GovDelivery logo

Project Information | Next Meeting | Previous Meetings
Workgroup Participants | Links | e-cycle Missouri

Welcome to the Electronic Scrap, also known as e-scrap, Stakeholder Workgroup website. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources organized this workgroup to put in place a framework for disposing, reusing and recycling e-scrap in Missouri in an economically sustainable fashion without threatening the environment. The workgroup consists of department staff, manufacturers, vendors, recyclers, environmental groups, waste haulers and processors, several Missouri state agencies, federal agencies, local governments and other interested parties.

The workgroup held its last meeting Dec. 20, 2006, in Jefferson City. Thirty-six stakeholders attended the meeting, either in-person or by telephone conference call. During the meeting we discussed the department's draft language and progress in adopting the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's proposed CRT rule. The group also discussed a voluntary Resource Recovery Certification process for electronics demanufacturer's and the options that the group's funding subgroup discussed during the past four months. During the June 14, 2006 workgroup meeting, the group decided to form three smaller subgroups:

  1. Certification/permit
  2. Funding
  3. Education/Information

Each subgroup met and created a draft proposal on how to address that group's issues in Missouri. The proposals were originally presented to the larger group at the Aug. 16, 2006 workgroup meeting. 

The group's main discussion centered on their draft e-cycle Missouri proposal. The group discussed the timeline and action items and came to a consensus on several issues. The group formed three committees:

  1. Steering
  2. Education
  3. Rural Outreach

The Steering Committee will guide the development and implementation of e-cycle Missouri. The Education Committee will work on refining and implementing the education component of e-cycle Missouri. The Rural Outreach Committee will work on developing a strategy to provide e-cycling to rural Missouri and to successfully implement those strategies. Each committee will meet over the next year to work on assigned action items. The larger workgroup will evaluate their progress and discuss future actions at the next meeting.

Thank you for visiting our website. This site will be updated and expanded as the workgroup progresses. If you have any questions about the workgroup or e-scrap, please contact Tony Pierce of the department’s Hazardous Waste Program at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-7560. You can also reach Mr. Pierce by email.