requirements may also apply to your facility. To learn more about vapor recovery requirements in Missouri, please contact the Air Pollution Control Program at 573-751-6415 or visit the Vapor Recover Information and Compliance Requirements Web page.
The department has changed all fill-in forms to PDF fill-in. You will be able to save and reuse these PDF forms. However, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader 7 or higher to save the PDF fill-in form. Also, at this time the department does not accept digital signatures. If your Acrobat Reader prompts you to use one, we ask that you don't.