Resources, guidance and staff dedicated to helping local governments address their community’s environmental needs

GovDelivery logo

The Department of Natural Resources wants to help local governments easily access assistance and resources to make informed, common-sense decisions about environmental protection for their community. This webpage contains many guides, templates and fact sheets for local government leaders on environmental topics such as drinking water, wastewater treatment, storm water management, solid waste management, brownfields and asbestos. 

The Community Services team offers assistance on many issues to local governments responsible for environmental protection in their communities:

  • Answering questions and providing one-on-one assistance on specific environmental issues.
  • Helping communities find resources such as technical assistance, grants and loans, and training.
  • Assisting small, financially and technically challenged communities with developing a comprehensive plan to address current and future environmental needs.

Find Your Region’s Community Services Coordinator

Mary Culler, Northeast Region Community Services Coordinator
Counties served: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Cooper, Grundy, Howard, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Moniteau, Monroe, Osage, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, and Sullivan.

Crew Schuster, Kansas City Region Community Services Coordinator
Counties served: Andrew, Atchison, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Harrison, Henry, Holt, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Nodaway, Pettis, Platte, Ray and Worth.

Tracy Haag, St. Louis Region Community Services Coordinator
Counties served: Franklin, Gasconade, Jefferson, Lincoln, Montgomery, St. Charles, St. Louis, Warren and St. Louis City.

Paden Grant, Southeast Region Community Services Coordinator
Counties served: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Maries, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Texas, Washington and Wayne.

Gwenda Bassett, Southwest Region Community Services Coordinator
Counties served: Barry, Barton, Camden, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster and Wright.

For more information about assistance for local governments, contact the department’s statewide Community Services Coordinator toll free at 800-361-4827, or email us at