Hazardous Waste Program
Fees and Reporting
From the archives of the Enforcement and Compliance Listserv for Hazardous Waste Generators
Oct. 28 , 2010
Due Dates for Reporting and Fees
Large quantity generators’ hazardous waste third quarter reports are due on Nov. 14, 2010. Be sure to complete the report and submit it by the due date. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources offers businesses the opportunity to submit facility and generator Hazardous Waste Summary Reports online. This includes the quarterly reporting required for large quantity generators. It is a fast, safe way to do business. To fill out the summary report forms electronically you will need a personal identification number, or PIN, assigned to your business. The department has created a PIN request form which is available as an Adobe® Acrobat® Reader document. The form must be completed on which you want to report electronically. A new PIN number is required if a different person will be signing the report electronically. For any questions regarding electronic reporting, please contact David Green at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-3176. Also, don't forget to sign up for the department's electronic reporting reminders and updates. These updates and reminders will assist you in remembering important hazardous waste reporting deadlines.
Furthermore, if you are a small or large quantity generator in Missouri, you are required by law to pay certain hazardous waste fees before January 1, 2011. Look for your hazardous waste invoice to come in next month's mail. If you do not receive an invoice in November and you generated regulated quantities of hazardous waste, you might not have filed your hazardous waste summary reports or the department has not received your annual or quarterly hazardous waste summary reports. Please contact the Hazardous Waste Program's Fees and Taxes Unit at 573-751-3176 for more information.
March 12, 2010
Generators--Registration, Reporting, Importing and Manifests
Large and small quantity hazardous waste generators must have all completed hazardous waste manifests returned to them within 35 days of initial transport. This is to ensure that your hazardous waste is being properly and timely transported to its destination facility. If your business does not receive the completed manifest within 35 days of the initial pickup, you must complete and submit a Hazardous Waste Generator's Exception Report within 45 days of the initial transport. Exception reports must be kept for three years. It is a good idea to log all hazardous waste shipments so that you can track when you receive your completed hazardous waste manifests. Your log can include information such as the initial date transported, Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest tracking number, completed manifest received date, waste type and quantity. This information can not only help you keep track of your hazardous waste, it can also aid in evaluating your hazardous waste service providers' invoices such as those from transporters, consultants, and treatment, storage, and disposal facilities. See 10 CSR 25-5.262(2)(B)5 and 10 CSR 25-5.262(2)(D)2 for more information.
In addition to exception reporting, large and small quantity generators must retain registration information and the Generator's Hazardous Waste Summary Reports for at least three years. This information includes your Notification of Regulated Waste Activity form and quarterly or annual reports. The three year period begins from the initial day of hazardous waste transportation. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources may request in writing that you retain records longer. The period of record retention is automatically extended during the course of any unresolved enforcement action regarding the regulated activity. See 10 CSR 25-5.262(2)(D) for more information.
If you import hazardous waste, you must register with the department as a generator. You must also specifically identify hazardous wastes intended to be imported four weeks in advance of doing so. As an importer you must keep and maintain the following information: individual original foreign generator's names and addresses for all mixed bulk shipments, the hazardous wastes' technical chemical name from each source, the quantity of waste imported from each source and the list of EPA waste numbers (i.e. waste codes). Exporters of hazardous waste must also send copies of exception reports and annual reports to the department. See 10 CSR 25-5.262(2)(F) for more information.
June 1, 2009
We periodically get questions about North American Industry Classification System, or NAICS, and Standard Industrial Classification, or SIC, codes, because parties are asked to provide that information to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources on several of our forms. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources is required to try to collect that information about certain parties by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, such as when registering a hazardous waste generator. Here is some information you may find useful about NAICS. If you are interested in more information, we encourage you to visit the websites for the U.S. Census Bureau and the Federal Office of Management and Budget, as indicated below.
What is NAICS and how is it used?
The North American Industry Classification System (pronounced Nakes) was developed as the standard for use by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, analysis, and publication of statistical data related to the business economy of the U.S. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget, or OMB, and adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification system. It was also developed in cooperation with the statistical agencies of Canada and Mexico to establish a three-country standard that allows for a high level of comparability in business statistics among the three countries. NAICS is the first economic classification system to be constructed based on a single economic concept. To learn more about the background, the development, and the difference between NAICS and the SIC, see www.census.gov/epcd/www/naicsdev.htm.
Who assigns NAICS codes?
There is no central government agency with the role of assigning, monitoring, or approving NAICS codes for establishments. Individual establishments are assigned NAICS codes by various agencies for various purposes using various methods. The U.S. Census Bureau has no formal role as an arbitrator of NAICS classification.
The U.S. Census Bureau assigns one NAICS code to each establishment based on its primary activity (the activity that generates the most revenue for the establishment) to collect, tabulate, analyze, and disseminate statistical data describing the economy of the United States. Generally, the U.S. Census Bureau's NAICS classification codes are derived from information that the business establishment provided on administrative, survey, or census reports. (e.g. when a company applies for an Employer Identification Number, or EIN, information about the type of activity in which that business is engaged is requested in order to assign a NAICS code).
Various other government agencies, trade associations, and regulation boards adopted the NAICS classification system to assign codes to their own lists of establishments for their own needs. If you question the SIC or NAICS code contained on a form received from an agency other than the U.S. Census Bureau, you should contact that agency directly.
How can I determine the correct NAICS code for my business?
NAICS was designed and documented in such a way to allow business establishments to self-code. There are a number of tools and references available to help you to determine the most appropriate NAICS code for your business:
1. You can use the search feature at www.census.gov/naics. In the 'NAICS Search' box on the left side of that page, enter a keyword that describes your kind of business. A list of primary business activities containing that keyword and the corresponding NAICS codes will appear. Choose the one that most closely corresponds to your primary business activity, or refine your search to obtain other choices.
2. Rather than searching through a list of primary business activities you may also view the complete 2002 NAICS structure with codes and titles at www.census.gov/epcd/naics02/naicod02.htm. Click on the codes to see the corresponding definition, cross-reference, and index item. With the hypertext version, you can select the category that applies to your business, and drill down through the more detailed levels until you find the appropriate 6-digit code.
3. If you know your old SIC code, you can use the 'NAICS Search' box to locate the corresponding NAICS code. Enter the SIC code in this form "SIC 1234" in the NAICS search box, and click on the 'NAICS Search' button. The corresponding NAICS code(s) will appear.
4. If you know your old SIC code, you can also find the appropriate 2002 NAICS code by using table four, 1987 SIC matched to 2002 NAICS at www.census.gov/epcd/naics02/S87TON02.htm.
Nov. 30, 2008
Have you updated your notification of regulated waste activity lately?
Both small quantity and large quantity hazardous waste generators must update their notification if anything changes. It is important to remember that you must update your notification of regulated waste activity whenever you have a change in:
- Business name.
- Waste stream (i.e. waste codes).
- Generator status.
- Street address.
- Contact person.
- Mailing address
- Phone number or area code.
The first five changes listed above must be completed in writing using the electronic Notification of Regulated Waste Activity Form 780-1164. In section "I. Type of Notification" of the form, choose letter B for subsequent notification and make any needed changes. The entire first page must be filled out so that you may advance to the second page of the form. Send your notification by mail to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Hazardous Waste Program, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
If there is a change in ownership, your business is required to pay a $100 registration fee. When you have a change in street address, for instance when a town renames a street or alters numbering in a neighborhood, your business will keep its original generator identification number. If your business changes locations you will need to register the new location and request a new generator identification number using the form above. Your old generator identification number is not transferable. If your company changes from regulated status (small quantity or large quantity hazardous waste generator) down to an unregulated status (conditionally exempt or inactive), then you must request that status change by letter. Any business making this type of change is required to complete reports for any reporting year that the generator number was in a regulated status.
The last three changes in the above list can be made in writing or by contacting David Green of the department's Budget and Planning Section at 573-751-3204 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Dec. 28, 2007
Start the New Year Right!
The 2008 General Industry Calendar is now available. Print a compliance calendar for your business. Highlights include reminders for your Emission Inventory Questionnaire, Large Quantity Generator's Quarterly Reporting, and EPCRA's Tier II Reporting. Each calendar month is divided into four topics: Hazardous Waste, Air, Water and Other so at a glance you can identify important dates for your specific business.
July 30, 2007
Helpful Hints on Updating Your Hazardous Waste Generator Information.
If you are a SQG or a LQG, keep your hazardous waste generator information up to date. Always submit reports and fees on time. It is important to remember that you must update your registration whenever you have a change in:
- Business name.
- Waste stream(s).
- Generator status.
- Street address.
- Contact person.
- Mailing address
- Phone number or area code.
The first five changes listed above must be completed in writing using the Notification of Regulated Waste Activity Form available online. Send your notification by mail to the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Hazardous Waste Program, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. If there is a change in ownership, your business will be required to pay a $100 registration fee. When you have a change in street address, for instance when a town renames a street or alters numbering in a neighborhood, your business will keep its original generator identification number. If your business changes locations you will need to register the new location and request a new generator identification number using the above form. Your
June 30, 2007
The Inactivated Hazardous Waste Generator List is Improved!
The Department of Natural Resources has added additional fields to the downloadable report of generators that have been administratively inactivated for failure to complete reporting requirements or failure to pay applicable fees. Hazardous waste transporters and permitted treatment, storage, and disposal facilities use this list to determine if they can accept hazardous waste from a business. The additional information includes the date each generator was administratively inactivated and the date the downloadable report was last updated. To view this list, click on the link below which takes you to the Hazardous Waste Program’s home page: /env/hwp/index.html Then roll your cursor over the list of subjects in green on the left side of the screen to the subject titled -Data Downloads- and click on -Deactivated Waste Generators- from this list of report names.
You may then choose from the following list of reports to view or download:
- A printable pdf list of generators by EPA Identification Number;
- A printable pdf list of generators by company name; of
- A comma-delimited ACSII file which can be downloaded and imported into your data base.
For further information on these administratively inactivated generator reports, call 573-751-3204.
Dec. 4, 2006
Payment due BEFORE January 1!
If you are a small or large quantity generator in Missouri, you are required by law to pay certain hazardous waste fees before January 1, 2007. That means your payment should be mailed early to ensure it arrives on time. With the rush of holidays and wintertime sick days, it is all too easy to miss the hazardous waste fees due date. It is important to send in your payment as early as you can. Failure to pay the assessed fees on time will result in a 15 percent penalty. If you owe a land disposal fee, an interest rate of 10 percent per annum will also be charged. If you have not received your hazardous waste billing, it may be that you have not filed your hazardous waste summary reports or the department has not received your annual or quarterly hazardous waste summary reports. Please contact the Hazardous Waste Program's Fee and Tax Unit at 573-751-3176 for more information.
Sept. 28, 2006
New! Changes to the Generator's Hazardous Waste Summary Report Forms
A new version of the Generator’s Hazardous Waste Summary Report is now available. This change makes the Summary Report consistent with the new uniform manifest required by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency rule effective Sept. 5, 2006. The main change to the Summary Report is that the new management method code replaces the final handling code. The management method code from the uniform manifest must be used on the updated version of the Summary Report instead of the final handling code. The management method code is a four digit code that begins with the letter H. The only other Summary Report change is that there is now room for 6 waste codes per line in Section H as opposed to the previous 4 waste codes.
The new form is required for Summary Reports beginning with the September 2006 quarter, if you report on a quarterly basis. If you report on an annual basis, you are required to use this form to report for July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2007. The electronic Summary Report form has also been updated. Summary Reports filed using the previous version will not be accepted and will be returned. If you want to receive a hard copy of the form, you may request one from Janet Rush with the department's Hazardous Waste Program at 573-751-2524. If you have any questions, call David Green with the Hazardous Waste Program at 573-751-3204.
July 27, 2006
Quarterly Tonnage Reports Due
Reminder! Quarterly tonnage reports for Large Quantity Generators and annual tonnage reports for Small Quantity Generators are due Aug. 14, 2006, for fiscal year 2006. The reporting cycle includes the period from July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006. If you did not generate or ship hazardous waste during this period, just complete Part 1 of the Generator Hazardous Waste Summary Report form and indicate "No Waste" on the form. To access the forms electronically, visit Generator Hazardous Waste Summary Report form and choose "Facility Summary Report" if you are a Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facility or choose "Generator Summary Report" if you are a generator. Click "Yes" when asked about macros. The form will open after you click on the "Important Directions" button on your computer's tool bar. If you have any questions about reporting, please contact Mr. David Green of the Hazardous Waste Program at 573-751-3204. Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators do not need to fill out these forms.
Jan. 3, 2006
Submit Your Hazardous Waste Summary Reports Electronically!
How techno savvy are you? The Missouri Department of Natural Resources offers businesses the opportunity to submit both the facility and generator Hazardous Waste Summary Reports online. This includes the quarterly reporting required for Large Quantity Generators. It is a fast, safe way to do business. And don't forget to sign up for the department's electronic reporting reminder and updates. To fill out the Summary Report forms electronically you will need a personal identification number assigned to your business. If you do not have one, contact David Green at 800-361-4827 or 573-751-3176.
If you would like to unsubscribe to the e-newsletter, please visit DNR Enforcement and Compliance Assistance Newsletter Generators Subscription. If you know of anyone else who would like to be added to this listserv, visit DNR Enforcement and Compliance Assistance Newsletter Generators Subscription to sign up.
If you need further assistance, please email or contact the Department of Natural Resources' Hazardous Waste Program at 573-751-7560 or 800-361-4827.
Return to listserv topics at DNR Hazardous Waste Generator Archive.