GovDelivery logo

The Missouri Clean Diesel Program strives to improve air quality by reducing emissions from on-road and off-road diesel engines. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources pursues funding opportunities for Missouri's fleet owners and operators of diesel equipment. When opportunities become available, the department posts information on this webpage, publicizes them via social media and sends broadcast emails about them. To receive the department's broadcast emails, please subscribe by clicking on the multi-colored envelope on this page and following the prompts.

2019 Clean Diesel Program Open to DERA Eligible Diesel Emission Reduction Solutions

The department matched the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) grant with Volkswagen Trust funds earning a bonus resulting in $750,000 of project funding for state fiscal year 2020. Projects eligible under DERA overlap with many of the VW award categories. Conversely, projects eligible for DERA grants (such as stationary engine upgrades or idle reduction/retrofits) do not have a corresponding VW Trust category. Because of this, the Department will prioritize projects eligible under DERA, not otherwise eligible under the VW Trust. To ensure a robust applicant pool, the department will solicit applications for all DERA eligible projects, including those qualified under a VW award category (vehicle replacements such as school buses or heavy-duty trucks).

Projects must fall under one of the following Eligible Diesel Emission Reduction Solutions:

  1. Diesel Engine Retrofit Technologies
  2. Engine Upgrades and Remanufacture Systems
  3. Clean Fuels and Additives
  4. Idle reduction Technologies
  5. Aerodynamic Technologies and Verified Low Rolling Resistance Tires
  6. Engine Replacement
  7. Vehicle and Equipment Replacements
  8. Clean Alternative Fuel Conversion

Projects may include, but are not limited to, the following heavy-duty diesel types:

  • Buses
  • Medium-duty or heavy-duty trucks
  • Marine Engines
  • Locomotives
  • Nonroad engines, equipment or vehicles used in:
    • Construction
    • Handling of cargo (including at a port or airport)
    • Agriculture
    • Mining
    • Energy production (including stationary generators and pumps)
For more information on the Volkswagen Trust, visit https//

Reducing dangerous emissions from diesel engines is vital to the department’s mission of protecting public health.

Diesel emissions contain particle pollution and precursors of ground-level ozone. Particle pollution can penetrate people’s lungs by breaching natural defenses, leading to respiratory diseases. Ground-level ozone is the pollutant of most concern across Missouri; it affects our ability to breathe, and it aggravates asthma and other respiratory diseases. Missouri currently has several areas that violate or come close to violating EPA’s national standard for ground-level ozone. EPA sets a standard for ground-level ozone to protect public health and the environment.